We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a professional traveler this hotel rates an A+ all the way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% + FREE PARKING+BRKFST
Ranked #10 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Bellville, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As a professional traveler this hotel rates an A+ all the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great place to stay if your visiting the Alamo/Riverwalk area of San Antonio. The hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and Riverwalk area and has an hourly shuttle also that will take you to the area. The rooms are great, clean and comfortable. The staff is very knowledgable and happy to assist you in with directions or sites to see. A great breakfast with large comfortable area to enjoy it starts out the day. Covered parking just outside the back door keeps your vehicle cool on hot days! The staff is very pleasant and helpful with all your needs, the beds are very comfortable and the hotel as a whole is very clean and neat. Rates are unbeatable in this location and just a short walk to the Alamo and all the sites you want to see. A Awesome Hotel for your San Antonio stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and could see the Tower of Americas from our room. No noise from the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    160
    54
    14
    5
See reviews for
261
209
27
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Although I did not get a king size bed which I reserved, they made up for it in other ways. The breakfast was always fresh and well put together. Georgia Rios who took care of it all was like my mom making sure we were well fed before we went out into the world. Thanks Georgia. The walk to the riverwalk was not a big deal even getting back at night. The room was clean as well as the rest of the hotel. Definitely will go back.

Room Tip: verify your room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamsville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in San Antonio, some very expensive and some not. This hotel and the staff were absolutely wonderful. I would recommend it to everyone. This was our second time to stay and we could not ask for more in a hotel. All the staff were so very friendly and helpful. The rooms were awesome! We when visit San Antonio, we will always come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings. We were disappointed in the location not only being a considerable walk to attractions but the mere fact that it was not secured, you had to walk under the interstate in a questionable area, and the view from our room was of the back of a billboard. The room was not ready when we arrived and we were told it would be after the usual check in time before they were clean. So we walked for hours to and from an area that the front desk told us was close by. She said nothing of a shuttle being available nor how the shuttle or trolley system worked.
Our room size was very nice, and the bed was comfortable. There was ALOT of road noise as we were facing the Interstate and heard it all night. Our shower curtain rod was barely hanging on and we didn't have adequate shampoos or products in the room. Several light bulbs were burned out in our room as well.
Then upon check out, there was a discrepancy regarding the parking fee that we were told we wouldn't have to pay because of our room type. The same front desk girl told me she would reimburse my Visa and call and email me within 10mins that it had been corrected. Two hours later, I called her and she said the Manager would have to take care of it and would call me back that day. Never heard from her. So I called the next day, left a message for the Manager...never heard back. Called again the next day, and she wasn't in......
Very disappointing customer service from the front desk AND the manager as my issue still has NOT been resolved!
Will NOT stay here again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding you experience at our hotel.
Our staff works relentlessly on a daily basis to provide each guest with the best service possible, and it is unfortunate that you happened to experience a rarity regarding your service experience at our hotel and we would gladly like to demonstrate this to you if you give us another chance during your future travels to downtown San Antonio. Everyone at our hotel does everything possible to ensure every guest is taken care of; moreover, we have recently completed thorough improvements around our hotel from our new fitness center to our newly shampooed carpets and whole lot more.
I am sorry to hear that you were unaware that we are not located directly on the Riverwalk. Our hotel uses Alamo/Riverwalk in the title in order to give tourists a frame of reference for the hotel's location, because our hotel is in fact 4 blocks from both of these locations. Since some tourists would like to stay directly on the Riverwalk, we try to curb this confusion by explicitly informing our potential guests of this 4 block distance on TripAdvisor.com, ChoiceHotels.com, ComfortSuitesSA.com(hotel website) so the guests are aware of this before placing any reservation. We also have interactive Google maps on all 3 sites in order for guests to figure out where we are located in downtown San Antonio.
Regarding the security of our hotel - once again, I am sorry to hear that you felt unsafe walking at night to and from downtown. We are located right at the corner of East Houston St. (also known as "The Alamo Exit") and Live Oak St. Most of our guests actually don't mind walking through our parking lot which happens to be conveniently covered by I-37 (protecting cars from the elements) to get to and from downtown, and many of our guests enjoy the walk as they get to sight-see in downtown before reaching the Riverwalk. Moreover, we do have a limited shuttle available to our guests for downtown commuting as well as a trolley stop 1 block from our hotel that will take tourists all around downtown for $1 per ride/per person.
