We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission San Jose

Mission San Jose
6701 San Jose Drive, San Antonio, TX 78124 (Harlandale)
210 229 4770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 196 attractions in San Antonio
Type: Missions, Historic Sites
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1720, this Spanish frontier mission, the largest of the five San Antonio missions, is best known for its rose window. On Sundays, this Texas and U.S. National historic site offers a mariachi mass.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I grew up going to mass at Mission San Jose and as kids were allowed by Father Nathan And Brother Jerome to just hang out on the grounds.Now many years later,It is still an active church. The grounds a kept nicely.The church alter has been changed,supposedly back to it's original state,alot of history in these old Missions

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    183
    30
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you can only get to one, this is it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is probably the best preserved of all the missions. I have been here several times, and I never get tired of seeing everything again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Mission to visit in San Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Loved seeing the Chapel that is STILL in use to this day! You don;t hear much about the Mission San Jose over the Alamo. A hidden treasure indeed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Visited on a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wanted to kill a few hours and stopped off here. I think we spent about half an hour here, only because it was rainy. Not ideal if its raining as most of its outside. But it's an interesting bit of history. Even though it was rainy there was about 30 people there. It's free also which is nice to have a free attraction.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“needed more time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had to rush to see it as I got there too late in the day. Was a great example of mission life of the era. Well preserved and good educational information.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Jose also viewed

 

Been to Mission San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mission San Jose to your Saves list