We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people/great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% + FREE PARKING+BRKFST
Ranked #13 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great people/great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel has the most friendly accomodating staff of any place I have ever stayed. The location is wonderful. The Alamo and Riverwalk are just a short walk away. My bag was lost (briefly) by the airline. When it was delivered to the hotel the desk person came looking for me to let me know the bag had arrived. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff person there was so nice. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for posting such positive, candid remarks about our hotel online, as we sincerely appreciate it. We are incredibly flattered by your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff. All the staff at our hotel try their very best each and every day to make sure all of our guests are satisfied – and to hear comments like this is very comforting that we are accomplishing our mission. It is unfortunate that the airline lost your luggage but we are glad that your pleasant hotel experience with us was able to compensate for the bad luck. Also, it is nice to hear that you not only found our location convenient but that you also enjoyed our amenities – such as our full hot breakfast in the morning (and our wonderful Food & Beverage Director who hosts breakfast every morning). We are thoroughly pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk and we hope that you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    157
    54
    14
    5
See reviews for
258
202
27
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the comments of other travellers and when looking back wonder if this is the same hotel although there are several who also share the same concerns.
This hotel is right beside a freeway and a fair distance walk from the Riverwalk. Yes it's 15 minutes but that only takes you to the end where the mall's food court and a Mexican restaurant are. The core places are another 15-20 minutes further down the walk. Note. The walk from the hotel to the Riverwalk is through 2 parking lots and on sketchy streets with poor sidewalks for those with any walking issues.
We had to pay for parking even if in front of the building which seems a bit much considering it is open and not secure.
Check was efficient but once in the room we were very disappointed. The room was not a bright cheery yellow as shown in their advertisements but a dark and dull green with dark beige wall paper. The room is tired and well used. The bed spread had a very visible white drip on it and remained even after being made another 3 times. The bed skirt was tucked in in places in the bed which made the whole bed look messy. Instead of 2 or 4 good size pillows there were several "cushion size" pillows. The bed and the pillows were not conducive to good sleep as it was also accompanied by noisy AC.
As mentioned by another, the carpet needs to be cleaned as it was not vacuumed anytime during our 4 night stay. Garbage can was missed and the coffee pot dumped out but the sink was left coffee stained. Hint to management: please clean your coffee makers. It'll improve the taste of the coffee.
Additionally the lighting in the room is poor which doesn't help as the windows are in dire need of cleaning. It looked like San Antonio was always buried in deep fog. Probably due to the very close proximity to the freeway but they built it there so deal with it.
On the more positive, breakfast was pleasant but seating can be a problem at times. The food, when it was refilled, was good for what it was. It would have been nicer if staff would have come out once in a while to wipe tables. Never saw anyone.
The pool area was pleasant to sit in. The pool was unseated at this time and I did see several others enjoying the hot tub. Note: the photo of the pool area has also been photo shopped. They took out the freeway and the large bill board that is very present.
As with most times we went to the front desk, except at check in, it was a game of find the front desk person. (This also occurred one time when we tried to purchase snacks from the hotel store which lead to some guests just taking the items without paying and saying they'd pay later. We waited or staff). Upon finding someone to check out with, and waiting for them to finish taking a call even though we were there first, we had to be sure to get the safe charge removed. You miss it. You pay. But it was having the girl who checked us out who lifted one leg to sit/straddle the desk that seemed unprofessional as well but at this point I knew there was no way we'd ever be back.
