We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhonda G” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE 10% & FREE PARKING!
Ranked #10 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Madison, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rhonda G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff at Comfort Suites were top notch and the service was as well. Room and all facilities were spotless and beautiful. Breakfast was great. I was here on a business trip but loved the hotel so much I am planning a personal trip and will definitely make it a destination for my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such thoughtful and positive comment about your experience at our hotel in downtown San Antonio. We are very pleased to hear that your stay during your business travels went well, and we hope you do book your future accommodations at our hotel during your next personal trip to San Antonio, TX. Please reach out to the management or staff while you book your next trip here and we will do our best to exceed your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    422
    138
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
234
173
25
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Three families chose the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to meet and stay for our vacation in Dec 2012. One family from Indiana and two from North Carolina. We wanted a reasonably priced place to stay that was within a short distance to the Riverwalk. We are so happy with our choice. It was evident upon checking in that Manuel behind the counter was there to help us in any way he could. He took care of checking us in, but more than that, he made us feel welcome right away. He answered all of the questions we had related to our plans, giving us direction and assistance with amenities that were at our diposal, including free shuttle to the areas we were interested in going to. He was a perfect beginning to our stay here (and he continued with the same help and friendly service throughout our stay). Great customer service did not end there. The staff at the morning breakast was also very attentive to our needs. It was easy to see with the way they would greet you, offer their assistance, and just the positive attitude each one would display as they went about performing their service. Georgia and the entire staff really made us feel welcome each morning when we arrived for breakfast. Once as I was standing and deciding what I might like to have for breakfast, Georgia immediately asked if I needed any assistance with anything and if she could be of any help. We also had the fortune to meet Sherry the owner, and it quickly became evident why all of the staff placed such importance on customer service. Sherry made us feel like valued guests, and any opinions that we had, good or bad, were of value to her. As we chatted with Sherry, her attitude towards customer service was so evident that it was easy to see why it has successfully filtered to each member of her staff. We were within walking distance of the Riverwalk, but their shuttle was an option as well if walking a few blocks is not your desire. There were many items to choose from for breakfast, all good tasting and good quality. Our room was vey spacious and comfortable, and the beds slept very nicely. The heated pool and hot tub were very enjoyable, including a nice, covered seating area by the pool. If you're looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in this area, I think you would enjoy your stay at what we felt was a very nice place that puts such a high value on customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are very pleased to hear that you such an amazing time at our hotel during your get-together with your different families, and we sincerely appreciate your thorough, candid feedback about your experience. I am very happy that all of our staff did what they could to meet your needs from arrival to departure. We truly try to foster the highest level of service for each instance of guest-staff interaction, because we understand that guest will expect certain amenities or specific questions answered about the area - and I am very proud of how hard our staff works to accomplish and meet these guest expectations. I am most proud of the fact that you remember so much about our staff, including their names, as they are the ones who maintain the high quality service at our hotel on a daily basis. Moreover, we appreciate all your compliments about the hotel's features and amenities as we are doing "light" remodeling to the hotel currently (including we have just installed all brand new Precor fitness equipment). Overall, I am overwhelmed that your trip to San Antonio was so memorable, and we truly hope that you and your friends make the time to visit us again in your future travels. Thank you again for all your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk for the NCAA Soccer Tournament. Our room was spotless, the staff was extremely accommodating while providing us with maps and other information about the area, and the location was perfect. While not on the Riverwalk, the location was so close that walking to the Alamo and Riverwalk were very enjoyable while providing us with some exercise. The continental breakfast was very tasty and the staff on duty continued to refill the items. The Texas-shaped waffles were an added bonus. The queen size mattresses provided excellent support and comfort. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to San Antonio.

