We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostley for drinks and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio River

San Antonio River
San Antonio, TX (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #9 of 196 attractions in San Antonio
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic river winds through the town of San Antonio.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Mostley for drinks and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It's fun, but not much for the teens in our group to do. Girlfriend getaway, couples weekend...this would be fabulous. Not so much with kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    212
    43
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“River Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is such a peaceful place to walk around. The river boat is a must while there. Not many shops, mall at one end with such a variety of places to eat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Much Improved Over the Years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

In the ten years since we visited San Antonio the city has made a number of improvements to the River Walk area and they seem to care for it better than before. With lots of dining and hotel options along the river and close by you can spend a weekend downtown without need for a car.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots to Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

San Antonio has really been progressive in their management of the San Antonio River and its attractions. I love that they have a hike and bike trail along the river to connect all the missions. Can't wait for cooler weather so that we can rent bikes from one of the many B-Cycle stations that dot the trail.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dirty Dirty Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have a better river in my back yard! Nothing to be proud of! I mean what is the big deal about dirty brown water running through some ditch alongside San Antonio? Go to Florida, or elsewhere if you want river adventures in pure clean water coming from springs, streams, creeks and such.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio River also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Antonio River to your Saves list