We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for Meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great venue for Meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just got back from a sales meeting at the Westin La Cantera. Great place. Our group stayed in the casitas, motored back and forth with the carts, enjoyed the two great courses and a couple of the restaurants. Overall a terrific experience. The casitas were huge, clean, modern and I had a great sleep - something that does not always happen for me on business trips. Our gal Mackenzie on the golf course was terrific.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe your next trip can be for pleasure rather than business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    298
    134
    69
    49
See reviews for
437
257
23
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanAntonio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this property to celebrate our anniversary and it was amazing! The views and the landscaping of this hotel are simply breathtaking... from the moment you pull up the winding driveway you begin to feel the relaxation set in. The staff was so gracious and helpful and everyone was willing to go that extra mile to make sure you were well taken care of. We loved the live music and drinks in the Lobby Lounge and when they opened up the doors leading out to the courtyard the view was gorgeous!! Especially when the sun was going down. The room was spotless and spacious and again had a wonderful view. The food at all venues was top notch and the breakfeast buffet was unbeatable! We loved the adult pool as it was nice to have a break from the kids and again the sweeping views of the valley took it to the next level. The service and the setting definitely put this property above all others and we can't wait until our next visit. If your planning a romantic getaway this is your place!

Room Tip: We loved the Junior Suite, gave you a bit more room to relax and made it feel just a tad more luxuri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so glad your anniversary trip exceeded your expectations. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at La Cantera for a business meeting. What an excellent property and surroundings. Had a villa outside the main building which was very nice, upgrade to one if you need extra room and privacy. Hotel provides a golf cart that is assigned to your room for transport back to the main building if weather or time prohibits a nice walk. Did not golf, but course looked outstanding, taking advantage of the surrounding landscape. Service was top-notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your thinking of staying here be aware that we stayed last night and as a SPG Gold had requested a 4 pm late check out. Stayed up late eating and drinking as this was a special night for my girlfriend and I. The loud sound of someone drilling into concrete woke us up shortly after 9 am. Calls to the front desk and a request to talk to the GM ( was told he was in a meeting) provided no relief. This is their Facebook reply,The Westin La Cantera Resort wrote: "I am sorry the renovation of our newest space disturbed your rest, this is certainly not how we like our guests to start their day. We have shared your experience with the team, including our General Manager. We really appreciate your feedback and suggestion for a noon start time. Please Direct message us if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable." This was our fourth and our last trip here. I do expect to be able to enjoy quiet relaxation when I book a room, and sometimes other guestsmake that impossible. But to have the hotel themselves to be the source and the problem, that is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Don't expect management to care about your concerns. They will get to it apparently in their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We apologize that your experience was anything less than restful. Please call the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss it further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great hotel outside of downtown San Antonio. Great golf, rooms, views, pool, and hotel bar. We stayed for a wedding and had a great time but I see us coming back when we have kids. It seemed to be more geared for families and golf getaways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was attending a conference for work at the Westin La Canterra Hill Country Resort and all I can say is Wow! This place exceeded my expectations. They have a beautiful setup and it is so kid friendly - though I don't have small kids anymore! The cater to your every need and the staff was awesome. The room was very clean and I loved the bed linens - you could feel and smell the freshness! I have stayed at other hotels in San Antonio and even on the Riverwalk they can't measure up to this fabulous hotel. Definitely worth your $$$

Room Tip: Your kids will love this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We're delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations! Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at the Westin La Cantera was wonderful. The highlight was my massage with Make sure therapist TINA STALLINGS. She is absolutely amazing and will put you right at ease. She gave me the best massage I have ever had. Her approach is friendly and soothing. She has many years of experience too. My only regret is I should have had a massage with TINA every day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. Tina is great, and we hope you'll be back soon to see her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.