We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel by the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8505 Broadway, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Cambria Suites Airport) (Northeast San Antonio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #58 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel by the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is perfect. Close to the airport, nice business center, full hot breakfast and a bar. What more could you ask for. The rooms are spacious, they have. Refrigerator, microwave and 2 flat screen TV's. I love the hard wired and wireless Internet in the rooms and the fitness center has everything that you need with 5 treadmills, 2 elliptical a, 2 bikes, free weights and a weight machine

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Very glad to hear that you chose to stay at our hotel, and that you were able to make use of our fitness center. The rooms are larger then most hotels, and the amenities in the rooms are above parr. We hope that you will come back to stay with us soon. Thank you for posting through Advisro, your comments about the Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    52
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
84
51
13
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was home in Kansas when my wife had to miss her return flight home 1/6/13 because of an acute GI flu which was hitting San Antonio. She needed help and Grace, the front desk manager, went the distance in providing outstanding care for her. After getting her from the airport to the hotel and providing the essential hygiene kit (the airline kept her bag), after Grace was off that evening she picked up a prescription for her. I was comforted that Grace was watching out for my ill wife. (BTW, everything worked out the next day.) Thank you, Grace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Glad to hear your wife had a great experience here at our hotel. I know what its like to have the flu in a strange place. It must have been a relief to you to know that we had someone like Grace helping your wife out with her illness. Thank you for posting through Advisor, your comments about the Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX. We hope that you can make it down from Kansas once again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were there Dec 29-31. It was a very busy time. I believe it was full both nights.

The person at the front desk was very helpful in giving us directions on how to get to the missions avoiding 281 which was extremely crowded when we drove from Austin.

The only complaint we had,and it wasn't that big, was that there were no cookies put out on the evening of 12/30. The person at the front desk said that they had been busy but would get some baked and put out and call to let us know when they were ready. We never received a call and I checked down at the desk and the cookie container was not out.

We would definitely plan on staying here again it we came back to San Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for posting through Advisor, your comments about our Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX Its very nice to hear from our guests. Also we will have cookies available at all times from here on out..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Country Inn and Suites (and its predecessor) more than once. The hotel is wonderful, but the location is not.

At our most recent stay, our car was broken into. We were lucky it was not stolen, but the locks were broken and it now needs more than $700 in damages. The lot is poorly light, and the two adjoining weed-filled vacant lots, seem now to be a crime incitement. Under previous management we never had problems, but the current security seems lax (non-existent?), and I cannot recommend this hotel, especially to families with children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I'm very sorry you had this experience at our hotel. We take every precaution to minimize crime on our property and we take guest security very seriously. Unfortunately, as in any urban area, crime is bound to occur. Our staff is very alert, we do nightly grounds patrols, and we work closely with local law enforcement to keep our property as safe as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was a great surprise after staying in a downtown hotel for a couple of nights. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, convenient (even a shuttle for 5 mile radius) and the employees were all very friendly. Our favorite was Vicki, the breakfast coordinator. She was so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious every day - hot breakfast and all the trimmings. She was constantly checking with everyone to make sure everything was just right, coming around to take used dishes and greet everyone, and make sure we all had a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Its so nice to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel. Also thank you for posting through Advisor, your comments about the Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX is helpfull for us to improve. Vicki our breakfast attendant is such a gem to have here at our hotel. I will pass on the kudos to her and the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First off, being that there are a lot of hotels in this area, I would probably not stay here again. Some of the good things were that the bed was very good, water pressure good, locaiton good for what we needed (right off the expressway), breakfast excellent. There was nothing else we could have asked for at breakfast. The ladies responsible for making sure guests were happy at breakfast were excellent, and both days we were there everything was fresh and well supplied. Some of the negatives about our room (101) were as follows: the lighting in the room was terrible. I can't remember when the lighting in every light was that bad, especially in the bathroom. We had a suite, and if you would have wanted to do anything but watch television in that additional area, it would have been impossible because of the poor lighting. Also, there was no cold water. We could not get cold water morning or evening of either day we were there. Also, the walls were paper thin. We probably would not stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Were so glad you chose to stay with us. Thank you for posting through Advisor, your comments about our Country Inn & Suites Airport San Antonio TX. Its also great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast each morning. We do apologize about the issues you had with your room. We will investigate it further in ensure that we don't have the same issues in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stay here last night (NOVEMBER 23,20012 only for one night and Im so glad I did, when first arrived I didnt like thats is in a big lonely parking lot but the hotel it self was nice and big so first hotel impressions were good, then checking in was smoooth...now going into our rooms first impressions as we open the door was is a bit small but its good how they did the layout of the room separate livingroom and bedroom, restroom was big and very very nice all the fixtures and updates r beautiful, the decor is also very nice and modern, I was really impressed I loved it, I have stay in so many hotels because i love to travel but this one is on my top 3 now...I LOVE IT< EVERYTHING, SERVICE,BREAKFAST,ROOM,BED,ETC anythiing u name I LOVED, I would also like to say that breakfast is very very good lots of portions to choose from, scramble eggs, baggels,muffins,4 deferent cereals, 5 diferent juices,milk,waffles,bacon,fruit,toasted bread &jelly and coffee wat else can u ask for breakfast they have it all..VERY GOOD,another thing i wanna point out is the cliness of this hotel/rooms, Im so picky when chossing a hotel so the first thing i do is come here and read reviews so thank god for technology u can find out lots of things and lots of people were saying that this hotel is very clean and yes it is, I literally swipe my finger in the rooms decors and behind the tv n my finger was clean as when i first swipe it overall what Im saying is that i loved this place and I highly recommend it I will defitnetly come back next time am her in san antonio but best of all for the price of the hotel and the value its a+++++ ...Keep it up coountry inn oh one more thing caint forget not to put this info the beds r sooooooooo comfy best bed in any hotel i have stayed in :))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy that we could WOW you! We hope to see you again next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX

Address: 8505 Broadway, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Cambria Suites Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#48 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#73 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Country Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport, an all-suite hotel located less than half a mile from SAT Airport. We are pleased to provide such convenient amenities as a complimentary hot breakfast, meeting space, free Wi-Fi, heated pool and complimentary shuttle service to San Antonio International Airport. Hotel guests enjoy easy access to nearby golf courses, shopping destinations and local attractions like The Alamo, San Antonio Riverwalk, Morgan's Wonderland and SeaWorld San Antonio. Our hotel's enthusiastic and professional staff is waiting to help make your stay exceptional, so book your online reservation at Country Inn & Suites today! 100% non-smoking hotel. Formerly known as Cambria Suites Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Antonio
Cambria Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson San Antonio Airport, TX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.