We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but definitely not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham La Cascada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham La Cascada to your Saves list
Wyndham La Cascada
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   226 Dwyer Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78204 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mission, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but definitely not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We purchased Wyndham points vacation last year as a trial to see whether we might convert our timeshare fixed week to points. We spent last week at La Cascada. Because we are still a young family (we have 3 teens ages 13, 14, and 15), we hoped to be able to hang out in the resort and enjoy it for most of our vacation. We enjoyed ourselves but were a little disappointed in the resort. We have stayed in others and had a lot more options at the actual resort.

The 1 bedroom space we stayed in was nice. However the shower was extremely small (like 3x3.5). I could not extend my arms out. They didn't put a regular light or ceiling fan in the bedroom either. Lighting was terrible but the beds were very comfortable.

The fitness room was pretty sparse and some of the treadmills did not work. The pool was on the 6th floor and was 4 feet deep (too shallow for our kids). With the number of people there, the pool was quite small...you had to go at odd times to really enjoy it. The games/recreation available was limited to board games, DVDs, and a pool table.

The biggest plus for La Cascada is its location. Its the perfect location for accessing the Riverwalk and the Alamo area. We enjoyed being able to walk to those areas.

The biggest disappointment of the trip however was the sales presentation. We were asked to come to a welcome session which ended up being a 90 minute sales pitch on 1 day and and 45 minute continuation on the next. We were not told that it was going to be a sales pitch (although we were mentally prepared) and that was the biggest issue. Just tell me...don't bait me. It was disappointing.

We probably will not vacation at this location again. It just didn't work for us.

Room Tip: If it's location you want, this is a great place. For in-house recreation, this is not the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
60
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is our second visit to this resort as a sisters annual trip. It is a shady short walk to the Riverwalk with its many activities. Parking on the street and in close lots is not difficult at all. The front desk staff is friendly. We would definitely go again. Our room was roomy and comfortable and having a kitchen is a big plus with us.

Both times we had minor maintenance problems that were resolved reasonably well. Slow drains, lamp problems, lock sticking.

Great references for fav restaurants and the sales they have in the sitting room many afternoons have yielded some favorite and affordable jewelry.

Room Tip: No problems either visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

another great Wyndham Resort....loved it. We never needed Room Service...so I have no idea...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Recently spent a week at the La Cascada. My traveling group, six women aged 62 to 83, found the La Cascada to be friendly, super location, convenient and clean. One of the women was injured while in San Antonio and the La Cascada staff showed concern and offered great advice and assistance. Of this, we were very appreciative. The pool is a saline pool and needs some updating. It is located on the roof of the building and fun to be in during the evening with the city lights in the background. The valets had our car ready whenever we needed it. The unit was a two bedroom/two bath with a pull out couch. It was well stocked with basics. The Hippo, small convenience store in building, offers essentials, but wouldn't want to do a regular grocery shopping there. All in all, it was a very nice experience with wonderful people and above average accomodations. Will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The resort is about a block from the locks on the river. It was very enjoyable to be able to walk along the quiet part of the River walk. It also made walking to the busy part very enjoyable. The resort has a shuttle that goes to the busy parts from 8am to 4pm. You stand on the curb by valet parking about every 15 minutes. The pool was a beautiful place to take city pictures since it is on the sixth floor. If you want to cook in the room bring your groceries with you. There is only an expensive convience store in the city. Valet parking is convient although expensive at $15 a day. This is not the resorts fault but the city is trying to rip off tourist. Enjoy your time just be prepared.

