We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic Night on the River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Havana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Havana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Night on the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I nabbed a great deal via Hotels Tonight for Hotel Havana, but we didn't have super high expectations. It's tucked away in a quieter part of town, and managing to park our car in their tiny lot was terrifying; however, once we entered the hotel, we were totally charmed and impressed. From the friendly staff to the creaky staircase to the awesome retro fridge in our room, this hotel is filled with little surprises sure to make you smile. Access to the Riverwalk is convenient and the stretch is much more tranquil and relaxing than the stretch that's closer downtown. Breakfast at the bar downstairs, Ocho, can't be missed--their banana bread is so delicious! If you're looking for a cozy, old timey feel for your next visit to San Antone, check this place out!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    53
    9
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
111
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this online and got a great rate. From the parking lot view I didnt expect much but once inside the hotel is very cute. The lobby could so with some updating (looks a but tired) but overall it's a neat location and very close to the Alamo and other attractions. The restaurant and bar are also very cool. Overall a neat little hotel but I think the prices (if you dont get a good deal online) might be a bit pricey for what you actually get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed overnight at this wonderful boutique hotel. It was so well located that we were able to walk down the River Walk to the King William District, La Villita and all points in between. This made the walk cool and inviting.
The room (King Suite) was large, yet cozy.The bathroom was well stocked with amenities.
Each floor had a wonderful balcony that looked out over the city. The main bar had a lovely patio with the most comfortable outdoor chairs I have ever used. The drinks were excellent.
The underground bar was cozy and private, perfect for a night cap.
The wait staff was friendly and informative.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: The only room I was able to see was the King Suite. It was quiet and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a last minute booking we made for our 3 night stay in San Antonio and what a great place we found.

We had a great room at the front of the hotel with lots of windows that opened on to a balcony type area with seating, where we enjoyed our breakfast (from Starbucks). The room was a great size with a great comfy bed, the only let down was the A/C in the room it never got that cold, however we didn't complain about it. The staff were so helpful and friendly, we had a fair few questions about the local area and they were straight on the computer printing maps etc.. off.

This is a great little hotel with a really different feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at Hotel Havana. Great service, very cool decor, comfortable/clean beds, awesome bar at Ocho, and delicious/relaxing breakfast overlooking the riverwalk. Easy ten minute walk along the river to dinner. Also ten minute walk to Alamo. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has everything that you need - great location on the Riverwalk, clean and spacious rooms, good service. But this hotel has more than that. It has history, charm and character. Each room is different, the bar in the basement is lit all in red candles and the restaurant has a view of the Riverwalk. The only reason that I'm not giving this 5 stars is because of our ground floor room. It wasn't too loud, but it lacked a little bit of privacy. Ask for something on the 2nd floor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I could not be more underwhelmed... City Wi-Fi overrides hotels "free Wi-F", dirty, unresponsive staff. Spruced up "bum apartments" that are overpriced. Go to a real hotel and spend less money!!!! Pay to self park, no closets (in our King Suite), bad in every way. Worst hotel experience of my life. Have traveled extensively and this place could be in the slums of Calcutta.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.