We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Camaron Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #81 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed two nights for the incredibly low rate of $109.00 per night. My room was very nice and quiet. I had a coffee pot, a microwave and a mini-frig in my room, which I really liked. It also had free high-speed Wifi connection which worked very, very well. I used the fitness center and found it to have everything I wanted: a treadmill, an elliptical and a reclining bicycle. It was equipped with fresh towels and a water cooler and other small amentities, plus a good sized cable TV. I didn't get a chance to use the pool but I did check it out. I do water exercise so pools are very handy when I travel. The pool is small, you won't be doing laps, in it but if you want to refresh yourself on a hot day or get some water exercise in, it is just fine. The hot breakfast in the morning was GREAT! It was free and it included scrambled eggs, bacon, hot biscuits, sausage gravy, and pancakes. The most hilarious thing that I saw was the "pancake machine." You pressed one button and then two pancakes came out. They were tasty pancakes. Also they had high quality coffee on tap in the lobby 24/7 which I appreciate because I drink coffee non-stop. Another great feature is that it is right by the local Trolley route. The City of San A ntonio funds a trolley route that takes people from hotels to convention centers and the entertainment/restaurant district. I used that instead of a cab and saved a good deal of money. The staff were very helpful and professional. I will definitely stay in this hotel next time I am in San Antonio. What a bargain for a great, comfortable stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for all your comments. I will pass them along to staff members. I hope to see you again soon at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    77
    33
    18
    6
See reviews for
62
57
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We always stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North (120 Camaron Street) when we go to San Antonio. We have season tickets for the Broadway shows at the Majestic Theatre and this hotel is within SAFE walking distance of the River Walk, Market Square, and the Majestic Theatre. If you are a Priority Member, you get free parking, so be sure to sign up for Priority membership. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

This is a historical location--the old jail and the staff wears uniforms that say "Guard," showing their sense of humor.

You can walk to Mi Tierra or La Margarita restaurants or walk down to the River Walk for an amazing assortment of restaurants. You can also take the trolley to further locations such as the Alamo, unless you are looking for a longer walk.

Room Tip: Just be sure to ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the comments about our staff. We all enjoy what we do and enjoy having fun with our history. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

So this hotel used to be a jail, ok, and the front of it facing the street still has the old bars in the windows, other than that you don't get any sense of it being a former jail. The inside is completely modernized and the rooms had all the normal items you could anticipate finding. The top floor room where we stayed had very tall ceilings and no smell of mold or anything. The only bad thing would be that the shower has a limit on the level of hot water that you could turn the handle too and it seemed to always be right at the middle of hot/cold. The other issue with the shower was that since it had the option to remove the handle from the attachment, it moved around and required constant readjustment. AC was cold and the noise was acceptable. Outside noise was not anything outside of what you would expect to find downtown in a big city. It is about 4 blocks to the river walk access but that nothing and you get to site see along the way too. Parking is interesting as you park across the street in a lot and unless you join or are a member of Priority Club rewards program it will cost you $10 per night. The staff can sign you up right at the front desk however and wave that fee. Breakfast is great, it has all the normal things you would want to eat, there are not a lot of tables however so it might be a trip back to your room to eat it, depending on the time you visit the lobby.

Room Tip: Top floor will give you the best possible views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, we were unable to reserve a room on the riverwalk for this weekend( Valentines) so we settled for this nearby hotel. We requested a large room and got a corner king room. Pretty pricey but a nice treat. Parking is always difficult in this city but one of the employees walked and guided us to a private parking area just across the street as their lot was full. The hotel is sold out for the weekend. They waived their parking fee. This property was originally a county jail dating back to the 1800's. It of course has been updated and converted into a hotel only in the early 2009, therefore the beds, carpet etc are in fine shape. Definitely would stay here again if the riverwalk rooms were unavailable or if you weren't interested in the riverwalk. Check in staff was helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ttribby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. You are correct about parking being difficult in the downtown area. I am glad to hear our staff member was able to assistance you with parking your vehicle. I hope to see you soon at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The HI Express is located in a registered historic building that was a jail. The staff wear polo shirts that say "guard"
Parking is located across the street and is free but entrance into the facility means traversing 6-8 steep steps just to get in.
Lobby presents well and depending on the room, they will be decent size or minuscule .

Rooms one the first floor have no view and are minuscule. Recommend higher floors.

Our room was on the fifth floor and we had a decent view but the air conditioner spewed out some black fuzz every time it came on.

We checked out early and moved to another hotel when my sensed an apparition talking and touching her. Fact!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate why our service did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible. Our company aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers. We will evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring in the future. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was a mixed bag for our stay. We had some trouble checking in but got that resolved. There are about 8-10 steep steps to enter through the front door but there is also a ramp on the side to let you in a side door. Parking is tight and is mostly across the street. Room was musty and had an old cologne smell to it but the room and bathroom were both very clean and quiet. Only one elevator and it seemed to be busy and slow most of the time. Breakfast was very good but has a small dining area. We had to take to our rooms on both mornings. The service overall was excelelnt- the attendanats make this place. Always accomodating at any time of the day. 6-7 blocks to the Alamo, 3-4 blocks to the Riverwalk. 4-5 blocks to the Mexican Market. Go to Commerce Street to walk to all locations. You go by bus stops and some homeless people but it is busy and well lit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and had no problems with noise. There are some rumors of ghost activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We just wanted to take a moment to let you know how much we appreciate your business and positive comments. We really value you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. If there is anything we can do for you, please let us know. We would also like to know where we can find more great clients like you! It's customers like you that make this business worthwhile. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I enjoy staying at the Holiday Inn Express hotels as we travel (which is extensive). They are consistent in their quality and value. The free hot breakfast means a cost savings of $15 - $20 per night for the two of us. The free wireless internet access often means an additional savings of $10 per night when compared with many hotels (especially downtown ones).

The Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North is somewhat different than many Holiday Inn Express hotels. It is located in a building which was the Bexar County Jail from 1879 - 1961. It was completely renovated and converted into a hotel in 2002. The hotel is smaller than most Holiday Inn Express hotels. And, as is common with renovated downtown hotels in most cities, the rooms are also smaller than most Holiday Inn Expresss hotels. But the service and quality matches that found in all Holiday Inn Express hotels.

The location of the hotel in downtown San Antonio is perfect! It is about two blocks from the Riverwalk and is within walking distance of everything in the downtown area.

The first thing which stood out to us about the hotel was the friendliness of the staff. Yes, they were very helpful from a service standpoint any time you had a question or needed something. But what really impressed us was how friendly everyone was. Any time you passed someone, they always smiled at you, said hello, asked how your day was going, or something similar. We've been to very few hotels, including extremely high end ones, who have made us feel as welcome as we were here.

The rooms including the bathrooms are somewhat smaller than most Holiday Inn Express hotels but they were extirely adequate for our needs. They had the same general furnishings you expect with a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms looked new, were clean, and were well maintained.

We didn't use the pool but it was quite small so if you are looking for a hotel with a nice large pool to lounge around, this wouldn't be the hotel for you. The hotel had aqequate self parking in a lot located directly across the street which was convenient and not all that common for a downtown hotel.

In summary, if you are looking for a quality hotel, in a great location in downtown San Antonio, with a very friendly staff, and provides a great value --- then this will fit your needs perfectly. However, if you are looking for luxury with large rooms and a great pool, than this isn't the place for you.

(I had a difficult time giving a rating for this hotel. I ended up giving it a Very Good rating but that was only because the rooms were on the smaller side and the hotel was basic. But, if I am giving the rating while keeping those factors in mind, then I would rate it as Excellent.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Address: 120 Camaron Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.