We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME LITTLE PLACE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove

The Cove
606 W. Cypress, San Antonio, TX 78212
+1 210-227-2683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Restaurant, serving SOL food. Sustainable, Organic, Local. Texas Beer Garden, with over 50 Texas beers on-tap Live Music venue, featuring local and traveling performers from every genre and oh yeah, a laundromat and car wash. The Cove is all about having a good time and enjoying great food with friends and family. We have a play scape, ping-pong tables, and a basketball backboard for kids of all ages, and a dog run for your four-legged friends. Come find out why this is the place to be in San Antonio!
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME LITTLE PLACE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Organic, wholesome, tasty food. Lamb burger was phenomenal. they have music in the evenings on the patio. very laid back, comfortable place. like eating at a friend's house. Very friendly employees.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    84
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good burgers, but come early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The food was tasty and they had some interesting soda varieties. The line was super long on Sunday lunch so I recommend going early. The outside seating is nice during cool weather. Very casual place. May go back for friends, but I am not a burger connoisseur so I wouldn't miss it. Sweet potato fries were great. Definitely worth a try albeit pricey!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Organic Food, Relaxed, Dog Friendly Outdoor Dining Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You'll feel as if you are in a friend's backyard, IF your friend has room for a couple hundred folks to hang out with their dogs and children! Such a family-friendly relaxed atmosphere, with a great play center for the kiddos. Many bring their four-legged family members along, and the wait staff will be happy to pet and talk to pooches as much as the humans! Oh...and did I say the food was terrific! We had burgers, fish tacos, nachos, and a quesadilla. All were very good. Just don't be in a hurry. Relax and enjoy the atmosphere because it's going to take a while for your food to be ready.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great seafood tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Eclectic menu, locally sourced products, no-frills atmosphere. Looks like a college bar, with live music on weekends. But the food is very good. Fish and shrmips tacos are great, with a small spinach salad. I've been going here for years, always good food, and friendly service. The bathrooms are due for a major upgrade. As I said, think "college bar."

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique Foodie Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Coming from Austin, Texas, The Cove fit right in with the uniqueness and weirdness one might expect from a SOL (Sustainable, Organic, Local) restaurant. The taste/flavor may have been a little light from what I expected, but sometimes that's a choice we make when we select our meal and condiments. The Blue Bison burger was good, but I found the bacon or bison meat a bit chewy. That's not unexpected from natural and organic foods and I prefer that to eating soft or palatable chemicals.

The sweet potato fries were of the standard variety, a bit firm and cold before I could finish them. They were sprinkled with a green and white powdery substance, which we later asked to find out was ground sesame seeds and seaweed. That was an unexpected surprise, especially when we came there due to food allergies. Surprises with ingredients in your meal don't go together with food allergy sufferers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove also viewed

 

Been to The Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.