We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 10% & FREE PARKING!
Ranked #14 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. The people that work there are terrific. They were very friendly and I felt at home being there. There was access to internet in the lobby. There was free hot breakfast that was tasty and a good variety. They had a wine and cheese three nights out of the week and it was nice to mingle with the other guests. There was a shuttle to the mall, and other attractions. There was laundry facilities (but you had to pay to use it) The room was clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed the King size pillow top bed. Now I want one at home. I would recommend this hotel if you are travelling to San Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments about our hotel and your stay experience with us at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio, TX. From an owner's perspective, it is wonderful to hear that guests had such positive experiences interacting with our staff, as they work diligently work to satisfy every guest at our hotel. We are also pleased to hear that you found all our amenities useful during you stay and that you were able to experience our complimentary Manager's Reception. It is truly great to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel, and we hope that you decided to stay with us whenever you travel to San Antonio again. Thank you again for providing us with your very positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    140
    47
    13
    6
See reviews for
238
175
25
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this Comfort Suites. I like to stay at Comfort Suites when I travel because of their consistency and good value but this hotel is at the top of the list in my book. Looked clean enough to eat off the floor. Centrally located and just walking distance from the Riverwalk. That was important since this was a pleasure trip for us instead of business. Great breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our hotel during your stay with us in Downtown San Antonio, TX. It is great to hear that we are now on the "top of your list" for Comfort Suites hotels, and we hope to deliver that same consistent service and value if you stay with us in the future. We are very pleased that you found our location convenient although we are not located directly on the Riverwalk (just a few blocks away). Moreover, there is plenty of transportation options available to guests that do not want to walk, such as our free limited shuttle (drop offs only), downtown bus/trolley that stops 1 block from the hotel and travels all through downtown, and the downtown taxis - all of these are convenient and inexpensive, and our front desk staff can answer all your questions about transportation. Thank you again for providing us with feedback from your experience at our the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk in Downtown San Antonio, TX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I chose the Comfort Suites Riverwalk/Alamo for a family vacation. We had 4 rooms for a total of 15 room nights. Our stay was perfect from check-in to check-out. We were greeted upon check-in by Sherry Chaudhry, owner/GM who provided us with a detailed map marking must see attractions/restaurants. The continental breakfast had a great variety and was constantly restocked by friendly staff. The rooms were large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by the New Year's Eve celebration for guests and staff which included a great view of the fireworks display. From check in to check out the entire staff was friendly and accommodating. It is about a 5 block walk to riverwalk we enjoyed the walk but there is a shuttle available if needed. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post comments about your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your whole stay experience at our hotel for your family was a memorable one. It is good to hear that you were pleased with the staff-guest interaction that you encountered including meeting one of the owners. Most importantly, we are glad that you had such an enjoyable experience that you would "definitely recommend this hotel" and that you had a great New Year's Eve celebration. Again, thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are traveling on business or pleasure, this is a terrific hotel. From the check in to the check out, you will be happy. The rooms are large and have all the ammenities you would expect at the most expensive hotel. The breakfast and happy hour are great and this property is the crown jewel of Comfort Suites we have ever stayed at. The staff made sure that all our needs were met and they also provide transportation to any of the riverwalk shopping and best restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms are so large and all suites. The bathrooms are well appointed and very upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your candid remarks regarding your very pleasant experience at our hotel. From the day we started construction on our hotel until the present, we have done our best to implement as many upgrades into the decor of our hotel in order to provide an authentic Mediterranean-style ambiance with all real, imported materials for our furniture and fixtures. All of our staff members also continually strive to deliver the best service to all guests, and the management also interacts with our guests (especially during the Manager's Wine & Cheese Reception Tues-Thurs 5-7PM). We humbly appreciate your thought of our hotel as "the crown jewel of Comfort Suites," and we will continue to do our best to deliver good service at a good value to our guests. Again, we sincerely appreciate all your kind words about our hotel, and we hope that you find time to visit Downtown San Antonio and to stay with us again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We were impressed with the hostess, Georgia Rios. Her friendliness and energy level kept the breakfast area supplied and made it a happy place to start the day. Although it is listed as the Alamo/Riverwalk, it is located 4-5 blocks away. A shuttle service TO some locations is provided, but the return trip is up to you. The rooms are very nice, but the air conditioner, which is digital, would not keep the room cool. The front desk staff was very helpful along with the shuttle driver. We had a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your stay at our hotel in Downtown San Antonio, TX. It is good to hear that you were very pleased by not only our breakfast but the hostess in charge of our Food & Beverage. Every staff member at our hotel does their best to provide all our guests with the best service possible and it is good to hear that it shows. Regarding the shuttle, we do only do drop offs into the downtown area, but there is also a very cheap bus/trolley that conveniently stops 1 block from our hotel and it travels all around downtown ($1 one-way or $4 all day pass). Also, Taxis to and from our hotel into the downtown area are rarely more than $10. Overall, we are glad to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here Christmas night. I commented to my wife that this could be the best motel we've ever stayed at. Huge rooms. Great view. Walking distance to the riverwalk. Nice kitchen and breakfast. The price was very acceptable for the level of accomadation. Would definately go back Winner. Used room 512

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view. Quieter also with no one stomping around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at our hotel on Christmas, and we thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are truly appreciative of your praise about our hotel being "the best motel [you've] ever stay at." We really do our best to provide our guests with the best service and as much value as possible at no additional cost to the guests. I am glad to hear you think our hotel is a winner, and we hope that you do decide to stay with us again in your future travels to Downtown San Antonio, TX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's location is why we chose it even though we thought it was pricey but when we got in the hotel it was clean and cozy. The suites are roomy, comfortable & modern, the bathroom is acceptably clean, although the shower head looked like it came from a camping ground in the woods. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to people who want to visit the Alamo, Riverwalk, its even a 15min drive to Seaworld.
On a side note: Georgia, the one who takes care of the breakfast area, she treated everyone like family. It felt that you where in your friend's house & her mom is happy to feed you. Georgia is a gem, highly commendable & deserves a raise!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with comments about your pleasant experience at our hotel in Downtown San Antonio. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything from our rooms to the breakfast - and we will make sure that our breakfast hostess hears about your praise. Also, it is true that our location is convenient even though we are not directly located on the Riverwalk, but we are walking distance to the Riverwalk and all the main attractions while also adjacent to I-37 for easy access to and from the highway in order to visit Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Seaworld, San Antonio Zoo, Lackland AFB, Ft Sam Houston, local malls etc. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope that you decide to stay with us again in your future travels to Downtown San Antonio, TX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, leisure, business, conventions, etc. It is also only 1 mile from the Alamodome. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave & refrigerator. Not to mention, every room includes FREE breakfast & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. We also have a complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs with FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres from 5-7pm. Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. This Comfort Suites also has a heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.