We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable; not worth the hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Havana to your Saves list
Hotel Havana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off midweek suites
Ranked #58 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Uncomfortable; not worth the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

Booked a spontaneous visit for our anniversary, partly on recommendations from friends. Nice area and neat old building, but otherwise a huge disappointment--and this is normally just my kind of place: quirky and unique.

Problems:
We noticed a few days after booking that they were running a fall special. However, they insist that we have to keep the rate as it was when booked--about $50 a night more. Bummer!
After reading reviews about noise downstairs, I requested by phone when booking a 2nd or 3rd floor room, and was told I was booking a 2nd floor room. We arrive, and guess what? First floor close to the entry, and all other rooms booked.
The bed: AWFUL! I have a 12 year old cheap mattress at home--this thing is like sleeping in a hammock. Super saggy.
I also find the decor really lacking in charm and warmth, bur that's just personal taste. However, don't bother with a suite--the furniture and lighting are such that I have a hard time imagining anyone using it... ?

Seriously considering moving to another hotel for our 2nd night. Big disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    59
    12
    14
    3
See reviews for
15
123
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We arrived in San Antonio for a stopover on the way to Houston and we stumbled on this incredible hotel. There seems to be many lovely hotels in Houston, so why did we find the Havana so impressive?
The space and styling of the entire building was completely unexpected and beyond expectation. Just check out the website to see what I mean, it's clean, fresh and has such a wonderful sense of space.
In response to some other reviews, the location of the hotel is perfect, it is a simple five minute walk to all of the riverwalk attractions (restaurants) and I very much enjoyed the Havana was slightly away from the action.
We ate breakfast in their cafe Ocho and it was the best meal I have eaten in three and half weeks in the USA - and the coffee was decent, I even had a second cup!
I could see that if the hotel was busy on weekends it could potentially get noisy. If you book for a weekend I'd suggest you ask for a room away from one of the communal balconies. That said, it would be a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday or special occasion with friends!
My only other suggestion is that our bathroom, while completely acceptable, was not exactly as luxurious as our guest room. The robes and products were fantastic, but the tiling was a bit simple and the extraction fan did not work.
Oh, and yes, it might affect the design slightly, but a luggage / clothes rack is required. The hook idea for hanging clothes is cute but it's simply not serviceable.
The service was wonderful and we simply didn't want to leave. If we could of extended our stay we would have. If you are from out of town (like us) I would suggest a long weekend in San Antonio, what a pleasure it was to spend some time there!

Room Tip: Room 20 (1st floor, at front of building with communal balcony in front) is fantastic on a quiet wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Wow, what a cool place, I thought as I entered. It is on the museum part of the Riverwalk, a bit far from the touristy places but within walking distance. They have a restaurant, "Ocho," on the side of the building that abuts the Riverwalk. Gorgeous place, with unique "Eames" style furnishings and retro SMEG refrigerators well-stocked with Mexican beer and sodas for purchase. Our room was very large but minimalist in design. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We did not try the restaurant but we did have some Hemingway-like cocktails in their ground level bar, dark and remote. I can't wait to return. The owner must have a great sense of style. We did this as a "staycation," via a Groupon, as we live in San Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Charming little boutique hotel with lots of style. Very friendly staff. We had a Groupon deal. The included breakfast (with many options) was fresh, imaginative & tasty ... we enjoyed it on their breezy second-story veranda, around the corner from our room. (There's another, bigger veranda in the back, too.)
Their restaurant next door, Ocho, right on the river, was airy and relaxing and had great margaritas and sandwiches. (Also main courses, but we just shared a Havana Cubano sandwich.)
There was a red robe in the bathroom as well as shampoo, conditioner, lotion and body wash, plus a very special bar soap.
The room (22) and bathroom were not large, but big enough, and the king bed very comfortable. We liked the dark hardwood floors, which had several throw rugs. There was also a desk & chair, a big red chair, a large antique dresser, and a vintage red fridge.
The included wireless internet was very fast and easy to connect to.
Have stayed in at least 12-14 different San Antonio hotels over the years, and this one is a keeper. We plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is overall a good hotel in a quiet part of the Riverwalk. It is not a cookie cutter hotel by any stretch but we liked the uniqueness of it.

The service here is very good. Check in was quick and efficient even though we arrived at 10pm. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room #36 wasn’t cooling and they brought us a stand up fan which was very attentive in my opinion. Room service was quick and efficient but very expensive. On the bright side they did bring a large portion of food and the coffee was ample enough to get us going for the morning. They allow you to bring your dog which was really nice. I think there is a weight limit but our dog is a cocker spaniel so she is under the weight limit. They loved our dog and even petted her when I would take her out.

The location is on the quiet side of the Riverwalk in the heart of the business district. There are two entrances to the Riverwalk. One is behind the hotel and the other across the street on Navarro. You can get to the Riverwalk in only a few minutes and from the Riverwalk itself you can see the Ocho Lounge. It is about a quarter mile walk to the main restaurants on the Riverwalk. This part of the Riverwalk is very pretty and quiet. On the weekends there is nowhere close by for an offsite breakfast which kind of sucked. We didn’t use their bar or restaurant. I wish they didn’t charge $17 a night for parking as it is just a very small parking lot. I might understand if the parking was in a parking garage. It was difficult to get out of the parking lot when full. We had a small car and it was hard, I don’t know what someone who had a Ford or Chevy truck would do. If you have a dog there is a yard across from Navarro which is a good place to take them for potty breaks.

We stayed in the Havanna Queen room. It is pretty roomy and the bed is very comfy. The bed is very high up but we liked that. There is a flat screen TV which is nice. They also have a Refrigerator which is like a big version of a mini-bar but has extra space so you can store your own drinks there. Our room on the third floor had a hard time staying cool but it was 107 outside that day. I think it would be fine for the rest of the year and the first and second floors were cooler. The balconies all around the building are very nice The bathroom is nice and clean with good quality towels, nice shampoos/soaps, and even a bathrobe. There is no closet but our room had antique style hooks to hang clothes. It worked. The wood floors creak a bit but that is part of the charm of the old building. They have stairs or you can use the elevator. We never waited long for the elevator but it is very dark in there so be aware of that. We only used the elevator to bring up our bags and used the stairs otherwise.

Overall this is a nice hotel if you understand that it is different and appreciate the charm of it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the most quiet. But it can be warm during August heat. The rest of the year it should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel is near the tippy top of my all-time favorite hotels list! Traveling solo, I reserved a queen room -- but was upgraded to a king upon arrival since there were no queen rooms ready when I arrived. The whole hotel was funky fabulous and the room was out of this world! Great, wide plank hardwood floors -- fun tile in the bathroom, big windows with plantation shutters, a funky little italian fridge stocked with goodies and just enough lighting to set a funky/romantic mood! Two robes in the room made the hotel feel spa-like. I really enjoyed my stay and actually carved out time in my trip to just spend time in the room! Ocho (the hotel bar) was really fun as well -- great for breakfast or late night drinks/coffee/tea. Don't overlook this gem!! I can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the Riverwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

From the other reviews, you must know this hotel is not the usual accomodations. We liked the retro fridge and lounge chair. There aren't menus advising of the cost of items stocked in the room, so if you're on a budget don't indulge. After a long road trip to get to San Antonio, we enjoyed a few beverages from the fridge out on one of the roof top patios. The extra cost was worth the convenience. The hotel is steps from a quieter section of the River Walk, so we always had a chance to walk off the indulging we did dining and drinking we did in the heart of things. However, if your not one for a stroll, you won't enjoy the location either. This was our favorite place we stayed during our July travels through Louisiana and Texas.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.