We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Havana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Havana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1st Night's Parking On Us
Ranked #34 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very nice hotel with good location at the river. Easy walking distance to Alamo. Restaurant is very recommendable and breakfast was excellent. Breakfast menu had lots of appealing alternatives. Only negative was that our room was not as clean as we would have expected.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    52
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
14
108
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked a room in this hotel for five nights towards the end of September. It's a really cute little place and my attic room (35) was adorable - quite small, but very well furnished and with lots of nice touches throughout that give it a really unique atmosphere. The staff at the front desk were great, especially letting me check in early after a long drive up from Corpus Christi.

I do have a few small nitpicks: the room is reasonably priced (I booked through Expedia and got a discount because I was staying more than three nights), but there are a LOT of extra charges. You'll pay about $15 per night for self parking, there's no complimentary breakfast and the cheaper items on the room service menu are pushing $10. If you do order from room service, you'll also have a long wait for your meal. I found it easier to make a trip to a supermarket and stock up on food than to try to get anything in the hotel. As well as this, there is currently a massive construction project going on about 100 yards up the road and they did start work at about 6.30am every morning. Good luck if you want a lie in!

In terms of location, the hotel is less than a ten minute walk from downtown and the Alamo. However, it is situated at a point where the neighbourhood feels like it might be beginning to deteriorate - it's literally just outside the limits of the touristy part of the city. As a woman travelling alone, I felt confident enough to walk around there during the day, but I wasn't entirely comfortable with the thought of being out there by myself after dark.

For drivers, San Antonio is a massive pain to navigate because the whole of the downtown area is a one way system covered with roadworks. When you do eventually reach the hotel, it's quite easy to spot and has a reasonably large car park. However, you will have to pay to use it - I'm not entirely sure what the charge is for as it's self parking, but it'll automatically go on your bill and if you're there for a few night it soon adds up.

In summary, I did like this hotel and would definitely consider staying there again. I was just a little off put by the amount of money it cost for anything beyond a basic room.

Good points: quirky, within walking distance of downtown.

Bad points: expensive, paying for parking.

Room Tip: The attic rooms get very cold at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I love this hotel. We booked because I just could not do one more predictable hotel with marble counters and free lattes in the lobby. Don't get me wrong, that's often a great experience and I like it when I don't need any surprises. HH is an anomaly. We arrived late, and enjoyed a fantastic dinner at Ocho, the hotel restaurant that is more bar and restaurant than hotel establishment. The drinks were on the hotel, the dinner was inventive and delicious. I fell into crisp sheets after a hot shower with plenty of the yummy hotel soap. Breakfast the next day in the hotel again. No one really helped us unless we asked. I liked that. But as others have noted, you have to want to be left alone in a funky, clean, quiet place with great food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I don't mean this in a negative way at all, but the Hotel Havana is not for everyone. If you want a predictable, cookie-cutter hotel with lots of amenities, you have plenty of other choices in San Antonio.

I chose this hotel based on reviews, and I'm glad I did. After nearly a week of staying in a chain hotel in the center of Austin, Hotel Havana was a delightful respite upon our arrival in San Antonio. It was easy to find, and it's just across the street from the Riverwalk.

Our room had a very high queen bed. I'm 5' 2", and I'll admit to having to put a little effort into getting into it. It was very comfortable! The bathroom had plenty of space and very high quality Red Flower products. Had I known at the time how luxurious Red Flower is, I would've taken another shower! Although we didn't use them, robes were provided.

The very cool SMEG fridge is equipped with all sorts of snacks and libations. Again, we didn't partake, as we had plenty to eat and drink in our short time there.

The porch was wonderful. It was so nice to sit and relax in wicker chairs and watch the world go by. I really felt transported to another time and place.

We had a later (9:30) dinner at Ocho and a fabulous breakfast there the next morning. Portions are generous. We also had a drink in the bar, and it is not to be missed!

Staff was very helpful and friendly. The onsite parking, while a little pricey, is definitely worth it for the convenience. WiFi was fast and free.

Do not stay here if you like ultra-modern furnishings; if the creaks and quirks of older buildings irritate you; if you want to be completely anonymous...

As for me, I can't wait to have a reason to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed in room 16, a queen suite on the first floor. 4 years earlier stayed in a regular room upstairs. This is a really nice relaxing hotel. It is on a quiet location on a branch of the River Walk. If you want a hotel on the river, but a quiet area, this is the place to be. It is still close enough to walk to the convention center (quicker if you go street level), dinner or just drinks. They also have a bike-rent location in their parking lot! We rented a bike-even though we had a car- and rode them to the Mexican Market to eat at Mi Terra. San Antonio is relatively flat so bike riding is easy. This is such a beautiful hotel and restful place. We will be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I booked and paid in Jan 2013 to stay at this hotel over the dates October 26-29th 2013, as part of a trip from Australia to celebrate a special birthday.

We did not have a special experience with this hotel. Ten days ago I heard from our travel agent advising that the hotel had overbooked and cancelled our booking. This is despite paying in full 8 months prior.

It turns out they had a wedding booked in a few months ago (and months after our booking) and had not bothered to tell anyone.

A week ago I contacted the hotel to get some feedback from them but got no response to my e-mail.

My advice would be to look elsewhere in San Antonio, we have found hotel called the Hotel Valencia, look out for my review in a couple of months.

In summary, a poor experience. The hotel is not even prepared to respond to my e-mail. Its one thing to make mistakes but it is really how you deal with them that matters. Hotel Havana have failed on both accounts, please don't make this mistake yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our trip to Texas. We had booked a Queen Suite which was gorgeous! Lovely 4 poster bed, cool little sitting area with a SMEG- big enough you could keep your own things in too & the bathroom was lovely!
Each floor had a nice little terrace that you could sit on.
Hotel was in a gret location for the Riverwalk & town.
Hotel bar was great & breakfast was very yum!
Cannot fault the hotel at all & if we ever end up back in San An will most definetly return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.