We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham La Cascada

Save Saved
You added Wyndham La Cascada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham La Cascada
226 Dwyer Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78204 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Yes this hotel is a timeshare condo but it can also be reserved by people who are not in the timeshare. From the moment we arrived at La Cascada to the moment we left it was wonderful. We rented a 2 bedroom deluxe suite. Very large and fully equiped with everything we needed. The kitchen had all the appliances and dishes you could think of. The room even had a washer and dryer and they included detergent. The beds were comfortable and the tub in the master bath was wonderful. The air jets were awesome on my back after a long day at Sea World. The beds and pillows were comforatable and the windows could prop open to let in fresh air. The hotel is in a good location and you can walk to everywhere you need to go with in 15 minutes. The hotel also provides a shuttle bus that will take you to all the major attractions for free. Sea World is only about a 25 minute drive from the hotel. We were only asked once if we would like to listen to the timeshare presentation but after we declined we were never asked again. If you have time they do make it really worth your wild. You do have to pay for parking and at first I was a little upset but EVERYWHERE in San Antonio you have to pay for parking! The difference is they have a secure lot and a valet that will get your car as soon as you call them, so it is worth every penny of the $15.00! Overall we had a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the corner are larger and have more windows. One side of the hotel has a view of downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    45
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We are a VIP owners and arrived at 6:00P and was checked in ASAP since there were 3-4 waiting to check in. We were told our rooms were ready and in the room in 15 minutes.
We drove and there is a parking fee of $15 per day, unless you have a handicap tag then it is free. The rooms were large and clean. It comes with a efficency kitchen. Shower works like at home so no problems. It is located on the River Walk extention at the dam. The first thing we did was walk to the original River Walk to see what was going on. We walked there, around it and back in 45 min to an hour. The next day we walked down to the Pioneer mill and back in 45 min. on the River Walk. They say it has been extended to the next Mission. We had a great time and will go again. Watch out for the "sales talk" in the "owners area" that tries to sell you a "Vacation Package" the next morning, blew a morning, they then gave us a $25 Gift card for gas or whatever. Not worth the time or money. We had a great get away though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We are VIP Wyndham owners which entitles us to upgrades and early check-in. Got the upgrade to the 3 bedroom suite, but when we showed up at 2pm we couldn't get in for another 45 minutes. I went next store to Hippos (convenience store) for milk, cereal and a snack. We ate cheese, crackers & salami in the lobby while waiting. Staff didn't seem to mind.

Finally got checked in and found the unit quite nice. We had a fully equipped kitchen but no fully equipped grocery store within walking distance. So we ate out every day except for breakfast. We got a call from Member Services saying they would bring by coupons & maps the next morning - did we want 8:30 or 9:30am? The next day we couldn't figure out how to turn the showers on, so when the MS guy came he showed us that we had to pull the handle out to turn the water on. The handles were kind of loose and we weren't sure they wouldn't come off. We skipped the showers that morning, urged the guy out the door because we wanted to catch the shuttle to the King William area. He used the rouse that there was a complaint code on our records and wanted to resolve it so talked us into coming down later. Turned out he couldn't be specific enough about the issue that was 8 months old, but wanted ot talk about other things. Just another sales pitch I suspect, didn't stay long enough to find out.

The resort is really well located. Close enough to the main Riverwalk area to easily walk but far enough away that you don't get noise from the night life. Every thing is a 10-15 minute walk away so you do get your exercise. There is a fitness center with treadmill, eliptical, bike and weights. Of the two public computers in the lobby, only one could I access my email. Couldn't print out boarding passes either, but they did it at the front desk.

