We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Far The Best Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PACKAGE! SAVE OVER 25%!!
Ranked #8 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“By Far The Best Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I Recently Took A Trip From Michigan To Corpus Christi That Entailed Staying At 5 Different Hotels.This Hotel Had The Best Staff, Cleanest Rooms, Best Breakfast, And It Was Located In A Place That You Are Not Paying The "Premium Price" Of The Other Hotels Closer To The Riverwalk. It Was Only Three Blocks Away From All The Attractions By The Alamo. My Kids Loved The Pool And My Wife And I Loved The Hot Tub! Thank You For Making Our Time That We Spent At The Hotel Very Comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    176
    59
    18
    6
See reviews for
294
242
31
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Four of us (one adult and three older teens) stayed the first week in April. I don't think you can beat it for the price. Staff was very friendly, room was decent, and it was within walking distance to all of the attractions. We didn't have any problem with the parking, nor the walk to or from the Riverwalk (even returning at night around 10pm). Our room faced the freeway and there was no real noise issue. Would stay here again and recommend to others. I didn't get a chance to eat the breakfast, but the kids said it was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in San Antonio for our vacation. My husband, my 2 sons and I really had ha great time. The hotel staff were very helpful. The breakfast was great, they even had waffles in the shape of the state of Texas. Everything was clean and well maintained. The hotel was in walking distance of all the area attractions. We would definitely stay agin if ever back in the area.

The bed and pillows were great!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The parking lot is under the freeway and the hotel is a stones throw from the raised interstate. Very noisy, I will add. While staying at this hotel, we walked to the river walk which is a very long walk. They offer a shuttle, I recommend taking it. Anyhow, while staying at this hotel we were approached by a homeless person asking for money, they were either drunk or on drugs and couldn't open their eyes and were falling all over themselves. Scared my children, and myself. After reading the good reviews on trip advisor i feel misinformed. Im considering not using trip advisor anymore after this unsafe experience. Anyhow, This happened while walking out of the parking lot. Then my husband was approached by a man trying to sell him drivers license and social security cards in the parking lot. The floors of our hotel room were quite filthy, would actually make our feet black. San Antonio is a lovely town with many wonderful hotels that are actually on the river walk, as they say. Next time we will stay at one of those.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Comfort Suites was top notch! From Georgia Rios the hostess, Jessie (maintance & shuttle driver) to Cory at the front desk...they were all wonderful. The room was clean and very comfortable, the maids did a great job each day. We used the pool and the hot tub and they both were clean and just the right temp. The sitting area around the pool is great for winding down at the end of the day. The wine, beer and cheese spread Tuesday-Thursday night is awesome! Everyone at this hotel goes out of there way to make sure that your every need is taken care of. Please don't hesitate to stay here and if anyone has questions I would be happy to answer them if I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First of all we loved the room!!! very clean and spacious. very comfortable beds and loved that there was a fridge and microwave and sitting area in every room! great for families with kids!! the pool and hot tub was very clean and very nice! really nice workout room even though we were on vacation and only used it once! ha! although the hotel is not directly on the river walk we walked there many times its a very easy and beautiful walk to downtown, very close to a ton of nice restaurants and the mall. the putting green by the pool was really cool and they even provide putters and golf balls. the hotel was nicely located, was easy to get to six flags, air force base, malls, movies,etc.
I would like to mention a few names in reference to customer service... we based our decision to stay at this hotel from conversation with megan while we were at home trying to decide which out of the many hotels in the area we wanted to choose. sometimes if it is your first time to a city this can be very nerve racking, maybe scared you are going to drive cross country and the hotel isnt what it seemed like by pictures, etc.. she was very patient the 5 times we called before we hit the "confirm" button, very thorough with info, we felt she was very honest about the city of san antonio and the accommodations of the hotel and was very sweet and didnt make me feel like i was asking to many questions. my husband approached cory on 3rd shift about an issue and he went over and above to help us with this issue and was also very kind and very professional and all about customer service gave us great ideas of places to go and great directions on how to get there, and he also was kind enough to slip us a nice personal message to thank us for staying with them, LOVED that!! melissa was a very professional manager and showed true leadership with the operations of the hotel. i also want to say the housekeepers were awesome very polite and respectful to our belongings, we didnt worry a bit leaving cherished items in our room when we werent there, the breakfast supervisor georgia was outstanding. the food was great and they have texas shaped waffles! very cool ;) based on the people we met and the quality of the hotel and customer service we will most definitely be back to stay each time we go to visit our daughter in the Air Force, one other thing that was really awesome was that for our daughters boot camp graduation, even though she wasnt staying there with us, they had a wonderful cake made just to show they appreciate her service, very touching. Tara and Mike, Sevierville, TN

Room Tip: all rooms are suites with sitting area. the whole hotel was always quiet (very sound proof)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant stay at Comfort Suites. Day clerk all days we were there was very helpful with suggestions for getting around the city. The breakfast room was always well stocked and fresh. It was one of the nicest I've seen. The wine and cheese reception midweek was well presented and welcome: fresh fruit, cheese, wine, beer, chips and salsa.
Although the hotel is very close to the interstate, we did not notice any highway noise. All staff we encountered during our visit were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#15 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#4 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,892 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#21 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VOTED "BEST Value Downtown" because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus! FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres during our complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm.Update! NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed!Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, Military, leisure, business, conventions, etc. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base, Ft Sam Medical Courses, family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the Zoo, Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.