We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf resort in San Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Golf resort in San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Large golf resort near Great Adventure amusement part. Great location for golf, family fun and a short drive to downtown. Service was very good at hotel except for my check in which took 20 minutes. Francesca's restaurant is outstanding. Palmer's golf course is one of the very best in the area. Nice breakfast buffet each day and worth the package. Disappointed that the spa was closed on President's day weekend. Seems like a bad time to close the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have a nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. Please accept our apologies for the slow check-in and spa being closed. We hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    297
    133
    68
    49
See reviews for
437
255
23
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently was lucky enough to experience an AMAZING meal and heart-warming evening at Francesca's at The Westin La Cantera. My special dinner would not have been possible if it wasn't for the following staff: Stephanie Rideout for coordinating the evening, arranging to have a beautiful floral centerpiece & giving us a first-class smile; Shane Tiller for his warm greeting, attentive service and much appreciated suggestions for tourist day trips; Stephen Gonzalez for taking the time to welcome us, offer menu recommendations and share his culinary experience; and last but not least ... our Server, Jeremey, who was extremely professional, conscientious and made it all possible to have an enjoyable evening. Oh, and by the way, the cuisine was EXCELLENT and presentation truly stunning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Happy birthday! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was here for a conference; the facility is very nice. The public areas are large and pretty. I really enjoyed the 1-mile long nature trail and saw some interesting birds, including a pair of Road Runners.
The rooms are not well insulated. In 4 nights I was here, I was awakened twice by people in the hall, and again when an alarm went off in the next room.
The food is good here, and there a several places to eat, from a coffee shop to a fairly high end restaurant, and another in between. The mushroom empanadas were wonderful! The lobby bar is really nice, with two large fireplaces, and plenty of room to sit and enjoy the view of the lovely terrace behind the hotel.
As for the "hill country view" from my room: it is now marred by a denuded hillside where a housing development is going up!
The staff is helpful, and there is a free shuttle to a large shopping mall that has restaurants, but it is about a $50 taxi ride into town, and a $28 shuttle ride to and from the airport. I am glad I am staying over a few days downtown so I will get a chance to experience San Antonio, which you can't really do from here, if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: I would not pay anything extra for the "hill country view," it's not that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, and please accept our apologies for the noise you experienced in your room. We hope you will be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to say that las casitas at the westin la cantera hill country resort are amazing! My family and I had almost a perfect stay. Only thing is staying away from main hotel cause room service food to suffer a bit not on favor but cold food. But otherwise this property is a must go and pay the upgrade for las casitas so worth it. Great hotel, and the sunday bunch made up for the cold food. Thankyou la cantera

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our casitas. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent room and ambiance. Conference bathrooms required repeated request for refreshing soap and towals - - unacceptable. Views are formidable and the golf course was the home of the Valero Texas Open for a decade. The hotel is far enough from the highway to avoid the noise but close enough for ready access from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the slow response to replacing soap and towels in the restroom. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location near San Antonio and the Texas Hill Country in a peaceful setting with expansive views. Very kind, friendly, helpful staff, the nicest among the many the Westin I have been.
Unless you want to spend the whole time at the resort or at the shopping Malls nearby, it is good to have a rental car to explore the area. I was happy to be on the 7th floor with private lounge breakfast to start the day. The Market shop in the hotel has very good in house made ice cream.
Sara, the manager at the reception, is great.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pond, but you can also have pool view or city view. They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last weekend my boyfriend & I took a trip here for an overnight stay getaway from all the All Star madness in our home city of Houston,Tx. We just wanted to get out of the city & relax for a day. Upon arrival to check out everyone on staff was great! We had a hillside view & it was amazing to wake up to, as we had a huge picture window opposite our bed & all I can say is, Niiiiice! Though the furniture was a bit dated in the room, the comfy bed made up for that. It almost too comfy, but I don't think any bed good be too comfy, comfy is a very good thing. We were so fortunate to have obtained a late check out at 4pm, it was much appreciated & we didn't feel rushed as normal when having to be checked out by noon. We certainly enjoyed that comfy bed & the view for a few more hours. The breakfast was great, we chose the buffet, yummy belgian waffels & strawberries I must say, & they're made into the shape of the great state of Texas, mmmhmmm! ;-) We enjoyed a really nice evening for dinner in the hotel lounge, Steinheimers Lounge. Another plus, the food was great, the drinks were on point & our waiter was always at hand checking on us but not too overbearing. The only thing that I can say went wrong here is that we were to be given vouchers as part of our package for breakfast, & we didn't recieve them, but it was quickly taken care of by Hector at the check in desk in less than 2 min.,Thanks Hector! :-) We've already started planning to come back with the little ones possibly during spring break, but for sure during the summer months.

Room Tip: Take the time to enjoy The Steinheimer Lounge, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are so glad your visit exceeded your expectations and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.