We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Spring Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A perfect Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I travel every week and stay in many hotels. This hotel has some bad reviews and I cannot figure out why at all. Our trip started with a friendly check in from George who works in the guard shack he was friendly and wonderful. He gave my two kids ice cream tickets to start the trip. Next up ... Check in followed where the front desk staff presented my kids with two great little gift bags and raccoons stuffed animals for my 8 year old and 4 year. The location near Sea World and The Shops at La Cantera make it a perfect desination for a family. Smores every night at the fire pit, movies out on the lawn every night. The Discovery Junction and swim pool keep your kids busy all day long. Arts and crafts a scavenger hunt non stop activites. I cannot say enough about the pool staff during the day. The people in the lounge at the Royal Club. We are coming back next year to this hotel with two other couples and kids. This place is staffed like crazy for kids!!!
The shops close by give you tons to do at night to hit different restaurants. Two of our favorites Grimaldis pizza and the Orange Cup for yogurt!!

San Antonio has alot to do for families and this hotel is PERFECT for kids and or adult who want a break. (they have an adult pool and it never looked that crowded!)

Thanks to all of the stuff for making this a perfect spring break trip. GO TO THIS HOTEL IT IS WONDERFUL.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Jami Champagne, DIrector of Guest Experience at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your families Spring Break experience and for recognizing the service provided by George at the Security Welcome Station. We are very proud of our associates and will certainly recognize George for his efforts. I personally agree that Grimaldis Pizza and The Orange Cup are great additions to The Shops at La Cantera. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Jami Champagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    298
    134
    69
    49
See reviews for
437
257
23
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I'll start with the Pros: Ben the bartender was great. Great shopping nearby. Very close to Fiesta Texas. Beautiful area in general. Mimi's Cafe in The Rim had a GREAT breakfast! Starbucks on site is a big plus. Pools gorgeous and would have been fun had it been warmer.

Cons: The sheets on our bed were TOO SHORT! There was at least 4 inches at the foot of the bed where mattress and mattress pad were exposed. GROSS. Asked the maid service to remake the bed, but the sheet was just pulled to the very edge, just enough to cover the mattress, not tucked in, so as soon as you sat down the mattress was exposed again.

Had a reserved tee time at the Palmer course. We arrived early to have lunch there, it was 12 noon. The restaurant was empty except for a couple people eating at the bar. One waitress was standing around and even though we were 10 feet from her she did not acknowledge us until we asked her if they were serving lunch. she looked confused (what? lunch at noon at a restaurant? We must have been nuts!) and went to find another waiter. He came in and seemed irritated we were there, and said they were open for lunch but they were expecting 75 tournament players later and the restaurant would be full, but we could still have a table. How this was supposed to matter to us was beyond me. If the restaurant was reserved for the tournament they should have said so and we would have been on our way. We were seated and he took our drink order - 5 minutes later and we're STILL without drinks, restaurant still empty. 2 golfers came in and ordered the exact drinks we had ordered from the same waiter and they were served immediately. At this point we got up and left the restaurant. Unbelievable rudeness.

We expect so much from the Westin, they are usually our hotel of choice anywhere we go, but we'll think twice from now on.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Jami Champagne, Director of Guest Experience at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
First and foremost, please accept my sincere apology on behalf of the entire resort for your experience while trying to enjoy lunch at The Palmer Clubhouse. Our goal is for you to have an enjoyable, relaxing and wonderful experience throughout the resort and we did not deliver this to you. I would also like to thank you for providing feedback on the make up of your bed. We are ensuring that every room attendant understands the proper heavenly sheets to use on each bed. As a loyal Westin guest, I hope that you will be willing to provide us another opportunity to deliver the experience you should have received. Thank you for recognizing the service delivered by Ben, we will recognize his efforts and I assure you on your next visit we will not make the same mistakes.

