We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make you feel at home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE 10% & FREE PARKING!
Ranked #12 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They make you feel at home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family went on a mini weekend getaway and this was the perfect place to stay. The hotel has a homey feel, extremely clean with a very friendly staff that is courteous and always willing to help. The breakfast buffet was good but, you do have to arrive early if not you will not get a table....... Rooms are beautifully decorated with very comfortable and lux bedding. It's a short walk to all downtown attractions and Riverwalk. Would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    145
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
249
179
26
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tripadvisor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved our stay. We had considered staying out away from the city. We are so glad we stayed here! It was so convenient for walking to the attractions day or night. The staff was great especially Georgia Rios who was the hostess during the complimentary cocktail/snack hour. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet well stocked and clean. Our room was very nice and clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The attentive staff
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this location based on Tripadvisor reviews. They were definitely accurate and we were very pleased with our weekend stay. We were initially sad to see that the hotel was on the opposite side of the freeway as downtown, but quickly realized that the parking lot lends access to a gate that lets you out on the edge of the Riverwalk area. The hotel is a quick walk to the Alamo, Riverwalk, Alamodome, etc. Our King sized room was spacious, well appointed, very clean, and filled with all the amenities we needed (hair dryer, shampoo, charging station, and free wifi). The free breakfast buffet was even more elaborate than the typical free breakfasts found at other hotels (eggs, potatoes, etc). Overall a wonderful stay. We will surely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during our family vacation. We decided to make it our home base while visiting San Antonio, so we were here for 6 nights. Here are some thoughts...

My kids spent plenty of time in the pool and enjoyed it. It was small, but never crowded.
The breakfast service was good. If you didn't get downstairs before 8, seating was a problem. There was a church group that would descend upon the room all at once and they were a little difficult to maneuver around.
The room was very clean, linens fresh and housekeepers very thorough. Always hot water for showers and extra towels on request.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided directions, suggestions and coupons anytime.
The walk to the river walk/Alamo is a few blocks, just go through the gate in the parking lot. Expect a lot of walking. It's easier than finding parking just a few blocks closer.
This was a great stay. Definitely recommend for families.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a nice hotel that is marked down for a few minor things.

The hotel doesn't have the feel of being in the best part of town, but I should emphasise we had no problems.
The welcome was pleasant and we were directed to a nice room. The hotel is next to the freeway, so don't expect great views.

First real problem: Internet was very poor. I had to stand in the corridor to make a connection and then couldn't move very far down the room without losing the connection. Querying this with reception just got a vague "We can reset it when a manager comes in".

We got directions to the river walk, 5-10 minutes walk under the freeway and into town.

Second problem was that breakfast finishes at 9:30, which I think is a bit early for a predominantly tourist hotel. Also, no mention of the breakfast hours was made to us so we only got down at 09:20.
The third problem was that at 09:20 they already had the breakfast area roped off (people still inside) and were clearing away all the food.

Room Tip: If internet is important I would ask when checking in. Our room, 417 was very poor. It is about ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The check-in staff were friendly. The room was clean and spacious. The "city view" turned out to be more highway than city, and the pool was rather small. Breakfast was a crowded mess, due to a church group descending on and devouring everything in sight, and I'm sure the staff did their best to compensate but the space was limited, so there was only one waffle iron. All-in-all, it was what one expects from a Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent place to stay. Super clean and a has a wonderful staff to boost. After spending a day on river walk, we came back and had a pleasant surprise. They had wine, beer, crackers, fruit, cheese for a snack. I will be back even though it is several blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, leisure, business, conventions, etc. It is also only 1 mile from the Alamodome. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave & refrigerator. Not to mention, every room includes FREE breakfast & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. We also have a complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs with FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres from 5-7pm. Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. This Comfort Suites also has a heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.