Spend a bit more, treat yourself if need be and stay closer and have a more pleasant visit to San Antonio. Wish we would have.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is unfortunate that you had a negative experience at our hotel, and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences from your stay. It appears that your main issue was with the location of our hotel. We do our best to inform potential guests about our location by describing our hotel as “3 blocks from the River Walk and Alamo or 15 mins walking” on all major websites including TripAdvisor. We also have interactive google maps on many of these websites so that potential guests can easily tell where we are located and make educated, calculated decisions about our location compared to the amazing value that we offer for a downtown hotel (as we provide so much for free including the full hot breakfast, high speed wifi (50mbs/5mbs), and a free Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception Tues-Thurs 5-7pm). However, we do also provide a great, free transportation service that our patrons love to use – a limited shuttle service from our hotel that drops guests off right next to the Alamo and River Walk if guests are unable to make the walk. Also as a last resort, a cab is less than $10 from anywhere in downtown to our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast as we made sure to provide all of the hot items that our guests love, including Texas-shaped waffles, eggs, potatoes, sausage, etc and we make sure to vet our food vendors scrupulously in order to ensure we get the best products available as well as best selection. Once again, we do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced; but if you give us another chance, I’m sure we will exceed beyond your expectations and provide you with a wonderful stay. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to San Antonio to see our daughter graduate from the Air Force. The staff was friendly, personable, and overall great. They went out of their way to see that we were happy no matter what it took. The business center located in the lobby is very nice. You can check your email, print directions, maps or even tickets. Tuesday , Wednesday , and Thursday nights they have a wine , beer and finger food reception. In the morning, they have great coffee, and a wide variety of breakfast foods. They have oatmeal, cereal, eggs, potatoes, and even waffles. They also have fruit and yogurt. Georgia runs this section and is friendly and checks to see that all is ok. She's quiet and unassuming, but checks at least once each time you come down.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for posting such positive feedback about the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk and its staff. We also want to congratulate your daughter again for her graduation, and we hope that we were able to make this extra special for your family. Our staff really does their best to make sure that each and every guest is taken care of and we are so happy to hear that you experienced this higher level of service throughout your stay. It is also great to hear that you truly enjoyed our free hot breakfast and free Manager’s Reception, as we put in an extra effort to make sure the taste buds of all our guests are satisfied and that reception is a social and relaxing experience. We will most certainly let our staff know of these positive comments, and we hope that you decide to stay with us again during your future travels to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a longer tour of Texas. Getting into the hotel car-park was a bit difficult because of the roadworks on the access road. That aside, the hotel was reasonably handy for everything we wanted to see, breakfast was good (and not too crowded) and the rooms are spacious, if a bit dark. The staff were very welcoming and helpful - so much so that, when the hotel shuttle was off one night, Georgia, the evening hostess, offered to drive us where we wanted to go. Thanks again, Georgia!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us with positive feedback from your stay. It is unfortunate that you had experience the road work near our hotel, but it is completed and now Live Oak is well paved and looks great! However, we are glad that you found our staff to be very accommodating and we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful experience overall. We hope that you visit us again during your next tour of Texas! Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel accommodated us to watch the UT/OU game on their big screen in the lobby. They did a make ready for us! They went above expectations on this! And the Longhorns won! It was all GOOD! We will return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you posting your feedback online. We are glad that you had such a wonderful time watching the UT/OU game at our hotel and that we were able to sufficiently accommodate your needs. It is great to hear that our staffs’ extra effort was palpable and that it provided you with a great viewing experience of the game. We hope that you do decide to stay with us in the future, and we will ensure the experience is just as special for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is close to The River Walk and very nice when you walk into the lobby. The front desk guy checked us in quickly and easily and was extremely nice and helpful. The room was spacious and nice and the beds were comfortable. I was all good until I woke up in the middle of the night and had to go to the bathroom. In the bathroom I saw two baby roaches. Ugh! I HATE roaches, but it was the middle of the night and I did not want to wake everyone so I just quietly made sure that all bags were up off of the floor and in a high place and tried to go back to sleep, which was difficult. In the morning my friend told me that she too had gone to the bathroom in the middle of the night and saw approximately 3 or 4 roaches. So before we checked out we had to shake out all of our clothes before re-packing out bags and shook out again and washed all of out clothes immediately upon our return home to make sure that we had not brought home any "friends". This is why I don't like staying in hotels.

Room Tip: Get one without roaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay with us. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with regards to an insect in your room. I want to ensure you that this is a rarity at our hotel as we spend a majority of our housekeeping efforts on ensuring the bathrooms and guest rooms are spotless for our guests. Moreover, I have already personally made sure that our monthly pest manager makes an extra effort to ensure that all public and private areas in the hotel are 100% pest free. Once again we do apologize for this inconvenience as we don’t claim to be perfect but we do strive for perfection, so we are sorry for this issue. We hope that this did not prevent you from enjoying the rest of your stay with us as we are glad that you found our location and rooms very convenient and comfortable. We hope that you do decide to stay with us in the future so that we may exceed your expectations and provide you with wonderful stay that you won’t forget. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is next to an interstate, being a bit noisy, but nothing that hinders sleep. The breakfast has good variety. The hotel is located a quick walk from the Alamo and Riverwalk, about 15 min. The last stretch of the walk is a bit isolated, but nevertheless we felt safe. The room is big and clean and the hotel offers a happy hour. Parking costs $ 20 and has a covered area that is underneath the interstate. One tip, it is possible to make an alternative path through the Rivercenter mall and straight out on the riverwalk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to hear that you found our hotel to be a great value for downtown San Antonio and that you enjoyed much of what the Comfort Suites has to offer, including our full hot breakfast every morning as well as our Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception (Tues-Thurs 5-7pm). I do want to just clarify that our parking fee is $15/night (not $20) which includes all of the parking out front of the hotel as well as the covered spaces underneath the freeway adjacent to the hotel and which is gated (we also have a security guard at night). Once again, thank you for finding time to give us with your positive feedback; we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, leisure, business, conventions, etc. It is also only 1 mile from the Alamodome. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave & refrigerator. Not to mention, every room includes FREE breakfast & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. We also have a complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs with FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres from 5-7pm. Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. This Comfort Suites also has a heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.