Once again, thank you for your feedback as we will do our best to ensure our high quality service standards are always maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have come to SA every year for a convention since 1986. Most people attending the convention stay in the large high rise hotels directly adjacent to the convention center. This year, I found this Comfort Inn online and took a chance. it is a short walk to the convention center. They also provide a free shuttle service. The franchise is family owned. owner, Sherry introduced herself to me as she was serving complimentary champagne Valentines Day evening. it is by far the nicest Comfort Inn I have ever stayed in. it has some personal touches that Sherry has brought to the franchise. They had complimentary beer, wine and appetizers two of the nights during my stay. The staff is very good and obviously well managed. I highly recommend this alternative to the more expensive and less personable competitors down the street. I will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with comments regarding your stay with us at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio, TX. Moreover, we are extremely happy and proud to hear that you have converted from using our high-rise competitors to using our property from now on during your convention visits each year. Our hotel was built as close as we could possible build it to the Riverwalk based on the limited available land in downtown; therefore, we do provide our limited shuttle service and nearby trolley information to all our guest - but the walk is doable and enjoyable for most. Sherry definitely worked hard to create the ambiance and aesthetics of a rustic Mediterranean villa, as she designed the entirety of the hotel's decor. Also, all the management and owners interact with the guests as much as possible as we all enjoy meeting and socializing with our guests who have chosen to stay with us. Our "Manager's Wine & Cheese Reception" takes place every Tues-Thurs from 5-7PM in order to help take the edge off for our guests or to get the party started before our guests head off to the Riverwalk, and the owners/management finds this to be a great opportunity to meet all our guests. Lastly, we are very pleased to hear that you believe this is the nicest Comfort Suites that you have ever stayed at, as we truly do our best on a daily basis to not only outshine our competitors but to ensure all our guests are satisfied. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We traveled to Texas for the first time in January and were treated like family at the Comfort Suites Alamo/ Riverwalk. Upon check-in, we were given perfect directions to nearby attractions. We were literally blocks away from the Alamo! After sight seeing, there was wine and cheese made available for quests. Nice touch! After touring the beautiful city of San Antonio and the Riverwalk, and loving its beauty and proud citizens, we returned to the hotel and the clerk on duty was very polite and accommodating. He helped us arrange for a cab for the next morning at 4:00 am and made us aware of the breakfast goodie bag that was available in the morning for early risers. When we departed, we received a bag with bottled water, an apple, breakfast bar, and other thoughtful treats. Again, nice touch! Please take time to visit San Antonio, Texas and make sure to stay at this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel in downtown San Antonio, TX. We sincerely appreciate all your wonderfully positive comments about our hotel and our staff, as everyone at our hotel truly tries to satisfy all of our guests to the best of their ability. I am glad to hear that our staff proactively informed you about all the directions, transportation, and tourist destinations options near our hotel as well as our Manager's Wine & Cheese reception along with the "grab n' go!" bag for the early risers. Once again, thank you again for taking the time to detail your pleasant experience at our hotel online, and we hope to see you again in your future travels to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, OK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Absolutely GREAT location for a weekend visit to San Antonio Riverwalk. So relaxing and stress free. Close enough to the Alamo/Riverwalk that we never even used the shuttle that is provided by the hotel. Walked to the River Center mall on more than one occasion as well. Very Clean!! Very Spacious rooms!! The hotel staff was an absolute delight!! Georgia ROCKS your breakfast experience and takes care of you like family!! Can't wait for our next trip to visit our Airman and we will definitely be staying here again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Alamo side don't have as much highway noise. Our room was on the freeway side but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post such positive remarks about our hotel on TripAdvisor, and we are glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at our hotel during your visit to downtown San Antonio. We are happy to hear that you found our location "perfect" for your weekend stay, as we try to compensate for not being directly located on the Riverwalk by providing the limited shuttle (drop-offs only into downtown) to our guests Monday - Saturday from 9am-9pm leaving every hour on the hour while also providing our guests with trolley information which only stops 1 block from our hotel. We are also very glad to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations with our large, clean rooms along with our free full hot breakfast spread every morning. I will make sure that Georgia as well as the rest of our staff hear about your wonderful comments. Well we hope that you decide to visit your airman soon as we enjoy serving you as well as all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "BEST Value Downtown" because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus! FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres during our complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm.Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, Military, leisure, business, conventions, etc. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base, Ft Sam Medical Courses, family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the Zoo, Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.