We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staybridge only as a last resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4320 Spectrum One, San Antonio, TX 78230 (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #48 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
leander
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Staybridge only as a last resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Upon arriving at Staybridge Suites I noticed quite a few men hanging around the front entrance. Quite a few business vehicles (such as construction companies), a dirty curtain in one of the lower front windows. Frankly, my sister and I were hesitant about going in! We had, however, booked our stay w/Priceline and wouldn't be able to get a refund. So, in we go.

The young woman at the front desk was really very nice; and we were checked in quickly. Our room was OK; but we had just stayed at the Doubletree and expected more for the $15 extra that Staybridge charged.

The room had a dirty feeling. Frumpy sofa, rumpled bed, a bit of dirt on the bathroom floor, badly in need of paint. We were given a handicap room (though we didn't need it) and had a trouble w/water getting out of the walk-in shower. Actually a LOT of water came out which we mopped up w/towels.

The bed was comfortable and the linens felt like a good quality. There were 2 tv's with lots of channels.

Not all was bad; but I would not return nor recommend it to others.

  • Liked — There was a FANTASTIC complimentary breakfast and they provide early evening food on T-T nights.
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
13
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We just returned from a trip to San Antonio and stayed 6 nights at this hotel. When we arrived from the Amtrak station ( 6 hours late!) the staff was welcoming and efficient. We stayed in a two bedroom, 3 bed suite which included 2 bathroms, 3 TVs and a full kitchen. We have 4 kids and there was plently of room to spread out. The suite was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. In the morning, they serve free hot breakfast which includes eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, cereals, yogurt and a variety of coffees. There was a staff member on duty every day and she was excellent in keeping all the selections full and the eating areas clean. The pool and patio area are beautiful with flowers and a small fountain, there is even a large electric grill for guest to use. I would definitely recommend this hotel for familes, the customer service was excellent and the cleaniness was very good.

  • Liked — large suites
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

Stayed here about a month and was pretty happy with it. Complimentary food was great! They had free breakfasts, but also had regular buffet style snack stuff sometimes in late afternoons, with beverages. Complimentary coffees downstairs. The place was quiet and clean. I can't say the staff was all that knowledgeable, twice I had issues and they sent someone up who didn't know how to fix the issue. The weight room disappointed me, because at the time of my stay the main weight machine was out of order (it's a pretty small weight room with mostly treadmills) and it never got fixed and the staff were obviously not too quick to bother fixing it. Every time we went in it was still broken.

  • Liked — It's quiet and roomy
  • Disliked — The staff were not on the ball
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

What a great stay. We checked in and about an hour after we checked in the front desk called our room to make sure everything was as should be. The room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, the staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was amazing (I had a waffle, egg omlet, and some ham (they also had cereal, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, etc)! I highly recommend them.

  • Liked — The rooms are bigger than normal hotel rooms and there is a small kitchen-ette
  • Disliked — I liked everything!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

The good - very friendly staff, large rooms that are quieter than some libraries coupled with the excellent Staybridge hot breakfast. Workout area actually had a useable weight machine which was an unexpected feature.

The bad - none

Other -
The staff gives the impression that they actually live onsite and would like you to be their guest. Will stay again.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

only reason why it doesn't rate 5 circles is beacuse the pillows/beds weren't the most comfortable...pillows too 'high' and beds on the very firm side. Stayed here while vacationing at SeaWorld. Would definitely stay here again given the cleanliness, convenience, friendly helpful front desk staff, and great warm breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

We just returned from a vacation in San Antonio and had never stayed at the Staybridge before. We had two kids with us but found everyone very kid friendly. We slept great, ate great and found ourselves not lacking for much of anything. I would stay there again and highly recommend the staff and the hotel. It was clean, had a heated pool, basketball court/ volleyball area, gym etc. Great for family or business and of course had internet access. The breakfast was free but outstanding all the way.
Very nice.
White Oak
Texas

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center

Address: 4320 Spectrum One, San Antonio, TX 78230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#46 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#48 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Northwest Colonnade offers guests a pleasant atmosphere, accessible location, and many of the same comforts of home. Our 3-story, interior corridor hotel is ideally located next door to the San Antonio Medical Center, at Interstate 10 West/Wurzbach, which provides easy access to the South Texas Medical Center, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Shops at La Cantera, and a 10 minute drive to our famous Alamo, and River Walk. We are also only located 12 miles (20 minutes) from the San Antonio International Airport (SAT) and located conveniently to top companies like USAA, USTA, Harris Corp and Toyota. We have studio, 1 bedroom, and 2 bedroom suites, each with full kitchens that are sure to meet the needs of any traveler, whether it be for a night, a week or longer. Pets are also welcome at a minimal fee. During your stay, we invite you to take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center and free laundry services. A refreshing outdoor pool, sports court and BBQ pavilion are also provided for your recreation. Each morning, be sure to visit our hotel s complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and in the evening, join us in our community great room for complimentary beverages and hors d oeuvres Tuesday - Thursday. We also have wireless Internet throughout the hotel, free of charge. As you plan your trip, we encourage you to explore our excellent rates and make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Nw-Colonnade Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.