We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 N. St Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #51 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Everything worth seeing in San Antonio was located within a 10-minute walk of this hotel. Very clean, modern, with internet access and a dedicated computer to print boarding passes. Decent snacks and drinks at the hotel Bistro as well. The bed was comfy with lots of pillows. Staff was very kind and helpful.

My only peeve was the compact fluorescent lighting, but creative lampshades hid the harshness of it, except for the bathroom. (But what can you do when most hotel chains are going CF lighting now?)

Outside of the Riverwalk, San Antonio was kind of run down and I was uncomfortable walking the downtown streets alone, because of the culture down there that seems to encourage men to catcall women - but it was fun for a long weekend.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    122
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
86
5
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Overall, this was a great hotel, especially for what I'm accustomed to with Courtyards. It's a high-rise (maybe 13 floors) bar/lounge/restaurant area and all of the other amenities. Additionally, it appeared to be recently renovated and was sparkling clean. For the overall price and location, it's a great option for those traveling to San Antonio - right on the Riverwalk.

If you're not on business, the only drawback is a $25 valet parking charge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I booked this hotel after looking at the trip advisor reviews.
My trip was for leisure and I stayed for 2 nights.
This is my fifth time staying in San Antonio on the Riverwalk, first time at the Courtyard.

Location: It is near the Omni La Mansion. It has an entrance from the riverwalk which is from the back of the hotel, with an outdoor patio, which is very nice. From the front of the hotel, the riverwalk entrance is right off St.Mary's street infront of the hotel. Its close to everything, and at night it was pretty quiet.

Lobby: Because of the shape of the hotel, the lobby is very narrow and long. Walk all the way to the back and there is a small bistro that serves food and starbucks coffee, and has happy hour from 5-7pm. I did not eat here, but if you are a starbucks fan, they really don't serve starbucks brewed coffee here, they make you an americano instead. There is free popcorn and coffee in the lobby as well as a business center and a small store where you can buy water, beer, chips, etc for about double the price you normally would, but at least it is open 24 hours when you need it.

Pool/Hottub: On the second floor of the hotel. Since it is located on a lower level, and flanked by two tall buildings, you don't get any sunlight reaching the pool.

Rooms: They are very small, but very clean. Ours did not have a balcony, nor a view of the riverwalk, and it felt claustrophobic at times. There is an empty small sized fridge in the room which is nice. The iron was old and stained, so beware if you need to iron something nice, and the hairdryer was equally as old. The bathrooms had no vent, so if you took a shower, your room eventually started to feel stuffy and hot. There are also no bathrobes.

Overall, I was pleased with how clean and neat the rooms were, but I don't think it was worth the high price of the hotel. There was nothing extra or special in the room or the hotel. It was average. I think it would be a great place to stay if you are coming for business but if you are going for leisure I would rather stay at a hotel that offered more amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed at the Courtyard RW on the long LD weekend. Was welcomed with a warm smile and got a room overlooking the riverwalk on request. The back of the hotel opens into the riverwalk. Was great to just stepout for the romantic evening walk and step in when needed the "siesta". Room was nice as per Courtyard standards. The bed and pillows are reasons enough to stay here. Staff was helpful. Especially in arranging the early morning (4am) cab ride to the airport for the morning flight. I would stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

This hotel was perfect for a tour base on our trip. As a gov't employee, I got a terrific rate for a hotel on the Riverwalk. It was an easy walk to all of the bars, restaurants, and a pick up for the river boat tour. I really enjoyed the healthy breakfast options at The Bistro and the free coffee in the lobby (I'm not a fan of Starbucks but that is served in the Bistro for those who are). You can also get a drink at the Bistro and sit on the balcony or go down to the patio and overlook the river - very relaxing. The Alamo is only a few blocks away as is the Via bus/trolley ticket office for easy transportation. Go to the Texas Land & Cattle Company for the best mojito (if you get the right bartender). With 3 adult women, we found the room was spacious enough. The free bottles of water in the cooler at the main entrance was very appreciated in the summer heat! Popcorn is also served in the lobby but I'm not sure at what time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We had a king room with a mini bar area, desk, etc. At check-in, we asked for and received a room overlooking the river. I found the modern room to be very comfortable and the location just right for what we needed. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

If you read the reviews, you will notice that people complain about the small size of the rooms and rightfully so. Not a lot of room to move around in there. When we arrived, they informed us the pool was being remodeled. We were NOT happy to hear that. They told us we could use the pool at the Rivercenter but of course, we would have to pay the parking fee over there. I asked the Manager for a better answer and was informed we could use the location at the Market Square and not pay parking. We went there but, still a hassle and not convienent. We did a lot of sight-seeing so we paid the steep price for the valet service. If you are going to hang on the river, I suggest you skip the valet and park it yourself. The valet garage cannot hold more than two vehicles so you may end up waiting a bit. The entrance to the Riverwalk is fairly new and you are not too far from the resturants. A little over- priced for me. Will not stay there again due to the small rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 207 N. St Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk hotel is centrally located next to shopping and dining on the historic San Antonio Riverwalk. The spacious guest rooms in our San Antonio hotel offer sweeping views of the city and are only minutes from popular attractions, including the Alamo, Majestic Theatre, the Alamodome and Hemisfair Park. Unique among hotels near the San Antonio Riverwalk, our state-of-the art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy the amenities of our San Antonio, TX Riverwalk hotel, from catching up on work in our business center to relaxing in our pool or staying in shape in our fitness center. It's a new stay at the Courtyard Riverwalk hotel by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.