We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations, superior customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2838 Cinema Ridge, San Antonio, TX 78238   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #46 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Spring, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great accommodations, superior customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was there recently celebrating a family member's graduation from Lackland AFB. Robert at the front desk couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. The manager was also friendly and greeted guests. He even treated my grandson with a treat. Robert went above and beyond to take care of my daughter-in-law and grandson who arrived before I did. they really treated you like family. The accommodations were wonderful. Excellent location with no road noise and our 2 bedroom suite was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    26
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
93
8
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

While we are not too impressed with our first visit to Texas, the hotel certainly offset the negative of the heat and bad drivers. The location is set back a little, which was very nice. It was not too busy and so close to the highway and 410 turn around. The hotel is very welcoming. There is plenty of free parking and we noticed a rope-type of barricaded basketball area with special flooring on the side of the building where the indoor pool is. The lobby was very nice. The staff greets you immediately with a very pleasant tone. Everything is clean so far! Slightly different and unique decor than other hotels where they have high stools at a counter for people to watch the large screen tv, eat, talk, etc., in addition to the regular chairs, tables, couch, etc. We were unexpectedly very early, but hoped we could check in early if our room was ready. Thankfully, it was ready! All along the way up to and including our room was clean. I found the bed to be a little odd. I can't explain it, but the mattress was......different. The pillows were great! Still slept well. The only negative in our room and in the lobby were some furniture that needed to be reupholstered, because the furniture is clean and in perfectly working condition. Normal wear and tear just needs to be replaced. We went to do some shopping for our kitchenette and when we returned we discovered how good the mid week social hour is. Free beverages including wine and beer along with food. The staff is incredibly accommodating. We were going to be in our room quite a bit during the days so we did not have maid service on any of the days, but I did see them frequently as I replenished my room with supplies, gave them trash, etc. They were very nice and accommodating, as well. Katherine and Robert M at the front desk were incredibly nice and went above and beyond expectations. The FREE breakfast offered a large variety of items from eating very healthy to not so healthy. Completely your choice!! Waffles, eggs, fruit, bacon or sausage (depends on the day), biscuits and gravy, juices, salsa, sour cream, cereal, etc. All together, it was an extremely great stay and would definitely go back. I would have rated this hotel a 5 if it wasn't for some of the furniture that needs attention. I would have rated it 4 1/2 if I was allowed to!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here while attending a week-long conference and thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The staff proved very friendly. My suite was well-maintained and housekeeping kept the room looking stellar during my stay. The extensive breakfast each morning provided a wide variety of choices, which I really enjoyed. My bill was correct at check out. Several restaurants were within easy walking distance of the hotel. I will gladly stay here again. Among all the Residence Inns in which I have stayed, this location ranks among the top 10%.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We will stay here again, however renovation is needed to achieve Marriott standards. Some of the furniture was worn, carpet was stained, and a few smells came from the kitchen sink. However overall it was clean and comfortable. We really like the space that you get in each room, typical of the residence inns we've stayed at before.

The complimentary breakfast was good enough and a convenient way to start the day with kids. It is about 10 minutes from Sea World, which was our primary destination. There are 2 good family style steak restaurants and a huge movie theater within walking distance. It's far enough away from the 410 interstate that you don't hear the traffic noise. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms with two beds actually sleep 6 (including sleeper sofa), and 1 BR suite only sleeps 4. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our 5 night stay at the Residence Inn Sea World/Lackland in San Antonio was a very comfortable, enjoyable experience, where we were treated like family. We had chosen the Residence Inn for our trip to San Antonio because of its 2-bedroom, 2-bath suites with living room and full kitchen to accommodate our party of 4 adults and one child as well as its proximity to Lackland Air Force base where my son was graduating from basic training. The hotel was 10 minutes from Lackland AFB, 15 minutes from Sea World and 20 minutes from the airport.

The nice-sized room gave us the opportunity to bring our son back to the hotel to rest, relax and visit us comfortably. The rooms are attractively decorated and had 3 flat screen televisions. Since we all had chargeable items (phones, computers, kindles, etc.) we were amazed at the available outlets! Each lamp had sockets in them, in addition to regular outlets. The kitchen had a full sized refrigerator and stove, so we could have cooked had we wanted to, but our days were chocked full with activities. We ate at the 2 steak restaurants on the same street as the hotel, the Texas Roadhouse and the Saltgrass Steakhouse (especially good).

My family really enjoyed the hotel's free morning breakfasts which included eggs, sausage, oatmeal (with all sorts of toppings), a self-cooking waffle machine, and either pancakes, french toast, or biscuits and gravy for the days we were there. Also available was a decent assortment of cereals, breads, and muffins, juices, and the most delicious coffee. We also appreciated the hotel's "social hour" (from 5:30 - 7:30 pm, Tuesday through Thursday) where they served us free beer, wine and snacks. That was a very pleasant surprise.

A few us used the indoor pool and spa. Before we had gotten to San Antonio, we didn't understand why they would have an indoor pool. Once we got there and realized how HOT San Antonio is in August, we appreciated the cool pool indoors!

The hotel not only offered hardwired broadband and wireless internet in the room, but they also had a guest computer in the lobby area with free printing. That made it very convenient to simply print out our boarding passes.

Everyone who worked at the front desk was extremely helpful by printing out driving directions or explaining the 410 Loop (and why it kept changing from east to north to west to south!) We couldn't have asked for nicer.

The only 2 cons I can think of:
1, It would have been helpful if there were more than 3 towels in each bathroom each day. When you have sleeping arrangements for 6 people, one more in each bathroom would have been helpful. By the time you need the extra towel, it's too late to ask.
2. We heard that the hotel was full, so when my oldest son brought my Air Force son back to base at night, there were no more spaces available when he returned. So he parked at the Holiday Inn across the street. Not much the hotel can do about that but thought I'd mention it.

Other than that, it was a wonderful trip, a wonderful family-style hotel and a great experience. I would definitely recommend it and return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a very nice hotel and we found it convenient to Lackland and easy to get other areas of San Antonio. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very quick to handle any concerns we had; also good with directions. Room was spacious and clean; we had a 1 bedroom suite. There was plenty space for computers in the living area. The breakfast each morning was very good with a nice variety of hot and cold items. Enjoyed the pool, spa and workout areas. There is a laundry room with washers and dryers which was a nice option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Front desk needs to understand how to greet guests, particularly platinum status guests. Every other Marriott branded hotel has done this. Had corner room on 3rd floor - needed work as there was dirty walls, water stained carpets and upholstry that needed needle and thread.

No onsite restaurant for lunch and dinners, no alcoholic beverages (they are in liquor license submission process).

Manager was friendly and outgoing. Always asked how things were with sincerity in his voice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld

Address: 2838 Cinema Ridge, San Antonio, TX 78238
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#63 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio Seaworld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.