We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 10% & FREE PARKING!
Ranked #11 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Colchester, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very helpful staff who gave us directions and maps. Our room was large and very clean. Had coffee maker, micro and fridge. Very comfortable sitting area and clean bathroom. Very good position to walk into the Alamo area and the River Walk. Breakfasts were good and variable. The only downside is you are very near to the I-37 and get road noise. Luckily we had the AC on at night and that covered most of the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    140
    47
    13
    6
See reviews for
238
175
25
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you hear a word "suite", you probably would not expect much from it. I, in fact, did not expect at all. Though the service and level of comfort went over my expectations. The room was big for the money I paid and the bed was really comfortable. Because I traveled solo as a woman, security could be an issue. However, I did not have any issue with security either. Location was also perfect because the downtown was in a walking distance. As a result, I was able to fully experience San Antonio without paying for gas. In addition, the front desk people can help you to find out what is good in the town if you ask them. Overall, I really really enjoyed it and I already miss being in San Antonio. Should I have chance to go back, I will definitely stay here again. Good location, good service, secured, and way more affordable than hotels in the middle of downtown San Antonio such as Grand Hyatt.
Of course, it was $300 for two nights and for a student like me that is a lot of money, but it was definitely worthy paying that much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is not on the Riverwalk; actually it is just across the interstate from the tourist area but you can walk under the interstate through the hotel parking lot and it is just a few blocks. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the Alamodome. I read in other reviews that there was a hotel shuttle and I asked about it because it was raining when we arrived but was told there was not a shuttle available. The desk clerk said a cab ride to the Alamodome was about $5 but the rain let up and we walked. We returned without crossing back under the interstate to walk through the tourist area and I don't recommend it. The area was mostly deserted and we met a couple of shady characters. We were glad to get back to to the hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. Didn't care for the little square pillows. The small refrigerator worked well and the flat screen TV was nice. We had a room on the 2nd floor and it was quiet. The breakfast area was quite busy at 8:45 Sunday morning. The blueberry waffles were especially good. Did not care for the deli ham served instead of bacon or sausage. Parking is $15 and I requested that the room safe charge be removed because we did not need it. We used points to pay for our stay at this hotel and although it was nice, we will opt to stay at a hotel closer to the Riverwalk or Alamodome when we return to San Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a trip with grandkids. Rooms clean, nicely furnished. A little smaller than I thought they would be, but were fine. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Bath nicely amenitied and very clean. A fuse blew due to the fact that we were running two hair dryers. Went to desk and reported and they had it fixed within 10 minutes. Staff very friendly and helpful - knowledgeable about San Antonio attractions. Breakfast buffet was great. Our grandkids were so excited when they saw they could make Texas shaped waffles! Pool is a little small, but enough for kids to enjoy.
For the money, this is a great deal. Price was very reasonable for such a tourist mecca as San Antonio.
I'd stay here again! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our view was of the street - not too appealing - if view is important to you, ask. Our room was nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my second stay at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk and I truly appreciate the value and quality of amenities. The suites are large and clean and the free in-room WiFi is a plus. Love the comfy beds and nice soft large bath towels. Check-in and out is fast and efficiency and the staff is courteous and friendly. The dining area is clean and spacious and offers delicious hot breakfast and a relaxing happy hour. You do have to pay daily for parking but that's not a deal breaker for me. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Riverwalk and Alamo. An additional plus for me is that there's easy access to the freeway! I'll be making several trips a year to San Antonio since my granddaughter and her new baby are living there now. I'm fairly sure Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk will become my home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at a number of Comfort Suites that are good but this hotel is the best. The King Suite was exceptionally large, the dining area was very comfortable, the food fresh and hot, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and neat. The best value for a visit to the riverwalk.

Room Tip: It is near the highway so you should request a room on the opposite side. It's not that noisy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. I was on my honeymoon and I had a great time. This hotel was a great price and is close enough to the riverwalk for me. The room was very nice and so was breakfast. The next time we head to San Antonio we will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, leisure, business, conventions, etc. It is also only 1 mile from the Alamodome. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave & refrigerator. Not to mention, every room includes FREE breakfast & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. We also have a complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs with FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres from 5-7pm. Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. This Comfort Suites also has a heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.