Our last evening was rather eventfull. While watching a movie we spotted a roach going from one of the bathrooms into the kitchen. We called the desk to see if they could spray. They said they would send engineering. We got involved in the movie and realized that he hadn't come in over 45 minutes so we called again. They said he had just left for the evening. The guy from the desk came up to remove the partially stomped bug. About two hours after we went to bed the smoke alarm went off for about 3 seconds. We checked the unit but didn't find anything so went back to bed. About 10 minutes later it went off again for 3 seconds. We called the desk and asked if they had a regular schedule for changing batteries (he said yes) and if anyone was having the same problem (he said no). He didn't have access to spare batteries and besides he didn't have a ladder to reach the alarms. We figured out that the master bedroom alarm was flashing a little red light while all the others were showing green. We asked if there was another room for us to sleep in. He brought us the key to a one bedroom on another floor. You could hear our alarms going off all down the hall to the elevators. The one bedroom was plenty big, just not as up scale as the 3 bedroom suite. The alarms started up again the next morning as we showered and packed to go home.

Three nights was sufficent time to do downtown SA. We had been to the zoo and animal ranch on another trip so we don't feel a need to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Currently at the end of our weeklong vacation and we have enjoyed our stay in San Antonio. This resort is beautiful and the rooms clean, spacious and have great furnishings. It is much closer to Riverwalk than we thought and have walked many miles this week. The resort offers a complimentary shuttle but the times aren't always what you need. In most cases, you can walk to or from. It's in a safe area, the court house is just up the block and the National Treasury is across the street. If you don't like noise, do not get a room facing the courthouse/Drury hotel. The dumpsters are emptied at 4:15 a.m. and there are 4 dumpsters! Most people aren't used to being banged awake at that time as most don't live in NY! The only major complaint is the incessant calling of the sales/service reps to get you to come to an "update" of your benefits of being a Wynham owner. I finally unplugged the phones. However, to get the blue armbands to ride the shuttle, they hit you up for a meeting if they haven't been able to contact you by phone. The guy came to the room for a quick info session and then scheduled us for a more in depth meeting the next day. It's all a game to get you in the sales center that is not called a sales center. Just ignore all attempts to get you hooked and you'll be good to go. NEVER believe that the 45 minutes will be 45 minutes!!! All other staff were friendly and always spoke on our way in and out. We would stay here again should we return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the alley side of the hotel --that's were the dumpsters are located -- very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, VA
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place is a hoax. There are representatives there who lie to your face and get you in debt even when they complete figures that show you can not afford the property. Then they use someone you know with good credit to secure the deal before you can blink an eye, you have been charged with an excessive amount of debt that you can not pay for.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The condo/room was just wonderful, great staff, so accessible to everywhere by bus or walking. Provided a shuttle that took you to various areas of the city. Rooftop pool and spa, very kid friendly. Nice inexpensive grocery store attached, just a great place to relax and see San Antonio. Will go back here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My parents are owners with Wyndham Vacation Resorts and they gave us 5 days at the Wyndham La Cascada as an anniversary gift. After reading some of the reviews I have to say I was a little nervous. We had none of the problems that some other people have talked about. We stayed in a 1BR deluxe on the 6th floor. It was very clean and set up really nice! My only complaint is that the couch isn't the most comfortable piece of furniture. We weren't there to sit around though and we headed out to start exploring. The resort is about a 15 minute walk from the main part of the Riverwalk but is about a 7-10 minute walk to the La Vallita area. If you are into art and jewelry this is a must see area. We walked at night and did not feel unsafe. In fact there were bike police out at all times of day around there. Hippos is a nice little grocery and while their prices may be a little higher than what you pay at home I didn't think they were out of line at all. You are paying for convenience! A few people complained about the sales pitch. We recieved one phone call, were asked to go on the tour/sales pitch in exchange for dinner certificate and our boat ride tickets, and were told in advance that it would be 60-90 minutes. We agreed to go because who doesn't like free stuff. We told the guy up front we were not buying anything and he respected that and didn't waste our time - we were out of there in an hour. We were not harassed and never heard from the sales staff again! The front desk staff was super nice and very helpful. All in all it was a great stay in a beautiful resort and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham La Cascada

Address: 226 Dwyer Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham La Cascada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham La Cascada Hotel San Antonio
Wyndham San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham La Cascada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.