We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable & spacious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8505 Broadway Street, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Cambria Suites Airport) (Northeast San Antonio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #92 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable & spacious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose this room, because of its "newness". We have stayed at a lot of the hotels in the area, and most of them are not well-kept or clean. The Country Inn & Suites offer a type of room and service that you'd expect to pay more for. We got a great rate of only $42.00 USD a night. Wow! It was unbelievable. I enjoyed my stay here. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I will definitely go back when I visit San Antonio again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us. We look forward to your next visit when in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    79
    28
    17
    16
See reviews for
120
63
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Texas, before picking up a rental car; we liked the facility so much that we changed our plans to come back for our last night before flying home.
Our King Suite was not overly large, but very adequate for the two of us. The hotel is relatively new so it is quite modern and not shopworn. Rooms were clean and inviting. My wife's only complaint: lighting in the bathroom is not great for applying makeup.
The breakfast buffet is excellent, with hot oatmeal, scrambled eggs and a meat item, do-it-yourself waffles, and the usual toast, muffins, etc.
There is not much in the way of dining or shopping within walking distance. However, a free shuttle service is available to the airport and to nearby restaurants. All you have to do is ask, and one of the staff happily grabs the keys to the van.
Several of the staff members are from the same extended family, and they work well together to ensure that their customers receive great service.
Book early, since room prices seem to rise as the hotel fills up. Our price at the end of our trip was somewhat higher than the same room 10 days earlier.

Room Tip: Not needed... all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad you stayed with us and then changed your plans to come back! We hope to see you again soon. I will let our family know your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire- first time there. Stayed one night only as a short weekend vacation for us. It's a little ways off for downtown but not an issue for us as traffic was very light that weekend. Room was really nice- very clean, very comfortable. Room had really big bed that was super comfy. Also had a sleeper sofa that my daughter said was OK. Breakfast was hot- eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles and cold items. Overall would stay there again. No problem with airport noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad that you chose us to stay with. I am sorry your luggage did not arrive with you, but happy we could help out! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrived a little flustered as Delta lost our luggage. They looked after us in what I would describe as top notch service. Room was great and everyone in the hotel helped us. Wish all of our stays were this good. Staying there on our return trip and would recommend this place to all my friends.
Their shuttle driver(Lucy) took us to the mall to get some clothes and basic essentials. What more can I say top notch service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Its great to hear that our hotel was able to get you to the store to replace the items lost in your luggage. Our staff goes the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay for all our guests. Our staff cross trains to help in different areas of the hotel. Thank you for posting through Advisor, your comments about our Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX means a lot to us here. Lucy your driver is actually the person in charge of housekeeping. This shows that we care about all our guests. Hope to see you back here at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for a month, enjoying the relatively warm temperatures and the varied sightseeing opportunities in San Antonio. We found this hotel to be comfortable and friendly. The staff made extra efforts to make us happy. We were given a large room which accommodated our two laptops nicely. One of the best points: they can allow guests to leave cars for several days in the middle of a San Antonio stay, thus saving the cost of airport parking. They also have an airport shuttle which is quite responsive to guests' needs. We'll stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for making us your home away from home for a month. We loved having you here. We look forward to you coming back to visit when in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have never stayed here before, but I can see why people rave about this location.

I flew down from SEA on a Sat and decided to spend the night here, rather than drive to my destination that night, which was Corpus Christi. I'm glad I did.

I arrived about 6pm, was warmly received, and my room was excellent. A large suite, plenty of room, a micro and fridge...just about all you could ask for. Walked across the streeet to Chilli's for dinner, but there are plenty of nice restaurants in the area. Locals recommend a place named "Jim's", just a bit past Chilli's, but I did not try it.

If you want somehting quick, there is a McD's a block north, so a traveler who does not have a car does have some options when it comes to food.

I had breakfast at the hotel on Sun morning, and it was quite nice; scrambled eggs (real stuff) bacon, biscuts and gravy, fresh fruit plus the basic buffet offerings. Very nice.

Then I asked for directions to the Alamo and River Walk, things to see in an Antonio...excellent help from the front desk. Saw the sights, back to hotel and checked out...then down to Corpus Christi.

Finished work in CC early, but I was locked into my return flight Tue afternoon. I could have stayed in CC, but I really liked San Antonio, so I drove up late Monday, and checked back in.

Same girl at the front desk, same nice greeting, different room but just as good. I do have to add that the room ths time had the TV missing from the living area of the suite. I called the front desk about this, but they knew about it, and offerd another room. As it was only me, I really could care less, as long as they know that the missing flat screen TV is not my doing.

I guess I have this thing about walking into a just purchased hotel room, finding stuff missing, and being charged for what is gone. But no problems here. I could have changed rooms, as that was offered to me, but the room was fine even with only one TV.

Everything from then on was a repeat from before. Just great service. I wish I had written down the name of the young lady at reception anf the GM I spoke to, great people.

As I had a late flight on tue, asked for a late checkout, and was accomidated, no problem. Really, really understanding management philosophy here..

The bottom line is that I am really impressed with the facilities and staff of this location. It is an airport hotel, but with a lot of options if you do not have a car, and great transportation access if you do. The facilities are top notch; and the staff is excellent; they are helpful in every way.

Your travel needs may vary, but if you want something nice in the San Antonio area, I highly, highly, recommend this location.

As I'm still in San Antionio at the airport, waiting for my flight, I just called the hotel and asked for the info I needed. The great GM I talked with was Margie, and the reception gal with outstanding service was Daniela. Great folks, ask for them if you stay here.

This is a top quality location; great service and excellent staff. It is definitely worth you consideration fot a place to stay in San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio when you are in the area. Thank you for posting through Advisor, your comments about the Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX. Its great to hear that we met all your travel needs. Also glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and that our staff was able to get you directions to all your destination needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here during the stock show, thought we would only be here one night but changed our minds--staff very accomadating, rooms are great separate couch tv from beds. All newly updated, clean, comfy queen size beds, great breakfast(free). Rates were very reasonable. I would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for posting through Advisor, your comments about the Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX. There is always so many things going on in San Antonio TX hopefully you will choose us again in the future for your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX

Address: 8505 Broadway Street, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Cambria Suites Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#80 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Country Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport, located less than half a mile from SAT Airport. We are pleased to provide such convenient amenities as a complimentary hot breakfast, meeting space, free Wi-Fi, heated pool and complimentary shuttle service to San Antonio International Airport. Hotel guests enjoy easy access to nearby golf courses, shopping destinations and local attractions like The Alamo, San Antonio Riverwalk, Morgan's Wonderland and SeaWorld San Antonio. Our hotel's enthusiastic and professional staff is waiting to help make your stay exceptional, so book your online reservation at Country Inn & Suites today! 100% Non-smoking hotel. Formerly known as Cambria Suites Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Antonio
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson
Cambria Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport, TX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.