Chuck and Leslie
Pennsylvania

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you providing us with comments about your recent stay at our hotel, and we are glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us in downtown San Antonio, TX. It is encouraging that you had excellent stay all-around at our hotel, as we try our best to make sure every thing is as perfect as possible from the cleanliness of the rooms to the quality of the breakfast each morning. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk around downtown, because there is so much to see everywhere in downtown this time of year with the lights in Alamo Plaza as well as along the River Walk. Well, we hope you don't wait too long to visit us again in San Antonio, but still appreciate you kind comments about our hotel and your experience in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The front desk staff was great when I checked in, they got me downtown in the courtsey van right away and gave me great tips on where to go. The room was awesome. For that price I expected a small room, but I got a huge suite. The breakfast was great.
They made me feel special. I will definately stay at the Comfort Suite in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to post your feedback as it truly helps from a management perspective, as we can ensure the property and the staff are meeting your needs. I am glad to hear that you found the value of our hotel exceptional for the price you paid. We do try to provide our guests with as many free amenities, such as the limited shuttle, deluxe breakfast, and high speed wi-fi, because we do not like adding hidden costs to customers' bills throughout their stay. We also try our best to create a personal connection with our guests in order to better serve them, and I hope you truly felt this way by the end of your stay. We hope you visit San Antonio again soon and that you remember to stay with us at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk in Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently spent a couple of days in San Antonio, TX attending the Holiday Lighting of the Riverwalk. We had reservations at the Comfort Suites and were very pleased with the accommodations. The staff was very friendly and immediately fulfilled our requests. We had a great breakfast every morning and coffee all day long. Be sure and try the Texas shaped waffle. It's a treat that can't be beat. Both of our adjoining suites were very clean, had pleanty of towels and nice bedding. The shuttle driver took us right down to the Riverwalk, to our restaurant. It was nice not to have to drive through the crowded streets. We visit San Antonio several times a year and the Comfort Suites are the only place we stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you were able to visit San Antonio during the Lighting Ceremony on the Riverwalk as it is such a special time in Downtown San Antonio, especially if you get to see the River Parade. However, the new lighting design installed on the Riverwalk will be up through the New Year, so we encourage everyone to stop by Downtown to witness this spectacular time of year in the heart of Texas. Moreover, it is very pleasing to hear that you had such an amazing time in San Antonio as well as at our hotel and we hope that you continue to visit our wonderful city and continue staying with us at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk. Thank you again posting your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were at this hotal fromOct 5 till oct 10th. the front desk Ana was there every time we need help. answered are question and help with comment to place we should see.
The Breakfast staff of Georga and Megan was very helpful if we needed anything. Greeted us everytime they so us, made us feel like we where friends, nice when you spend that long of time in the some place.
We meet most of the upper management staff, thay where very nice and helpful. Even after the bus accient, keep there cool, let us know what was going on.

We will let are friends and family know how great are stay was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that our staff was very helpful and pleasant to you regarding your question as well as during our breakfast. It is our goal to make everyone feel that they are truly comfortable with our accommodations as well as our staff and to develop personal connections with them. This personal connection allows our staff to be able to better serve our guests and typically allows the guests to feel more comfortable approaching our staff with any questions or concerns they may have. Moreover; it is unfortunate that you had to experience the bus accident near the hotel but most importantly we are extremely grateful that no one was hurt on the bus or in the hotel. We are glad that you were able to look past this uncontrollable event and still enjoy your time at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk and in the Downtown San Antonio area. We hope that you return soon, as the holiday season is upon us and the River Walk truly becomes a magical place this time of year. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Within walking distance to several attractions. If I'm ever in San Antonio again I will definitly stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your positive experience from our hotel in downtown San Antonio. I'm glad that you found our accommodations very comfortable and close enough to all the major attractions downtown - as we are only 3 blocks from the Alamo & Riverwalk. However, we do also a complimentary limited shuttle service that can drop guests off into the downtown area, but it does not do pick-ups. Transportation downtown San Antonio is very convenient and affordable besides our limited shuttle and our fantastic guest service staff is able to help you with more details at the front desk if you ask. Well we hope you do decide to travel back to San Antonio soon and to stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, leisure, business, conventions, etc. It is also only 1 mile from the Alamodome. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave & refrigerator. Not to mention, every room includes FREE breakfast & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. We also have a complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs with FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres from 5-7pm. Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. This Comfort Suites also has a heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.