We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort! Top Notch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Save Saved
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort) (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Texas Resident Offer!
Ranked #29 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Helotes, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Resort! Top Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night of our wedding two years ago in one of the casitas The 2 days we stayed prior to flying to Hawaii were exquisite . Rhonda and her staff did an amazing job. The resort is second to none, not even to the 2 resorts we stayed in when we went to Hawaii. 2 years later as a surprise to my wife I called up Westin and yet again Rhonda and her staff did not fail and did an amazing job again. All the staff is friendly and nice, plus if you stay in one of the casitas you get a golf cart to drive yourself to the main hotel! Food was great and again service was excellent!!! I Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your great review! We hope to see you for many more anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    700
    266
    121
    63
    42
See reviews for
401
242
22
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. We spent Easter weekend in San Antonio at the La Cantera with our two little kids (ages 1 and 3). There were plenty of activities for the children, Kids Club, Zoomagination, Nature Walk, Discovery Junction, the pool, Easter Egg Hunt and evening movies. A very family friendly location that maintains a "high end" presence.

Pros: great singer in the lobby in the evenings, the BEST ice cream I've ever had (Blueberry Lavender) at the market, all the many children's activities which we really enjoyed, very reasonable prices for food, wine, etc.

Cons: we booked our room online with points, and I called the next day to inquire about getting an upgrade to a bigger room or suite if I paid for the upgrade. They informed me that I should just ask at check in and they would see what they could do. Unfortunately at check in, they only had TWO rooms available and neither was an upgrade. We ended up in a first floor "patio" room. No real patio, no chairs to sit on outside and absolutely NO view. It was very disappointing. And although we weren't in our room all that much, it would have been nice to have a view.

The food throughout the resort was ok, not great. Although, I will say that we were extremely pleased to learn that kids under 5 eat free at Brannon's. And the chef was very obliging to make my son's special request of "chicken and broccoli" for lunch.

For those with young children, I was extremely happy to know that there was a Target just down the street in the shopping center. It was easy for me to grab snacks, milk, etc for them and just keep it in the minibar.

Overall, we had a great stay and with a better room (one of those lovely casitas perhaps) we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We apologize that we weren't able to accommodate your request for an upgrade. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at Westin La Cantera in March 2013 for business, had been years since I had been there. They definately met the high Westin standards that you see at other Westin locations. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, they have shuttles to get you around for no charge, plenty of onsite dining options. Room was very comfortable, although the resort is pretty large and the hallways wind around making it easy to get turned around. However, after getting lost a couple of times, I finally got oriented and figured it all out. Played golf two days, both the Resort Course and the Palmer Course. Really enjoyed both, very challenging but not one of those courses that no matter how good you hit it you still end up in trouble. Golf rates where more than reasonable. This resort is a great jumping off spot for families looking to hit the San Antonio destinations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I don't think I have ever given any property 5 stars in every single category before. I went to this Westin last weekend with my boyfriend, who has high status with Starwood. We got upgraded to the Club level, so we enjoyed the gorgeous views from the lounge. It is in a great location. You feel like you are miles and miles away from civilization, but you are no more than 5 minutes away from all the shopping you could need. The service was excellent, the property is gorgeous, the rooms are super.

I have to pieces of "constructive criticism" for this property.

1. There were so many dead bugs and bees in the hot tub that we couldn't stay in it. It is really disgusting. Even if you try to push them out, there are still too many left to manage. Why can't someone go and get a net and sweep them out?

2. The breakfast in the club lounge on the 7th floor was very disappointing. I was glad to hear that they had oatmeal, but then we went to eat, it was just the instant oatmeal packets, not the nice "good stuff" you get down in the restaurant. Isn't the idea to give your best customers the best experience? Why penalize those you are trying to reward and get back with the cheapest food possible? How expensive can the good oatmeal from downstairs really be?!?

Overall an amazing experience. We will be back, and often.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We are glad to know that your overall experience exceeded your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the hot tub. While we make every effort to see that they are cleaned regularly, it sounds like some of our "neighbors" at the resort got there first this time. Please don't hesitate to notify our team if you ever encounter this situation again, and we'll be happy to remedy it immediately. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldorado, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed with the TEC Co-op Conference. Our room was cleaned each day promptly and efficiently!! We had delicious food every meal. We never had to wait on an elevator.
Very friendly restaurant and bar service people. The only draw back, the beds were not very comfortable and too small. The beds were double size. We had stayed in Big Spring, TX at a Hampton and their beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is close to Fiesta Texas, La Cantera Mall and other shopping, but bear in mind that if you don't have a car you won't have too many options (though apparently the hotel does offer shuttle service to the mall and I think Fiesta Texas as well). There is plenty of self-parking but it is a fair hike from the hotel, so anyone with mobility problems will likely be better off with valet parking. The views are incredible, though unfortunately the hotel's decor is fairly upscale bland--neutral color palette, forgettable design. Check-in went quickly.

We booked a deluxe King room. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a balcony and a view of the hills, which were nice. The bathtub was large enough though otherwise unmemorable, but the shower was really, really nice--a rain shower head that was very high up, a blessing for the tall among us. Toiletries were nothing out of the ordinary: two soaps, lotion, shampoo and conditioner. The room had the standard items: iron and board, hair dryer, safe, coffeemaker, minibar (you need the key from the front desk, we didn't use it). We only stayed one night and did not use the pools or tennis court, but everything looked quite lovely. Overall, it was a pleasant place to stay but I was not overwhelmed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. For future reference, our shuttle will be happy to give you a lift from the self-parking lot to the front entrance if you would prefer not to walk. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had planned to come to San Antonio for our Spring Break (which started at the tail end of the rest of Texas's spring break) and the Westin was a great choice for our family. My husband is a gold member with SPG and the pictures on the website looked great for this property.

When we arrived we were in awe of how beautiful this property really was. It sits high up in the Hill Country and it affords breathtaking views of the hill country and the city of San Antonio. We were warmly greeted and immediately were offered a room even though it was before check in time. The resort seemed very busy with it being the last weekend of Texas's spring break.

The room was nice with a GORGEOUS view of the Hill Country and the beautiful pool area. We immediately changed and went down to the pool. We ate at the poolside bar and grill and the food was just ok. The drinks were great though! The resort was so busy that there were no spots to sit at the pool. Our kids jumped in and we continued to sit at the shaded table. The kids did complain a little that the pools were not heated. I was surprised, as I thought they would be. But they adjusted and we enjoyed a few cocktails out in the sun. The room was well stocked with reading information about the area and a coffee maker with Starbucks Coffee. The only disappointment with the room was that they offered two double beds. A little tight for our tall family with tall teenagers.

The pool area was gorgeous and the wait staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When we were there later in the week (after Texas schools had gone back to school) there were plenty of chairs available any time of day. They also had a terrific workout room with a view , tennis courts, kids clubs, and an area with blow up jumpers for the small kids. They also offered outdoor movies and smores each evening with no extra charge. What a nice surprise!

The also offered a shuttle to La Cantera Mall (awesome mall) and to Six Flags. We used this service a few times and the people running the shuttle were extremely kind and helpful. The location of this hotel makes it easy to go to Sea World or downtown.

Overall,, I would recommend this hotel to golfers, families, and anyone looking for a weekend getaway in San Antonio. We had a GREAT time and really enjoyed all the hotel had to offer.

CSBM

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.