We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverwalk Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Camaron Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #84 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Riverwalk Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Holiday Inn Express @ San Antonio, Texas was very gracious and helpful, quality room close to the heart of the town & the Alamo. Agent David was helpful, kind and infomative, as well as personable. Would recommend this Hotel to all my friends. Continental Breakfast was fantastic all 3 mornings. Stayed 12/8/2011 to 12/11/2011...Wife and I were pleased!!!

Room Tip: Had initial trouble with first floor room being moldy from a recent incident, notified desk and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    65
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
53
52
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed here while attending a conference. The location was an easy walk to the convention center. One day I was tired and took a cab back. This cost me $6. Also close to the trolley. Near fun restaurants.

Eric and Dave at the front desk could not have been nicer. Very friendly as was the entire staff. I would stay there again. This is a former prison nicely converted.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
We want to thank you for the kind words you said about our hotel. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. We'll be sure to share it with the hotel staff.
We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. The more satisfied customers we have, the more our business will thrive.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The room was nice and clean, very comfortable beds and very nice breakfast. WiFi worked fine. Breakfast is only 7-10am, so it is best you get there early, we had no problem with it each day, stayed 2 days. Right by the Market Square and 3 blocks from Riverwalk, just walk down Houston St. The pool was tiny though, smallest I've ever seen. And the one elevator broke the morning we checked out, so being on the top floor that was a pain. But good value compared to the rest of the riverwalk area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Ammenities were lacking. We stayed two nights and for 1.5 of our stay the internet did not work. Both days at breakfast they were missing half of the buffet. Example, cinnamon rolls, napkins, plates, jam, cream cheese, etc. It seemed like they could not keep up with the high volume of breakfast goers. It is hard to find a seat in the breakfast area due to the amount of people there.
The rooms were very nice and clean with a nice bathroom, fridge & microwave but if you are on one of the higher floors be prepared to wait on the elevator. This hotel only has one elevator and we waited atleast 5 mins on three different occasions for the elevator
The location of this hotel was great. We had about a 15 min walk to the Riverwalk Area, but needed that to burn the calories from all the food we ate. On the walk to the Riverwalk Area you pass several landmarks. There are a few sketchy areas that you will pass through but we did not have any issues with those people bothering us. It was just a more uncomfortable feeling. But, there were police patrolling the areas, so it was safe.
This place worked for the two days we were here, but might not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here while visiting san antonio for 3 nights. Upon arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and check us in quite fast. Our room was actually really big! and has all the essentials you need including hairdryer, fridge, freezer, microwave, coffee maker and a tv with a decent picture and a good selection of channels. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was probably one of the biggest ive had in a hotel it was great. The property was the old "Bexar county Jailhouse" which i didnt find out til i arrived but i found it quite interesting and you would never now it was ever a jailhouse by the interior decorations. The hotel lobby was small but everywhere in the hotel was very cleaned, the pool was very very small but we didnt mind. The area itself i thought was alright and we felt safe walking around day and night. You are about 5 Minutes away from the riverwalk and you can walk to the Alamo in about 20 Minutes. The free breakfast includes Bagels, muffins, warm cinamon rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, freshly made pancakes along with cereals and juices, this was great except i have to eat gluten free foods and the only thing i could eat was bacon. Although we didnt have a car we were informed the parking charge was $10 a day just thought id mention that and the internet was really slow! Overall we enjoyed our stay and slept great

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the room had everything you needed. One of our main priorities is to make our guests feel at home and to provide them with excellent customer service. We also take pride in the history our hotel and it's downtown location. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to San Antonio and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My fiance and I got into town about 10 p.m on a Friday. Parking lot was full. But when we got in the front desk personnel was very polite and accommodating. He assured us there was parking even though we had just driven around the parking lot 3 times. We ended up parking next door.
The rooms are nice and were clean.
But if your expecting to be down the street from the Riverwalk, you definitely are, but you are another 10 to 15 minute walk from the restaurants and be prepared to be stopped by homeless people on the way.
I would not recommend taking this walk alone or with children at night. SCARY.
All in all the hotel was nice but I would not recommend it if you plan on going to the Riverwalk more than once.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your response regarding the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate all feedback. Downtown San Antonio can be very busy, especially this time of year. Although you had an issue with the parking, we are glad that you were able to find something close by. We take pride in our customer service and the cleaninless of the property, so we appreciate that you noticed that. We hope you will consider us on your next visit to San Antonio and that we can turn your "ok" experience into a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I always have had good experiences with Holiday Inn Express. That is one reason why I choose this hotel, and I am a member to get points when I stay at Holiday Inns. The front desk was very nice when I arrived at 10am & told them I needed a parking pass for my car, even though check-in wasn't until the afternoon. With a smile, they gladly gave me one to keep my car on their registered guests lot, and I then ventured off to the Riverwalk. I arrived back at 5:30pm and my room key was waiting for me. This is defiantely a cool place to stay. From the outside you can see, by the windows, it was once a jail...LOL. Inside was very clean and i loved my room. Since the building was once a gov't building, and a jail, the ceilings are high in the rooms and gives it an airy catheral ceiling feel. My room was very clean and beds very comfortable. The original historic windows from when the building was built, are still there and they are long and go right up to the ceiling. It gives it a bed & breakfast feel. The TV is not a flat screen, but who cares. The building is old, but they do well with the decor to keep it looking updated. Free Internet ! But, a $10 parking charge, so that is why I only gave 4 stars for the value . It is a few blocks to walk to the Riverwalk, but an easy walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our Holiday Inn Express hotel. All feedback is appreciated. The history of the hotel is a source of pride for us and is something we feel that that sets us apart from other hotel properties. We are glad that you appreciated that and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Address: 120 Camaron Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.