We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average, cookie-cutter hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Havana to your Saves list
Hotel Havana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not your average, cookie-cutter hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has everything that you need - great location on the Riverwalk, clean and spacious rooms, good service. But this hotel has more than that. It has history, charm and character. Each room is different, the bar in the basement is lit all in red candles and the restaurant has a view of the Riverwalk. The only reason that I'm not giving this 5 stars is because of our ground floor room. It wasn't too loud, but it lacked a little bit of privacy. Ask for something on the 2nd floor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    64
    13
    16
    3
See reviews for
15
131
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I could not be more underwhelmed... City Wi-Fi overrides hotels "free Wi-F", dirty, unresponsive staff. Spruced up "bum apartments" that are overpriced. Go to a real hotel and spend less money!!!! Pay to self park, no closets (in our King Suite), bad in every way. Worst hotel experience of my life. Have traveled extensively and this place could be in the slums of Calcutta.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Love this place. I wanted something quant and romantic and got just that. The food was good, drinks were great. Loved the atmosphere. Staff was friendly, room was cozy. Definitely will stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Havana because we generally enjoy the charm of historic and boutique hotels. We also wanted to stay within walking distance of the River Walk without being in the throngs of tourists and noise. The location of Hotel Havana was perfect for this; it was only a 10 minute walk to the central part of the River Walk. We found our stay to be between average and very good.

We stayed in a king suite on the 2nd floor that had a less-than-memorable view of the TV station building and satellite across the street but we weren't bothered by road or construction noise that some recent reviews have complained about. The decor of the room was great and we had plenty of space. The room had some unique features such as the SMEG refrigerator with a fully stocked mini-bar, fresh flowers, warm lighting and retro furniture. The staff at the hotel was very welcoming, polite and didn't hesitate to assist us with any questions we had during our stay. We enjoyed breakfast at Ocho each morning and the food was fantastic although service was slow. They seemed under-staffed. The plantain griddle cakes were amazing, however.

On the negative side, our room wasn't as clean as we had hoped, particularly the bathroom. The floor wasn't very clean and there were hairs in the tub and on the floor. While there wasn't much noise coming from outside the hotel, we were disturbed by guests in nearby rooms in the middle of the night and unfortunately had to call down to the front desk at 3:00 a.m. to ask for intervention. We could also readily hear guests above us walking on the hardwood floors. The walls are thin.

We have stayed at many boutique hotels over the years and would characterize this one as a little on the rustic side which may not be for everyone. There are certain things you need to tolerate, especially in an older building . . . noise, low shower head, toilet that takes forever to flush, no closet, dim lighting, creaky floors, etc. This is not a luxury hotel. As an FYI, we did find a hair dryer in the dresser drawer near the bed and it only took a call to the front desk to secure an iron/ironing board.

The hotel does have a parking lot and they charge $17/day which is probably in line with what other hotels in the area charge. If in San Antonio again, we definitely would consider Hotel Havana again if the price was right and fully understanding some of the more "rustic charm" of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great little hotel, with unique decor. Love the location which is slightly off the beaten path. Stayed twice coming and going thru San Antonio. Stayed in the queen deluxe both times, but on opposite sides of hotel. The side facing parking lot is a little quieter than the room overlooking river walk/ocho restaurant. If its the weekend you probably get late night eaters and the noise can easily be heard in the room. Also on the parking lot side the rooms are a bit lighter, my preference. Service was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, AB, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a king room, 2nd floor, overlooking parking lot.

This is NOT a typical hotel. Hardwood floors, woven rugs, form over function. No iron, hair dryer, vanity, closet, hangers. Cleanliness was ok, but the wood floors trap dirt. Bathroom had hairs in tub and floor. Tub was small and shower head height is set at "hobbit".

Great bath products, cool SMEG fridge with Mexican soft drinks, beers, wines, etc. super roomy.

Restaurant is good but others on the Riverwalk are superior. Bar makes good strong drinks. Again, really cool aesthetics but not great execution.

WARNING... It is noisy! The hotel is adjacent to a major construction project. The truck back up beepers start at 0615am each morning. A car alarm from the hotel parking lot joined this cacophony from 0630-0900am. Choose a north room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is my favorite kind of hotel. It has history and character and sensibility. There is nothing cookie cutter about it. The staff is courteous, helpful and competent. I can't vouch for all the rooms but our king room on the second floor was spacious and immaculate and appealingly funky. The apartment size mint green fridge with an eclectic assortment of spirits was a fine surprise. However, don't let its convenience keep you from heading down to Ocho, the colorful, tropical greenhouse attached to the hotel that serves as bar and casual cafe. Its rolling glass garage-type doors are open in fine weather and over look a serene strip of the river walk. Bartender Jerel makes a first class martini along with Cuban inspired libations. It is a lovely place to linger. Hotel Havana is designed to encourage lingering. There are several nooks, inside and out, with inviting lounge chairs, and the location of the Havana is thankfully enough removed from the crowds of the chain hotels to allow for relaxing. Our only quibbles were the early morning noise from nearby construction (with any luck, soon to be completed) and the dimness of the lighting in Room 26. The bedside lamps did not allow reading and the bathroom lighting was not adequate for applying make-up. Otherwise a 5 star review and still a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.