Room Tip: It is best to ask to be above the Valet parking station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay in San Antonio. It was a short, relatively inexpensive cab ride from the airport. We took the airport shuttle bus on the way in, but found out that a cab is about the same price, so we cabbed it on the way home. You really don't need a car and parking is difficult in this town. It's a short, safe walk to the entrance to the Riverwalk in one direction or out to the King William District in the other direction. We had a one bedroom unit with a terrific view from both the bedroom and living room windows. We had a small balcony where we enjoyed our nightly cocktail and listened to the water falling over the spillway and watching the lights come on as the sun set. The furniture and decor were very lovely and looked to be very recently updated (but they are scheduling a redecoration, as shown in the lobby...maybe our unit had just been done). The kitchen was equipped with everything that you could ask for or need if you decided to do some meals in the apartment. But with so many great restaurants, we only did breakfast. There was a lovely Jacuzzi tub that was pristine clean and we enjoyed it several times during our stay. There was a separate shower stall and two separate sinks. The living room couch and chairs were comfy and we had large screen TVs in both the living room and bedroom. There is a small dining table with four chairs or you can pull up a stool to the granite breakfast bar. We had a washer and dryer and dishwasher, too. The staff here were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The shuttle bus runs regularly and we used it a few times to get around town. There is a small deli/grocery right next door to pick up the essentials and the staff there were great, too. There isn't a restaurant on the property and I don't think there is room service, but local places will deliver (so I did not rate the restaurant or room service...it's not a "no star" rating, it just isn't there). There are several good local places to eat if you don't want to do the Riverwalk every day/night. Try the NY Pizza joint a block or two away for some great NY style pizza, as good or better than what we get here in NY. The eatery on the corner across from the San Fernando Cathedral has a HUGE cowboy breakfast, if that is your thing and a great value for the money. Don't miss the Cathedral...that's where the remains of the Alamo heroes are said to be interred in a small sarcophagus in the Cathedral vestibule. The roof top deck and pool area looked very inviting, but we never took advantage because there was just so much to see and do in the six short days we had there. Check in was fast and easy as pie. We arrived early but were shown to our room within 10 minutes of arrival. We were provided with maps and coupon books with lots of discounts. We spent a lot of time walking around the loop of the Riverwalk enjoying the music and great restaurants. It's a terrific experience when the local Air Force staff get their passes to come into town. We saw so many proud families with their sons and daughters who had probably just finished their basic training and were celebrating their "graduation". Go out to the Market on a Sunday and watch the local dance troupes in their colorful costumes. We took the package deal for a Riverwalk boat ride, bus tour and the whole Alamo experience. If you have time, go out and see a few of the Missions and the King William District. Try the Gunther House there for a wonderful leisurely breakfast and don't miss their strudel (to die for!). La Villita is a must see, too. This is a great walking town and the La Cascada was a perfect home base. Clean, comfortable and convenient. We loved it! We are Wyndham owners and increased our annual points while we were there. The sales staff were not pushy (we declined the meeting and we weren't hounded). But this place was so very nice and we had such a great experience, that we decided to make the additional purchase on the day we were leaving. Brandon made the upgrade simple and easy and provided us with a lot of great information about how to make the best use of our membership. But if you aren't interested, just say no. It won't change the way you are treated. The staff here was great! We hope to return again to San Antonio but they tell us it is brutally hot in the summer. Maybe next spring to see the blue bonnets (or is it bluebells?) in bloom. They say they were spectacular this year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This resort is within 5 minutes to 10 minutes walk to the major attractions in downtown San Antonio like the Main Plaza, San Fernando Cathedral, Governor's Palace, Almeda Museum, Market Square, Farmers Market (no vegetables and fruits for sale now converted to Mexican souvenir stores), La Villita, Alamo, Convention Center, Riverwalk, River Center Mall, and the Tower of the Americas. We took the resort free Wyndham shuttle bus whenever we got tired walking. You need a blue band to ride the shuttle. This blue band was given by someone in Sales the next day after we check in late Tuesday afternoon. Be careful not to schedule an appointment for update since they try to sell you another timeshares. If the insisted to set up an appointment, cancel it that day. The staff was nice specially the shuttle bus drivers which were very accomodating. The only complaint that I have was the sofa bed which was very uncomfortable due to the sharp bed springs. We put the mattress cover and two blankets to be bearable. I recommend not to open the sofa bed, just sleep on the sofa or on the floor. Our grown daugther was with us an she slept in the sofa. We stayed in a deluxe one bedroom unit. The resort was old but well kept. It will be on renovation this April 2012. We took the shuttle to King William historic district and bought goodies at the Guenther House. We bought our groceries at Hippos beside the resort for breakfast since there were no other grocery stores nearby. Walmart was near the airport. From the airport to the resort, we paid about $30 taking a taxi. since we stayed only for 5 days, we decided to eat outside just for lunch and dinner. Casa Rio at the Riverwalk had great food and drinks and very reasonable. Landry Seafood was pricey with just ok food but i recommend the avocado stuffed with crab meat. It was cheaper eating in restaurants outside the riverwalk like Poblano beside San Fernando Cathedral for lunch. I was in this city more than 20 years ago attending a convention and found out that the Main Plaza had been platten and the San Fernando Cathedral has no more stairs. Overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham La Cascada

Address: 226 Dwyer Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#29 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham La Cascada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham La Cascada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham La Cascada Hotel San Antonio
Wyndham San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham La Cascada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.