We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a nice room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio to your Saves list
Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218 College Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Colony, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and a nice room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I am not one who often remembers to post reviews. But I will say that I really enjoyed my stay at this Wyndham. I had read some bad reviews and was a little worried but did not need to be. The service of the hotel staff was great! I especially appreciated the Concierge David! The room was bigger and nicer than I expected. And it was great to have a separate room as we brought our baby and she could sleep without being disturbed! The location was perfect for the River Walk! The only negatives were that finding the front entrance was not the easiest, and that I did not expect to pay for parking. But overall it was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    12
    15
    6
See reviews for
29
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois now, moving to MO soon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

If you are looking to walk to everything on the Riverwalk, this is the place! Located on the riverwalk, Wyndham remodeled an antique bldg and made suites! City life means you walk to everthing within minutes! No cabs needed. No car needed. Wyndham has a shuttle! If you like the resort lifestyle, try this for a change! We did and were not dissappointed. Full kitchen, full baths with whirlpool tubs and the 7th floor suites have a hot tub on the balcony. Yes, the entrance is off an alley, but all is safe and easy to use. As a Wyndham owner, i would recommend this. Again, not a resort, but a nice week was had by all.

Room Tip: over the riverwalk is nice, but take tylenol pm to help you sleep if you are going to bed before mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at this resort through our timeshare, a 2 Bedroom & 2 Bath suite. We were on the 5th floor and had a great view of the Riverwalk during all the St Patty's Day Festivities. Great View of the Space Needle, and of the Hard Rock Cafe. Our room was nicely upgraded and clean. Only has a half kitchen (meaning no oven) but we did a lot of eating out so it did not effect us. The elevator did break down one day so we did have to come down 5 flights of stairs, but when we came back from breakfast it had been fixed. If you drive here get a parking pass at check in, you get unlimited entry and guaranteed a spot in the parking garage which is 1 block away. Front of building could use a little improvement, but like everyone has said you can't beat the location. We did get asked about looking into buying a timeshare because they have just built a new building, but I don't feel like we were hounded by them. Overall the staff was pretty friendly, we had a great time on our visit here, the beds were comfortable. I would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite so we had a lot of windows to enjoy the view of the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo from a private owner on the 8th floor of the Riverside Suites. We were lucky enough to get a condo with a tiny balcony overlooking the River Walk. The condo could use a little upgrading, but it wasn't as bad as some of the other reviews I've read. The location was the incredible. Our unit was clean, even though somewhat outdated. On the downside, were were asked daily to attend lunch or dinner promotions trying to get us to buy into the ownership program. There is no parking on the street, the entrance does look like a delivery door, but we had no problems with either. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good location, in a historic building, with a great view at a reasonable price. Just don't expect 5 star luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for River walk view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, Sd
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel was a disappointment. The location was excellent, but the unit definitely needs an upgrade. The walls needs paint and the ceiling tiles need replacing. The concrete floor also needs repainting. When we complained about the appearance, we were told that it was historic and some things couldn't be changed. My response was that fresh paint would help immensely. The washer/dryer combined unit never did work properly. It takes about 4 hours for a complete cycle, so after about 4 attempts we just gave up. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and tried to help, and we certainly enjoyed the river walk and all it had to offer.

We ate at Landry's twice and had excellent food and service. It's located in the same building as the hotel. There were many other excellent restaurants nearby, and we also enjoyed the Buckhorn Bar/Museum just across the street for a casual afternoon drink. The Alamo, Riverside Mall, and Market Square are all within walking distance, and worth the trip. We also took the Riverwalk Boat Tour for a good overview of the area and its history.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I'm a Wyndham Owner and was very disappointed when I had a family gathering at the Riverside Resort, one unit smelled like sewer and the first night I woke up with hives and a rash and reported to management. The second unit had hair in the jacuzzi/ bath tub this also reported to management and the whole week there no one came by to clean the tub so, the jacuzzi was never used for relaxation!
This all was reported from Management, Front Desk, to Housekeeping!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Wyndham Riverside Suites and had an overall great time.
The hotel is located on the Riverwalk (entrance to hotel is not), making it easy to start and end each day. The hotel entrance is an unassuming entrance that looks like it is for deliveries, so make sure if you are checking in late, you make them aware as there is often times no one at the street level service desk; the lobby is located on the second floor. The service was great and the staff was really interested in good conversation and had great recommendations. As for the location, it was around the corner from a Walgreens Pharmacy, parking garage, and several restaurants and bars. Because the building is an older building, the rooms were a bit smaller, but for us (2 adults; 1 kid), it was perfect. However, there are interior rooms that do not have windows, which is a plus or minus, depending on the person.
Overall, had a great time and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on South Side of the hotel actually overlook the Riverwalk, which is great for plotting out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio

Address: 218 College Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.