We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio to your Saves list
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #104 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Sheraton Gunter is right in the middle of San Antonio's small downtown and river walk. The room was ample and my bed comfortable. Besides the housekeeping not being very good, I feel I got what I paid for. Sheraton Gunter was a good choice for a quick unplanned and non-budgeted trip. )) The front desk is helpful, the cafe is convenient and reasonable as well. The understaffed wine bar could use a server or a helpful manager. It was certainly too much and too many guests for the lone bartender.

Room Tip: I always ask for a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
From Goth 2AZ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you found the location to be perfect for your visit. I appreciate your candid feedback about the room cleanliness and the staffing levels in the Market on Houston. Please know that we will use these comments to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    63
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
63
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, MI
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has rooms that are pretty unique to its size. Gunter hotel has a very nice exterior lighting that many flashes been made using camera.
Market in Houston had interesting burger.
Everything was great except toilet seat was unattractive.
Staff were nice and pool was alright. Would be nice if jacuzzi is available.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Simon,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We have made note of your comments regarding the guest room bath and will take opportunities to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Rooms small, bathroom small. Dirty towels in bathroom when we arrived. No counter space in bathroom, toilet didn't flush well, and shower was short. Maybe this room hadn't received the facelift yet, although the tile in the bathroom did seem new. Wasn't aware of the additional charge to have a king sized bed instead of queen. We are 6'0" and 6'5", we don't fit in a queen sized bed. The refreshing of the room was done promptly, but coffee was not refreshed and we had to track down cleaning service to have in room coffee the next morning. The barber shop that the marketing brags about isn't open on the weekends. The hotel is pretty and the history is obvious, just not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. With all the options available on the river walk we will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Smallen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to meet that criteria. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a conference; this was the second time I have been a guest here. The hotel has been renovated since my last stay. The lobby is modern but still had the old world charm and style.
I remember having a small room and even tinier bathroom my previous visit. This time I was surprised with a large corner room with a king-size bed, chair, table, and plenty of counter space for my things.
The bathroom was HUGE. The toilet, while old, was in a little room in a corner, then a large marble vanity, then a shower. On the other wall was a garden tub (no jets, though) with a large window above it.
The conference facilities were nice although it got hot and stuffy in the room both days after lunch.
This hotel is conveniently located near the Majestic Theater and the Riverwalk. It was an easy stroll to the mall by the convention center although there isn't much shopping there.
Didn't eat in the restaurant.
Valet was expensive but quick and friendly. I have had valet parking before but never the type of system they had...I could send a text to a company number and by the time I got downstairs my car was waiting for me with the A/C already on.
I was on the third floor so I was close enough to hear the street noise, especially in the later hours when the drunks were leaving the Riverwalk. I just turned the fan on the A/C and put in earplugs (supplied by the hotel!) and slept just fine.
Overall, nice hotel!

Room Tip: I believe others have said get a room on the upper floors to avoid the street noise and I agree. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Ann Marie,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for your conference. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased that you liked your room and enjoyed the improvements we have made to the property. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is very pretty and the room was nice enough. There seemed to be a few too many problems, though. They couldn't get the room service menus straight. There was a Breakfast in Bed menu list on the bed when I arrived. Said to check off your choices and put on the outer door by 2 a.m. and to check off the time you wanted the meal to arrive. I posted mine by 11 p.m. - and nothing. Wasn't even picked up, much less delivered. Then that evening, my door key no longer worked and the A/C blew hot. TWO men came up and slid the key through the malfunctioning lock. Nothing. Seriously? My card sliding skills are impeccable, lol. It was the key - not me! Took over an hour to bring me a new key card - and the same thing happened two doors down to another woman. Those complaints said, the staff was always extremely polite and tried hard to be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Cindi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We will use your feedback to monitor the quality of the key lock and A/C and will take opportunities to improve. I am pleased that the staff worked hard to ensure you had a pleasant stay. I hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is very nice, unfortunately it was being worked on. I had a room where it seemed a little old. The bed was nice and comfy, but the carpet seemed old and dirty.There was trash in the room when i arrived. The parking was across the street and I had to pay for it. I prob would not stay again until all the renovation is done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. Please know that we will use your feedback as an opportunity to improve the guest room experience. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have stayed here several times. They have recently remodeled their lobby and it still holds to the time it was built, but with an added uniqueness of current design. We love eating out by the street in their cafe. Very comfortable beds and conveniently located near Riverwalk, Buckhorn and Museum.

We informed them it was our anniversary and they delivered complimentary strawberries to our room. This was not expected at all!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator and they accomodated us gladly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Monica,
I am so pleased that you were able to share your special anniversary trip with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated space and found Market on Houston to be tasty! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Antonio.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Address: 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace history and timeless design at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio. 13 conference rooms and Grand Ballroom. Our flexible space can accommodate up to 500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Antonio
San Antonio Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.