We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE 10% & FREE PARKING!
Ranked #11 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Grand Prairie, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful - home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel and bill be staying there again on our next visit to San Antonio. Soon after we checked in, we were greeted by the owner, who then gave us some complimentary tickets to a boat ride. The front desk staff, shuttle drivers, food manager all obviously enjoyed their employment at this hotel and were always pleasant when we had questions. The location is convenient, and shuttle service is a big bonus. There is a Manager's Special during the week; and the breakfasts are great - with a variety of selections which vary each day. Our friends had never been to San Antonio before, and the stay at Comfort Suites was a pleasant experience. Can't wait to come back! Love San Antonio too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our hotel and San Antonio and that you plan on staying with us in the future. We do appreciate all your complimentary comments about our staff and our hotel. Also, it is good to hear that our staff was able to help you with all your questions and concerns. I am also glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary Manager's Reception during the week (Tues - Thurs 5-7pm) as well as our free full hot breakfast in the morning. The riverboat is also a good way to showoff the river to friends and family, so I hope that y'all enjoyed the boat ride and were able to experience most of the Riverwalk. We hope you and your friends don't wait too long to return to San Antonio. Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback about your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    145
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
249
178
26
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located just east of I - 35 in down town S. A., this motel is four stories, and has covered parking under the freeway. A big deal in the summer! I did not notice freeway noise, since I was on the East end. Breakfast was hot and adequate selection, nothing fancy. Entire property was clean and fresh. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from freeway, top floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your candid feedback about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our property, our breakfast selection, as well as our covered parking adjacent to the hotel. I do want to clarify one small thing though - we are actually located just East of I-37 in downtown San Antonio (Alamo Exit 141B when heading South). We are also a 5-story yellow Mediterranean-style hotel so you can't miss us when you are driving by on I-37; however if anybody needs directions, feel free to contact our Guest Service Staff at the front desk. Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is great. The location is convenient. The staff helpful. The premises kept in great shape.

While we visited San Antonio we stayed here for 4 nights, all were great! Definitely coming to stay again! The owner even have us a ride to the spurs game and showed local travel options!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It is delightful to us all that you had such a fantastic time at our hotel during your 4 night stay in San Antonio, and we sincerely appreciate you kind comments about our hotel and staff. It is also great to that our hardworking staff were able to help you as well as make sure the hotel grounds were properly maintained throughout your stay. It is exciting that the Spurs season is firing up again, so we hope to see many more basketball fans stay at our hotel as the season presses on because we are one of the closest hotels to the AT&T Center. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Where do I begin? This was my first trip to San Antonio and I had an awesome time!! I went for the Spurs first home game of this 2012 season. I stayed at the Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk two weeks ago and it was so wonderful. Check in was smooth and easy. My room was large, clean, accommodating, and I didn't mind the view of the highway!! The gentleman at the front desk was so kind, gave me directions and all sorts of useful information. They have a free one-way shuttle to the Riverwalk, and a cab back only cost $4.80!! The hotel had a manager's reception during the week which included red and white wine, beer, cheese, and taquitos!! It was wonderful. The FREE HOT breakfast was so delicious. The waffles were in the shape of Texas! They were so cute and so tasty. There was a buffet of eggs, sausage, ham, cereal, and fruit. Coffee with International Delights cream and orange juice, too. There is an outdoor pool AND a hot tub (both were warm). Parking was $10/night but was covered and safe. Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is close to everything!!! The mall, Riverwalk, Alamo, ATT Center, and various restaurants. I enjoyed my stay and I will be back again!! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, and we appreciate you sharing your comments with us. It appears that you were able to experience most of what our hotel has to offer, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed it all. I'm glad that you took advantage of our hotel staff's local knowledge, the facilities (pool & hot tub), and the amenities (free full hot breakfast). It's also fantastic to hear that you were able to attend a Spurs game at the AT&T Center - We love the Spurs and their fans! Well, we truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and our hotel, and we hope that you come back soon as there is much to do in San Antonio before the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was by far one of the cleanest hotels we've ever stayed at (was even more well kept than many Embassy Suittes & a Marriot we've previously stayed in). The staff was friendly & helpful from the moment I was on the phone making reservations until we checked out after vacation--everyone was so great!! The breakfast spread was excellent, fresh & hot! It is within walking distance of the Alamo & Riverwalk, but if you don't want to walk, the hotel van will drop you off where you want to go! Aaron at the front desk was great, too!
It only took us 15 minutes to get to Sea World from here.
We will definitly be staying here again! These people really care about you & your stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your very positive feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. It is encouraging for our endeavors of providing the best possible service to our guests when you compare us to Embassy Suites and Marriotts. We are also very pleased the our guest service staff were very helpful and left you with positive lasting impression. We are located downtown but we are in fact quite close to Sea World so we do encourage many guests to stay with us in order to get the downtown experience at night while being able to enjoy the theme parks(Sea World & Six Flags Fiesta Texas) and other attractions during the day. Well, we really enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope you return the next time you visit San Antonio. Thank you again for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel truly represents a standard of excellence in every category. It is located near the center of activities and attractions. The quality of construction and design is first rate. The furnishing and services are superior. The owner, Sherry M. Chaudhry, is a consummate hostess who will welcome you warmly. She and her staff really put guest services first. Don't miss an opportunity to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your very kind feedback and we are pleased to hear that you had such a great time with your family at our hotel in San Antonio. All our staff truly tries to engage our guests in order to find out more about them in order to help and provide them with custom tailored information regarding location attractions, restaurants, and directions. I am glad that you and your family felt warmly welcomed and we hope that you don't forget to stop by the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk the next time you visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

First off, I have never had the owner of hotel come up and ask how we enjoyed our stay. I was staying in San Antonio for my son's Air Force graduation. Sherry (the owner) checked on our group outside the pool area. During the discussion she asked how we were and why we were in town. Upon mentioning my son's AF graduation she asked if we would mind a cake and a bottle of champagne. Wonderful people, all helpful with directions and any needs. Aaron at the desk was very helpful. Good location 3 blocks from riverwalk. Beautiful hotel and pool area, great happy hour during the week. Only about 15 min. drive to AF base. Larger than most rooms and clean. Only slight neg. was being so close to the expressway, but that is a positive when traveling back and forth from the AF base. Would stay again and recommend.

thanks Sherry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulamanchaudhry, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
The pleasure was all mine. I'm so glad to hear you all had a great time at our hotel in San Antonio, and I really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel and staff. We really enjoy all of the Air Force guests that we accommodate because they are all very kind and friendly, and it is always a pleasure to take care of them the best we can - as with all our guests. We are conveniently located in downtown San Antonio while also being adjacent to I-37 which does make for a quick and easy trip to and from the Air Force Base. We also offer a "Friends and Family" rate to all the Air Force graduation families, so relevant parties need to remember to call the hotel and ask about this rate program.
However, I do digress. It was a pleasure meeting your family, and we hope that you return to the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, leisure, business, conventions, etc. It is also only 1 mile from the Alamodome. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave & refrigerator. Not to mention, every room includes FREE breakfast & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. We also have a complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs with FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres from 5-7pm. Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. This Comfort Suites also has a heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.