We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO charming and romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Havana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Havana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Bellingham, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“SO charming and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The owner has captured all the latin charm of Old San Antonio with a Cuban accent. Newly renovated to pay homage to its history. It is a small hotel, 3 stories plus a fantastic basement bar. We stayed in room 33 at the top. It was quiet and very clean. Wood floors, parlor, closet, bath with tub, pink refrigerator, very comfortable bed with soft pillows and linen bedspread. Riverwalk entrance just across the street. It has a pretty restaurant bar, OCHO, which overlooks the River Walk. The basement Havan Bar is the most romantic you can imagine--dark, candles, couches, velvet drapes, small tables. Hector the bartender is a superb mixologist. Parking onsite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    53
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
14
109
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We always travel with our Labrador Retriever and search for fun for her too! On a recent trip to San Antonio, we discovered the Hotel Havana which is located on a quiet part of the Riverwalk. This location affords the opportunity to explore the less traveled and hectic tourist part of the Riverwalk and is a great chance to give your pet some exercise on the wonderful paved walks along the San Antonio River, while still being close enough to the "Night Life" of the Heart of the Riverwalk via walking or catching Rio Taxi. The hotel is Retro to the late 1950's and funky but immaculately clean with all you need including your own refrigerator with special and unusual treats for your convenience (not complimentary). Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the restaurant, Ocho, connected and located overlooking the River, offers wonderful meals in an historic atmosphere! We look forward to returning soon - our Girl loved the experience and we did too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Within walking distance to downtown. Nice hotel in older building. Studio room on 3rd floor was a small but cozy, with fridge/mini-bar and free wifi (no safe or iron though). Parking is available but costs 17$/day.
The lounge in the basement of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, TX, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. It is quaint, clean and the service is outstanding. It has the atmosphere of a bed and breakfast, the closeness to everything to enjoy all the activities and the price is fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will no doubt always stay here when we go to San Antonio as well as recommend this place to anyone we know needed a place to stay.

Room Tip: I would either choose the Queen or the studio. Our preference is the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I don't know why, but I have seemed to have put off writing a review for the Havana... maybe cause I want to keep it still our secret gem. My husband and I have stayed at the Havana multiple nights (including our wedding night) and each night has been wonderful.
When you enter into the property you feel transported back in time. The entire property is decorated with very vintage pieces that make the guests feel that there are back in old world Havana.
We've had the pleasure to stay in the: studio, terrace, queen, and last but not least penthouse. Although the studio is at the very top of the property, and not as large as their other rooms it is still so quaint and homey. The terrace room we stayed in was at the base of the stairs on the first floor, it was a decent size but if you're a light sleeper you may be uncomfortable hearing people come and go (we saw no problem with it but just be warned it can get noisey). If money grew on trees the penthouse would be our all time favorite; we stayed here on our wedding night. I would recommend this room for those that may be spending a romantic time away or for maybe a party... I personally felt we didn't get to utilize all the room had to offer since it was such a busy weekend. Since we can't always stay in the penthouse (shucks!) we have come to like the queen suites, they are of decent size and economically priced.
The photos on the website do not do justice to what the Havana has to offer... I cannot express how much we just adore this gem on the riverwalk.
**One must defintely get some Huitlachoche Quesadillas & Apple Piloncillo Crisps at Ocho, SO yummy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've visited San Antonio a dozen times, but only recently stumbled across this small and friendly historic hotel. It's away from the maddening crowd along the riverwalk--but close enough for easy access (10 minutes by RiverWalk; 5 minutes on the street level). It's located due north of downtown, near the Auditorium and en route, by RiverWalk, to art museum and Pearl Brewery complex. Good room sizes in a beautifully restored 1918 building. Great staff and wonderful (but dark) bar in the basement. Nice attached restaurant, too. Almost hesitate to review this one, since its growing popularity will make booking a room more difficult in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor, facing the street, but found no noise problems. If you're traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

How many conferences have I attended where I felt like I spent 4 days living in the convention center and the attached hotel? Not in San Antonio anymore! Hotel Havana was escape I needed at the end of long days. The staff are solicitous and helpful and just genuinely welcoming, the onsite bar and restaurant felt like home (excellent drinks, limited wine list, food good - but Luke is just a few steps up the Riverwalk...). The rooms are spacious, individually decorated, and comfortable. The bedding is terrific. The only drawbacks in the room were lack of a place for hanging clothes (maybe cowboys don't need that), and lighting that was clearly designed by someone who never put on make up.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on Ocho side have NO natural light, and get a lot of lobby noise. Aim for second o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.