We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for your money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% + FREE PARKING+BRKFST
Ranked #14 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Killeen, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Very clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms.
Friendly staff
Full breakfast
I would definitely stay here again...
Walking distance to the Riverwalk/Alamo

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    157
    54
    14
    5
See reviews for
258
203
27
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We are a family of 5, one toddler, a six yr old and 10year old we had a suite. We stayed 5 nights, the beds were comfortable, the hotel was really beautiful, the surroundings werent that great to look at but the hotel itself was really nice! the rooms were clean and the bathroom was a nice size. The free breakfast we loved, my kids had the waffles every morning, and there was eggs, sausage, biscuts, muffins or bagels. The Alamo was four blocks away but they were the longest four blocks in the world ha! I didnt personally like walking from the hotel to the Alamo or riverwalk because you had to walk under an overpass and there are some shady areas that are alittle scary, then it just seemed like you would never get there but it was 100 degrees when we went so walking in that heat wasnt fun with a toddler and two other kids. I would recommend this hotel, it was beautiful and the staff was so friendly!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This facility is new construction (less than 3 years) and is beautifully decorated with stunningly-ornate furniture and decor for the Comfort Inn brand - both location exterior and interior were well-maintained - room was very clean with large flat-screen TV, faux-marbled granite countertops, high ceilings and elegant draperies - high speed internet worked great - breakfast included eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, danishes - pool was teeny, but is secluded from the neighborhood by a high wall which makes privacy an A+ - the facility is located about 5 blocks from the Alamo (there is a lot of walking along busy streets with narrow sidewalks and several crosswalks across busy streets) SPECIAL NOTE: we arrived for breakfast near the end of the designated hours and food was in short supply -- the hard-working kitchen staff did eventually get more out, but beware that there may be delay CONS: (1) from the downtown area, the only way to access this hotel on foot is to walk north on Live Oak St. from Houston Blvd. right along the Red Roof Inn property - Live Oak is not a developed street and it was a little dark/uncomfortable at night (2) we got there early and had a great parking spot right next to front door -- however, most of the parking is underneath the interstate ramp on the west side of the hotel (it is well-lit, protected by security camera and surrounded by iron fence) - UNFORTUNATELY THE HOTEL HAS DECIDED TO CHARGE $10 FOR THIS "SERVICE"...THEY SHOULD ABANDON THIS POLICY, AS THERE IS NOTHING THAT WARRANTS THIS CHARGE AND THE HOTEL'S LOCATION ISN'T ANYTHING TO BRAG ABOUT

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Usually a stigma is attached to a "comfort inn" location. One may assume that the hotel will be run of the mill, if not worse, less than desirable with staff that is less than pleasant. Upon arriving at this hotel, I was pleasantly surprised that it shattered my prior expectations. The hotel was lovely on the outside and even better on the inside. The staff was very warm and accommodating. The owner personally introduced herself to us and told us to let her know if we needed anything. They were forthcoming with suggestions on restaurants and local attractions/must see spots. I would give return business to this hotel in an instant. I have recommended this hotel to everyone I know, even if they don't have a trip to San Antonio currently planned.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Poconos, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Stayed here for five nights in May 2009. The hotel is rather new and the room was very clean and spacious. It was a great hotel for the price. Location was great as well. It is a five-minute walk from the rear entrance to the Alamo. There is also a bus stop around the corner if you rather would not walk. Also a great pasta restaurant two blocks away on Houston Street (Spaghetti Warehouse). I will definitely stay here again when I return to San Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I'm so glad we stayed here--the hotel is very elegantly decorated and obviously new. Such great value and the place was virtually empty so we were able to park right by the front entrance (parking is $10/day), get immediate service, and have the pool and business computers/printer all to ourselves! Our room was spacious with an excellent bed and pillow (and I loved the black-out curtains--I didn't even wake up till about 9am even though I usually wake up automatically around 7am). I appreciated that both the water temperature and volume were adjustable in the shower. All staff were immediate in helping us with any requests (e.g., couldn't connect to the wireless internet so they volunteered an ethernet cable). The complimentary breakfast was great: waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, english muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, potatoes, etc. Great pool--though the hotel is located near a noisy freeway, the waterfall in the pool cuts out most of the noise and they had comfy lounge chairs. Covenient location: only a couple minutes from the Alamo and Riverwalk and about 30 seconds from the highway. Definitely would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Well, I guess the security guard at night and the numerous security cameras should give you a sense of security but I do not recommend this place for families. If you cannot park directly in front of the hotel, you end up parking on the side of the building which is under the interstate. There's plenty of homeless nearby too.

The hotel is new...it opened in October 2008. So if you are only concerned with the rooms and cleanliness then I definitely recommend this hotel. It also has nice flat screen tvs. The breakfast bar was average.

The pool and hot tub are outside and there's a small putting green outside too. The exercise room is set up wierd...the exercise equipment--one elliptical and one treadmill do not face the tv.

Speaking of below average value...The laundry costs $2.50 for the washer and $2.00 for the dryer. No free hotel shuttle unlike other hotels nearby and parking is $10 a night.

Overall, I probably won't stay here again unless Choice Hotels is running another promotion.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "BEST Value Downtown" because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus! FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres during our complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm.Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, Military, leisure, business, conventions, etc. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base, Ft Sam Medical Courses, family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the Zoo, Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.