Sincerely,
Jami Champagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This hotel's service is truly subpar. Absolutely no recognition as a Platinum SPG member, including not receiving a Platinum amenity. Platinum concierge booked my family of 4 two queens, but upon checking in, we were told they only had one king for us. Our room was not upgraded at all. We were charged for 4 nights of internet which is supposed to be complimentary to Platinum guests. There were other service and bill related problems. Housekeeping went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. Also, the kids activities are great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Jami Champagne, Director of Guest Experience at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience as a Platinum SPG Member. I am very sorry that we did not deliver the experience or recognition that you deserve as a loyal Starwood traveler. We strive to provide special recognition and a sincere thank you to all of our SPG members and we clearly did not deliver this to you. Our goal is to provide our Platinum SPG Members with an upgraded accommodation, complimentary internet, the choice of amenity upon arrival and access to our Royal Hacienda Lounge. I do hope that you will be willing to give us another opportunity to provide you with a wonderful Westin La Cantera experience. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know what happened so that we can ensure this does not happen again.

Sincerely,
Jami Champagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Husband and I took the kids to San Antonio for spring break and we went to Six Flags; had a blast! Upon ariving to the hotel we were greeted by the very friendly staff, were checked in by excellent front desk attendents, but overall from our experience at the pool it was not soo good. We normally go to the other resort in town but decided to check our the westin. We missed the lazy river and hyatt pool staff. The Westin La Cantera staff at the gantry pool seemed to be under trained and very unaware of whats going on around the resort. We understand though, its an outside atmosphere so they probably arent as picky on who they hire. (probably dont have a choice in hiring, when its a seasonal job) It took 22 minutes to get a beer and a margarita after we gave up on the server and went to the bar. I had ordered a wrap but got a poolside salad instead. Ate the salad anyways and it was really good. My husband asked what beers were on tap and the server had to go back and ask. after we went back to our room this day, we ran into a supervisor: his name was lawrence who asked us how we were doing but then got interrupted by keith an employee. Lawrence promised to come back out to talk to us but he never did. If your looking to do everythng else besides the pool - this may be the resort for you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Director of Guest Experience at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Thank you for choosing to spend Spring Break at The Westin La Cantera Resort. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your pool experience. I apologize that our service did not meet your expectations, or our own. We are very committed to selecting the right associates and providing them the tools and training to deliver exceptional service. We have since completed an extensive training program to ensure that all of our poolside associates are able to help create a wonderful and memorable experience for all of our guests. We certainly hope that you choose to return to The Westin La Cantera Resort soon and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence and provide a positive and memorable poolside experience.

Sincerely,
Jami Champagne
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We were there 3 nights for spring break. The rooms we booked weren't available so they moved us to rooms overlooking the pool with a nice balcony. Don't know if this was better than what we booked as we never saw those rooms. We had the Concierge package which gave us continental breakfast w/ starbucks coffee every morning and snacks and free drinks from 5-7pm each evening. Definitely recommend that. Overall, a very nice stay. Location of the resort was excellent. Six Flags right down the hill. Shops at La Cantera very nice. I am not a shopper, but my wife and girls loved it. Pool was partially heated and a little smaller than we thought it would be. No lazy river, just a connecting section between pools. The teen activity room is pretty lame. Just a small room with a couple of tv's with Wii's.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Director of Guest Experience at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed Spring Break at The Westin La Cantera Resort. We agree that our close proximity to Six Flags Fiesta Texas and The Shops at La Cantera, along with our complimentary shuttle to get you there, make great options for our guests to enjoy. The rooms that you enjoyed overlooking the pool are our most popular room types due to the larger floor plan and extended balconies. Hopefully the girls were able to enjoy Discovery Junction with the giant inflatable water slide, slip -n- slide and our complimentary arts & crafts offered daily in the lobby. The Rock'n T Lounge is a new addition at The Westin La Cantera and offers Wii, Guitar Hero, Play station 3, X-BOX 360 and a table area to enjoy hanging out or playing board games. Thank you for your feedback regarding this area, we will certainly work to make sure we are explaining the offerings and will continue to look for ways to make it more inviting and fun for our teens.
We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Sincerely,
Jami Champagne
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

