We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but it's not on the Riverwalk.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 10% & FREE PARKING!
Ranked #15 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but it's not on the Riverwalk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We assumed with the name comfort Suites Riverwalk, that the hotel was on the riverwalk. It was not. It was walkable, but one of our friends had a broken foot, so we had to take a taxi. It was only $6 each way, but we wanting walk out the door and be on the riverwalk. The room itself was very nice and fairly large. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view...not so hot. We looked at I-35. I will say, that Even though we were a block away from the interstate, there was no traffic noise in the room. Very well insulated.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    156
    53
    13
    5
See reviews for
255
200
27
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I Recently Took A Trip From Michigan To Corpus Christi That Entailed Staying At 5 Different Hotels.This Hotel Had The Best Staff, Cleanest Rooms, Best Breakfast, And It Was Located In A Place That You Are Not Paying The "Premium Price" Of The Other Hotels Closer To The Riverwalk. It Was Only Three Blocks Away From All The Attractions By The Alamo. My Kids Loved The Pool And My Wife And I Loved The Hot Tub! Thank You For Making Our Time That We Spent At The Hotel Very Comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Four of us (one adult and three older teens) stayed the first week in April. I don't think you can beat it for the price. Staff was very friendly, room was decent, and it was within walking distance to all of the attractions. We didn't have any problem with the parking, nor the walk to or from the Riverwalk (even returning at night around 10pm). Our room faced the freeway and there was no real noise issue. Would stay here again and recommend to others. I didn't get a chance to eat the breakfast, but the kids said it was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in San Antonio for our vacation. My husband, my 2 sons and I really had ha great time. The hotel staff were very helpful. The breakfast was great, they even had waffles in the shape of the state of Texas. Everything was clean and well maintained. The hotel was in walking distance of all the area attractions. We would definitely stay agin if ever back in the area.

The bed and pillows were great!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The parking lot is under the freeway and the hotel is a stones throw from the raised interstate. Very noisy, I will add. While staying at this hotel, we walked to the river walk which is a very long walk. They offer a shuttle, I recommend taking it. Anyhow, while staying at this hotel we were approached by a homeless person asking for money, they were either drunk or on drugs and couldn't open their eyes and were falling all over themselves. Scared my children, and myself. After reading the good reviews on trip advisor i feel misinformed. Im considering not using trip advisor anymore after this unsafe experience. Anyhow, This happened while walking out of the parking lot. Then my husband was approached by a man trying to sell him drivers license and social security cards in the parking lot. The floors of our hotel room were quite filthy, would actually make our feet black. San Antonio is a lovely town with many wonderful hotels that are actually on the river walk, as they say. Next time we will stay at one of those.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Comfort Suites was top notch! From Georgia Rios the hostess, Jessie (maintance & shuttle driver) to Cory at the front desk...they were all wonderful. The room was clean and very comfortable, the maids did a great job each day. We used the pool and the hot tub and they both were clean and just the right temp. The sitting area around the pool is great for winding down at the end of the day. The wine, beer and cheese spread Tuesday-Thursday night is awesome! Everyone at this hotel goes out of there way to make sure that your every need is taken care of. Please don't hesitate to stay here and if anyone has questions I would be happy to answer them if I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First of all we loved the room!!! very clean and spacious. very comfortable beds and loved that there was a fridge and microwave and sitting area in every room! great for families with kids!! the pool and hot tub was very clean and very nice! really nice workout room even though we were on vacation and only used it once! ha! although the hotel is not directly on the river walk we walked there many times its a very easy and beautiful walk to downtown, very close to a ton of nice restaurants and the mall. the putting green by the pool was really cool and they even provide putters and golf balls. the hotel was nicely located, was easy to get to six flags, air force base, malls, movies,etc.
I would like to mention a few names in reference to customer service... we based our decision to stay at this hotel from conversation with megan while we were at home trying to decide which out of the many hotels in the area we wanted to choose. sometimes if it is your first time to a city this can be very nerve racking, maybe scared you are going to drive cross country and the hotel isnt what it seemed like by pictures, etc.. she was very patient the 5 times we called before we hit the "confirm" button, very thorough with info, we felt she was very honest about the city of san antonio and the accommodations of the hotel and was very sweet and didnt make me feel like i was asking to many questions. my husband approached cory on 3rd shift about an issue and he went over and above to help us with this issue and was also very kind and very professional and all about customer service gave us great ideas of places to go and great directions on how to get there, and he also was kind enough to slip us a nice personal message to thank us for staying with them, LOVED that!! melissa was a very professional manager and showed true leadership with the operations of the hotel. i also want to say the housekeepers were awesome very polite and respectful to our belongings, we didnt worry a bit leaving cherished items in our room when we werent there, the breakfast supervisor georgia was outstanding. the food was great and they have texas shaped waffles! very cool ;) based on the people we met and the quality of the hotel and customer service we will most definitely be back to stay each time we go to visit our daughter in the Air Force, one other thing that was really awesome was that for our daughters boot camp graduation, even though she wasnt staying there with us, they had a wonderful cake made just to show they appreciate her service, very touching. Tara and Mike, Sevierville, TN

Room Tip: all rooms are suites with sitting area. the whole hotel was always quiet (very sound proof)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, leisure, business, conventions, etc. It is also only 1 mile from the Alamodome. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave & refrigerator. Not to mention, every room includes FREE breakfast & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. We also have a complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs with FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres from 5-7pm. Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. This Comfort Suites also has a heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.