We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adult classes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest School of Art & Craft

Southwest School of Art & Craft
300 Augusta Ave., San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
210-224-1848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 146 Activities in San Antonio
Type: Art Galleries, Educational Sites, Classes
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An art school with an art gallery, lectures and concerts which are open to the public.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great adult classes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very diverse selection of adult classes, with really knowledgeable instructors and great facilities. The ceramics clay department is wonderful with great clay and glaze labs.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I were given a tour of the facilities by my cousin's husband (Steve)who works here. One could spend hours here heading into various galleries. If you want to see looms, this is the place to visit. The restaurant meal was also excellent. It certainly made our day complete. As a photographer teacher, if I lived in San Antonio, I would be taking some classes here, maybe even teaching. What a wonderful asset for a city to have.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamrock, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Southwest School of Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This school was founded in the 1800s by Catholic nuns. A video, which is shown in the welcome center room of the museum, is well done and very informative. The grounds are quiet and charming. There is also a very nice little restaurant. I enjoyed the walk from the RiverWalk to the museum. It was about a half hour leisurely stroll. Across the street is a gallery and the tour of the exhibits at the art gallery is done on your cell phone. I really enjoyed finding this quiet and charming museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great school”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First of all, it's called Southwest School of Art. Period. No craft any more. They are going to become an accredited art school in 2014. They have classes in almost any medium, 2D, ceramics, photography, fabrics, paper making, metals, more. The gift shop has closed. The Copper Kitchen restaurant is very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise north of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We were in town the day of the marathon and fond several of the museums closed. This onw was on a map and we decided to head out that way. They have a small, free museum telling the history of the convent, girls school and how it became an art museum. Across the street is the gallery which has one interactive exhibition and a photo gallery. It was a shame the cafe and gift shop were closed when we went (sunday).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southwest School of Art & Craft also viewed

 

Been to Southwest School of Art & Craft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest School of Art & Craft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.