We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Havana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Havana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soooo cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Havana before a very important meeting that was located around the corner from the hotel. I cannot rave enough about the cute decor, friendly staff and beautiful bar. Plus is is across the street from a Riverwalk entrance (a nice quiet part of the riverwalk).
The 2nd floor terrace is lovely and somewhere I would have spent more time had I been there for leisure -- Plus the hotel wasnt particularly busy during my stay and I received an upgraded room. Bonus if you are a Texas resident because they offer discounts (and for many other association members). I highly recommend at least stopping by Ocho the restaurant/bar for a cockail as it is spetacular -- A must visit even if you dont stay at the hotel -- Enjoy!

Room Tip: Terrance level rooms have easy access to this great roof top patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    55
    9
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
117
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a queen suite on the top floor in November 2012. We absolutely loved the place. Tons of personality and attention to detail - each room and its furnishings are unique. And it's just a quick elevator ride down to the basement bar - Ocho. I loved staying on the top floor because although the ceilings are a little lower, you get really cool skylights right above the bed with wooden shutters over them. The only downside to our room was the suite part. the extra room housed a desk, closet and the fridge, so some of it seemed like wasted space since the sitting area was in the same room as the bed. but i'm not exactly sure how they would rearrange it. you basically don't spend any time in the extra entry room, just go in to get a beverage and then back to the bedroom area. We ordered room service every morning and had wonderful strong cuban coffee delivered. heaven. We also didn't have any problems with noise, but perhaps that's because we were on the top floor.

we didn't have a problem with the location not being on the popular part of the riverwalk. in fact, we prefer to avoid all that tourist craziness. it was just a 10 minute walk to restaurants and bars on street level which we much prefer. the price of the hotel also seems reasonable, i guess because of the out of way location. Liz Lambert hotels are easily double or more in Austin. We were accidentally charged for an item in the mini bar which we didn't use (we stopped at Central Market on the way and stocked it with our own happy hour beverages and snacks), but the staff immediately removed the charge from our bill without any questions.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

i travelled solo to san antonio, and stayed at hotel havana for 3 nights.
my stay couldn't have been better. the staff all seem to have a lot of
pride in working there - they make you feel very welcome, and are extremely attentive.
if you're used to staying at large-chain hotels, leave your expectations at the door.
this is a stylish boutique hotel, with gorgeous organic bath products, and rooms
decorated with perfectly-imperfect antiques. off of my room (3rd floor, queen), there was a balcony overlooking navarro street - a great place to enjoy my morning coffee. the restaurant & bar were fantastic - ask for hector or john - they will ensure
that any allergies you have (mine is gluten) are respected, as well as whip you up an
incredible concoction in a martini glass.
the only downside of this location is the distant train that begins at about 6am, and the construction at the arts centre next door (but that won't last forever :-)...
overall, if you're looking for a convenient location in a place with character to spare, i would definitely recommend hotel havana!

Room Tip: choose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha Qatar
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Quiet off the beaten path but near all the sights. Ocho, the restaurant cafe and bar, serves a lovely and interesting menu, and really nice cocktails. The staff is attentive and friendly. The lounge downstairs, Havana, is cozy and moody, great atmosphere and playing nice world music. Candles everywhere! We stayed two nights with two of our children and dog. The hotel itself is old with a mix of furnishings all interesting and not just cookie cutter rooms. A nice boutique hotel, although a little pricey for weekend rates. We will be back as overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Elegant interiors, lovely old floorboard (although if you can't see the romance in dark wood and the occasional creak maybe you'll disagree). The room we had was a queen on the 3rd floor overlooking the street. A beautiful old bed, nice old bathroom with robes, well stocked Smeg fridge. Wifi is free. The view is not much although we could see a bit of the Riverwalk. The windows could do with a wash but that would be the only slight negative. Ocho restaurant is really good - great food & cocktails, service was terrific. All the food and cocktails are made from scratch at the hotel so everything is super-fresh.

If you're looking for modern this isn't for you. It is for you if you appreciate beautiful Spanish architecture and elegance. I would definately stay in this lovely hotel again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went down for a business and pleasure trip. The day of our arrival was myhusband's birthday, and I had emailed the hotel prior to ask for a recommendation for dinner that night, after arriving from a 4 hour drive. When we got there, in a king suite room, there was a bucket of ice with champagne and glasses, and a lovely fruit tray waiting for us. What a great touch after a long car ride. It was unexpected. Also, the front desk had printed out the menu's and location of 7 different restaurants that they thought we might enjoy. They were staples together and presented to us for our use. We were able to check into our room ,relax with our "goodies" and take our time in making a selection for his birthday dinner that night.

The hotel is in an old home, very interesting and a fun place to stay. The wooden floors creaked and going up the multi layered stair case was fun. There is an elevator, so do not panic!!!! The room did not have a closet, but that was not an issue for us. There was a full size refrig, which we made use of for drinks. The bathroom was updated, very nice I thought although not huge, but very easy to use. We did pay for the parking in advance, so we received a discount by doing so. It is common to have to pay for parking there in SA, so this charge was not unexpected.

The entrance to the Riverwalk is right outside the front door, making it very easy to get around to that area of the city. We enjoyed our stay and it is a delightful place for someone who does not feel the need to stay in a major highrise hotel. I recommend this property for it's value and location. I booked on a travel site and got a great deal, about 3 days prior to our arrival.

Room Tip: The king suite was approx $20 more per night than the king room. The extra room that this room allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is a little different. It has some character and charm. The hotel staff were excellent. Access to the river walk was right out the front door and down the steps. The room itself was very quiet. The bathroom fixtures were a little dated but very functional. The main light in the room was too dim.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.