We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Way to End Our Visit to Texas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Way to End Our Visit to Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My family and I have been getting into the habit of staying at Westin resorts and we love the luxury feel and reasonable costs of all the Westin resorts. The pool area at La Cantera is probably the most impressive of all the resorts I've visited. The nature trail is definitely a bonus. It's location in the hills above San Antonio is breathtaking! If I'm ever back in San Antonio I will definitely be back to stay at La Cantera.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room on one of the higher floors. The view is worth it. Avoid staying on the floor belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We love the Nature Trail too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    316
    139
    72
    52
See reviews for
462
275
23
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was recently at LA CANTERA RESORT for two nights with my sister. The resort is very nice and projects to have great amenities to include security. After all to enter the resort , you must first check in with the security guard at the entrance of the resort and give your reservation last name and /or room number .
AS most women who support retail, we shopped until we dropped at La Cantera Mall and at the Rim and spent a great deal of money and time shopping.
Upon returning to the resort and self parking our vehicle down below to get to our room in the Casitas section of the resort, we were so tired that we decided to leaves our shopping bags in the car overnight. We felt confident that our things would be safe at the resort. Note: nothing was left in plain sight(no hanging bags , etc). I drive a suburban with an alarm and dark tinted windows.
We woke up and discovered that our car had been broken into some time in the evening while we slept. all of our belongings had been taken from the back end of the suburban only. it was a quick, sleek job , leaving no sign of any thing. no glass was broken; the hatchback glass compartment had been tampered with enough to pry open the car. Unbelievable!! i filed a police report and was told by La Cantera Security that at that point there was absolutely nothing they could do once the case was in the hands of law enforcement. It was all handled very poorly on the hotel's part.
Very disappointing for such a fine, upscale resort in north San Antonio. Shoppers BEWARE!!! Do not leave any personal effects behind in your automobiles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family and my brother's family took my parents here for their 50th Wedding Anniversary. I called ahead and spoke with the concierge to give them advance notice. They arranged dinner in a private dining area for ten on a busy holiday weekend, had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in their room. Amazingly attentive. The rooms are absolutely beautiful with the best linens. 5 Stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Came here for the Labor Day weekend, prices are great, food is good and they do what they say that's what makes the difference. I haven't finished up my trip I have 2 days left and having a great time. If anything goes wrong I will follow up and right about it. All I can say about this hotel is it's great and affordable their room service menu is well priced not red oculus like the competition. And service is very prompt. So if coming to SA try it out I found great deals on cheapoair.com

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What I really liked about this hotel are the pools and activities they had available for the kids! There is a small shallow pool for the toddlers and a water slide for the bigger kids. My kids are ages 5 and 2. They LOVED the pool! I guess it doesn't really take much to keep them happy. We went to their Westin Kids Club for Zoomagination during our stay and it was so cool! I think I enjoyed it as much as the kids did. They let us pet the different animals from reptiles to wallabies. We learned so much about the animals and the kids thought it was so much fun.

The hotel location is great as well. It's about 5 minutes from 1604 and I-10. The Shops at La Cantera had great shopping and lots of restaurant choices to choose from. Six Flags was directly across the street from the hotel.

I gave this property a 4 instead of a 5 because of the rooms. Though they had great amenities for families, the rooms could've used a little bit of up-keep. The walls had black marks like someone accidentally scraped their luggage across the wall. The furniture had minor stains. And the carpets looked a little worn out. Just a little bit of minor maintenance fixes should do the trick!

Overall, it was a fun place to stay with the family. Just a quick tip: We arrived the third week of August and we just missed the summer rush of people trying to get in their vacation before school started. Capacity was at less than 30%. So, if you're thinking about the best time to go and don't want to deal with the crowds, the third week in August is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great get away from big city hotels ... great views ... great service. You do the spa let him do the golf.. you won't be disappointed ..The food, the beds and the pool. You can't find much nicer golf .....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Here's the skinny - we decided to stay close to home (Houston) this summer and visit some of the golf and resort spas in Austin and San Antonio areas (can't afford to go to Maui EVERY summer!). We went to Hyatt Lost Pines, Barton Creek, Hill Country Hyatt and the Westin La Cantera, and our favorite was.....La Cantera. That's not to say it doesn't have some room for improvement but, all in all, for a fun family getaway, this was our favorite. They all offer pretty much the same things - golf, pools, game rooms, fitness centers, nature trails, evening s'mores and outdoor movies for the fam, but La Cantera does it better than the others. The way this resort is laid out, it just works. Lobby, pool, movies, golf, nature trail, etc. just all flow together abd are surrounded by the beautiful white limestone hotel building that looks Mediterranean. What makes it stand out from the rest? The food, the beds and the pool. You can't find much nicer golf than what Barton Creek has to offer but the pool has much to be desired. Lost Pines has the best lazy river but misses the mark in other areas. Hill Country Hyatt is beautiful but the pool can't touch La Cantera's (although they were building a water park when we were there so that could change). But there's still the food and beds. How many kid's menus have you seen with grilled salmon on it for $7.50? It was a first for us and it was delicious. The beds were SO comfortable that we're seriously considering buting one of their mattresses from their online store! Granted, we haven't stayed at EVERY golf and spa resort inTexas (or on Maui for that matter) but we have stayed at several others not mentioned here at other times. The JW Marriott in SA looks very nice and from what I've heard it may give La Cantera a run for it's money. Don't get me wrong - all of these resorts are AWESOME. Complaints on here are usually from the one off bad experience and not the norm. So how could La Cantera possibly be any better? I'm glad you asked. $4 ice teas and sodas and $12.99 for a child's breakfast buffet? Really?! How much food can a 6 or 8 year child can eat? I'd say mine ate about $3-5 worth. When your competition (e.g. Barton Creek) is charging $6.99 for a equally impressive buffet, something's wrong. I'm a business man and understand the need to make a profit, but is this really where you want to do it? $3 for bottled water and another $3 for a small bag of popcorn at the "complimentary" movie? Isn't this what we pay a $27 resort fee for? I don't think the Hyatts charged for any of the refreshments at their movies. What's next? Charge for the s'mores? We, the consumer, have a lot of options (I've only named a few). Is La Cantera the nicest of those we visited this summer and would we return? Without a doubt. Will we? Well, that's another question and not as easy to answer as it should be. It should be a no brainer. Thanks to exorbitant pricing on some of the things I mentioned, we'll have to think about that before deciding. Too bad. $7.50 for fresh grilled salmon vs $12.99 for an all you can eat breakfast buffet for a child? $8.99 I can swallow. $9.99 is pushing it. $12.99? C'mon. Aren't families with children who you want coming to your resort?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate your feedback on pricing and will use it to inform our decisions. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa
Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa
#31 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Far West Side
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
#8 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio Six Flags at The RIM
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.