We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staycation 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great grand getaway with family. Old world charm with modern conveniences. Wood work in the hotel amazing. Ballroom is grand for events. The sheer size of the ball room area was amazing. Good restaurants in the property. Lots of places to get adult beverages as well. Nice pool with slide and jacuzzis. + Kids activities. Spa and golf and nature trails. Close to la cantera mall and fiesta texas. Parking is quite a stroll away. But views spectacular. Breakfast Buffet wonderful but pricey. Great experience. But march - spring break this year was too cold to appreciate outdoor activities.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay at La Cantera Hill Country Resort. It is great to hear that you enjoyed everything from our adult beverages to our nature trail and spa experiences. I apologize that the weather hindered your ability to enjoy our outdoor activities during your stay but I do hope you will be visiting us during the summer or early fall when the weather is warmer.

We look forward to your next visit to La Cantera!

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    296
    132
    68
    49
See reviews for
434
255
23
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Was fortunate to have had 4 nights for an industry event at this property. Rarely do I have zero complaints but in this case, legitimately, there are next to none. Maybe a little long walk to the self parking, maybe the resort fee for a business stay but the truth -- it's an amazing resort with truly amazing staff.

There was not one negative among any of the staff with whom I came in contact. They are cheerful, content and helpful. The room had spectacular views of the golf course and the hiils. Everything worked in the rooms and the Westin beds are still the best in the industry.

There is obviously something for everyone including kids with a camp area, nice pools and of course grown options of the golf course. Several restaurants and bars are on site. Food was spectacular in them and at the private functions attended. Just a really nice stay in a really nice place with really nice people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Wow Marc! It is great to hear that your stay was "near perfection." I have shared your kind words with our entire staff so that they know their daily interactions are truly what makes a guest's stay memorable. We hope to welcome you back again soon to the San Antonio Hill Country and provide another memorable experience that exceeds your expectations.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was at this hotel for a meeting and never saw my bill until I got home. I noticed the upgrade for being on floor 7. $90 per night for nothing, the club room was just a room with a few sodas the one time I visited it, the room was average, nothing royal about it. No evening turn down or freshen up, just average at best. I called hotel and was told yes this was a legit charge. Extremely disappointed , buyer beware and I guess I should have complained immediately, but rate was not shown to me on check in! I think this is a former Westin and Westin dropped them for good reason!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the resort for the experience you encountered. We strive to provide each guest with a memorable stay and it is clear that you did not encounter this. Our Royal Hacienda level, located on the 7th floor, offers 45 deluxe rooms with the resort’s best views, a dedicated concierge team, continental breakfast in our exclusive lounge, evening hors d’oeuvres and preferred restaurant and golf reservations during your stay.

My contact information is below and I welcome the opportunity to speak to you personally about your experience. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn your valued business and trust again.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We love the La Cantera Resort. So many fun kids activities, great pools and a water slide too. Our little boy's favorite place to go. We love how safe we feel about him just being able to swim and play at the pool area. I personally love the shuttle to and from the mall. Next time we will rent in Casita Village.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort. I was happy to read that we are your son's favorite place to go! We hope that you will be able to join us again for an upcoming summer getaway in the Casita Village as you mentioned. There you will find a private pool for Casita guests and have the use of your own golf cart to help you explore property at your own leisure.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed at the resort for 3 nights and I cannot say enough about how polite, friendly, and helpful every member of the staff was. Bed was ridiculously comfortable, complimentary bottled waters were much appreciated, and view was outstanding. Hot tip: the veggie humus wrap in the cafe is super yummy!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Your five star review is much appreciated! Thank you for mentioning the friendliness and of our entire staff. Our associates take pride in what they do and enjoy sharing this special place with each of our guests. I will make sure to share your feedback and let chef know how amazing your veggie humus wrap was! We look forward to welcoming you back for repeat visit!

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed on property for 3 days. All good. Nice one mile nature trail for walking. Convenient shuttle to shopping etc. A little far from airport, taxi was $45.Well worth the trip and would go again. Great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Dan, Thank you for your recent review of your stay at La Cantera Hill Country Resort. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our nature trail, shuttle service and staff to be so great. We look forward to welcoming you back again for a repeat visit!

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

La Cantera resort is a large resort in hill country near San Antonio. Great pool area with views. Most rooms have views of golf course or San Antonio. Could probably use one more person at front desk, because is always busy, but staff trys hard and will fix any problems. Food was good at pool resturant. Shuttle to golf course and 6 flags. Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Larry, On behalf of the resort, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at La Cantera Hill Country Resort. I appreciate your mentions of our pools and views of the surrounding hill country but most importantly I appreciate your mention of our staff and their effort to make your stay memorable.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to La Cantera Hill Country Resort for a repeat visit.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#39 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.