We just stayed at La Cantera for our kids' spring break and it is a gorgeous property with beautiful decor and views of the Texas Hill Country. There is a Starbucks in the lobby which was great, very convenient (although it closes at 6 pm). Kids under 5 eat free, although we noticed this varied from meal to meal. There is no wi-fi and no Pay-Per-View movies and maybe 8-10 channels total (they did have HBO). All employees were very friendly and nice, but not all could completely deliver. We had reserved a casita by phone and when we arrived we were told "it's not ready" which we took to mean that housekeeping had not yet cleaned it. We later walked by the casitas area and turns out that all the casitas were being painted and refurbished. We were, however, given a king luxury suite which was fabulous and much more room than the casita, so we were very appreciative. Our children were given Kid's Club bags each with a stuffed animal, hat and art activities, which was a very nice touch. The service was well-intentioned, warm, but at times vague and ineffectual. Examples: 1) the first full day we were there, we were gone from 10 am - 4:30 pm. When we returned to our room, housekeeping still had not cleaned it. 2) the kids hot tub was ice cold, we alerted the staff several times and were told it would be checked out. Turns out it was missing a part which was on order. The hot tub was fixed our last day. Since we were visiting from another state and went the week before the Texas spring break, the resort was pretty empty, so we were allowed to take our children to the adult hot tub, which was even better, but had their been other adults there, we would have been out of luck. The pools were unheated, so hot tubs were the saving grace for our teeth-chattering children.
3) the Kids' Club looks great on paper, but did not always deliver. After consulting a printed, dated schedule, we took our kids to s'mores at the fire pit and were told they had no dry firewood. Oven-baked s'mores were graciously brought to our dinner table, but as everyone knows, the roasting process is half the fun. 4) We also dropped our kids off at the Kid's Club for movie night so we could eat at the hotel's best restaurant, Francesca's (top notch meal, BTW) and the three teenagers/young twenties employees said, "You're going to leave them here - you're not staying?" We thought, isn't that kind of the point of movie night??? We were gone for all of an hour and a half. It seemed kind of like they were disappointed that they had charges and could not have the night off. Our kids said they were nice, popped them popcorn, but again, kind of vague service. 5) Another item on the Kid's Club schedule was four inflatable water slides/jumpy things on the tennis courts. We showed up and were told they were just then setting them up and cleaning them "for Friday when the spring breakers come" (we were departing Thursday). Our kids were allowed to use one of them but the water feature was off for the most part. My sense was that even though these activities were advertised they didn't think anyone would show up so they were never up and running 100%. That night, we did get a lovely hand-written note from a young employee apologizing about the inflatables and he had cookies and milk in our kids' room to make up for it. I thought it was a very impressive gesture and thanked him in person. If only the whole staff was as attentive as he! 6) The last day, we called for a bellman and twenty minutes later, we were still sitting in our room, waiting. I finally had to go to the front desk in person. There were very few people at the hotel when we were, so I'm not sure what was going on. Again, we did have a lovely time, but the service was a little spotty. I would go back again, though, but maybe a few weeks later after the "real spring breakers" were there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiChampagne, Director of Guest Experience at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Thank you so much for providing your feedback from your recent visit to The Westin La Cantera Resort. Your detailed feeback really helps us to identify areas for us to improve the overall guest experience. Our goal is for every guest to leave with wonderful memories and experiences. It is clear to me that in many instances we did not deliver this experience to you and for that I am very sorry. We are working dilligently to ensure all associates are knowledgable and sincere in their service delivery. I hope that you and your family are able to return soon to enjoy Discovery Junction, the rejuvinated Casitas, and the overall experience that we wish you would have experienced on your first trip.

Sincerely,
Jami Champagne
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

My experience at the Westin La Cantera was just wonderful (except for the self-park, which is down the hill from the hotel itself and makes for quite a hike with bags in tow). I cannot think of one person who was not completely friendly and helpful, from the front desk, the Starbucks, the shuttle driver, the gift shop, and the waitstaff at both of the restaurants.

Our rooms were clean, well appointed and quiet, and my bed was extremely comfortable (the comforter is very heavy --- seldom needed here in Texas). The wireless internet worked well from the cozy lobby. While the breakfast buffet was wonderful, the dinner at Francesca's was the highlight of our trip. They also offer shuttle service to and from the Shops at La Cantera, so no need to move your car. All in all a very pleasant trip to a place I would gladly return -- hopefully someday soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#36 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.