We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Save Saved
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort) (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Texas Resident Offer!
Ranked #27 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Westin La Cantera for a conference and then stayed a few days longer to enjoy the Riverwalk. The conference was an excellent experience because of the great facilities. The hotel, the restaurants, the grounds, the beautiful swimming pools -- all great. The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous. Thanks to the concierges - George Amanga and Rhonda Hughes for helping us plan our visit to San Antonio.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room on a upper floor. The views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    267
    122
    63
    42
See reviews for
403
242
22
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Westin La Cantera for a conference. It's a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. The grounds are very nice and well kept. I stayed in one of the cabanas and it was quite roomy (too roomy for one person) and was well appointed and very clean. I had a golf cart assigned to my room to drive up to the main hotel but didn't use it because the weather was lovely and it was less than 1/2 mile which was a nice walk. I saw some interesting wildlife going back and forth (porcupine, lots of different birds, etc.)

I had room service once and it took a while but was good. The bar we ate at there one night was subpar and took forever to deliver our food and it wasn't that great once we got there.

Overall, a very nice place to stay. I personally prefer staying downtown in San Antonio because there is so much to do, but this was a nice option.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk or drive around in a cart, make sure you stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Since you enjoyed walking, you might want to explore our nature trail on your next visit. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Traveled here the week of November 12th for a conference of over 500 people. The
location is amazing being on top of a hill with panoramic views of the area and e surrounding golf courses. There is a shopping center nearby as well.
The hotel is beautiful with great rooms and exceptional common areas. The lobby lounge is well organized with a small bar attached.
The bar and restaurants are also very nice. I ate at Steinheimers (bar) each of my three nights. The food was excellent, my only complaint is that the food portion of the bar menu was extremely limited..not that I'm complaining about having a buffalo ribeye two nights..but could have been expanded to include more items from the other hotel restaurants.
The weather wasn't cooperative to use the pool, but my balcony overlooked it and it was a full resort pool with several pools scattered heoughout the area, including a zero entry. My kids would have loved it. The spa was very nice and the exercise room was nicely done with strength and cardio machines and free weighs..not bragging, and maybe it's a liability issue, but some heavier dumbells would have been nice as well.
The conference rooms were very accommodating for such a large group, but I would definitely consider this for a family vacation as well. Service at each stop was friendly and helpful. Overall, very ce hotel for business or pleasure and large enough that I never felt like I was constantly packed in every corner with fellow conference attendees.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a pool view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are delighted that your stay was such a success! You should definitely plan a return visit with the family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Should have known better - a big, maze-like resort hotel sitting next to an amusement park - never again - in advance I booked a Casita Suite attempting to have some privacy and get away from the noise of the main hotel - that disappeared at check-in with no explanation - so they put us into an executive suite overlooking valet parking and right underneath the food service area for the club floor one level up - trying to sleep past 5 am required ear plugs as the noise from the floor above sounded like basketball being played and I could hear every car coming through valet - - maid service was non- existent even after I called to ask for it - 600 a night to be treated like this? Starwoods should be embarrassed to treat its SPG members this way - A mistake I won't make again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Our goal is to help you get back to your best self so that you leave feeling recharged and well cared for. We clearly fell short during your stay. That your room was anything less than what you expected is unacceptable, and we are so sorry that noise from other guests disturbed you. Please accept our apologies and know that your comments have been shared with the team to assist in improving the overall guest experience. Please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The rooms were clean and quiet, staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great. There's plenty to do in the area with golf, shopping, movies, restaurants....it was a great alternative to staying on the Riverwalk. Been there twice and enjoyed both trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. We hope you will be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was very disapointed in the service. I felt like I was at a motel instead of a Resort. No one wanted to do there job. Ask to have my golf clubs sent to the golf shop, was told I had to find out which course I was playing, Don't they have a phone for that? Ask for a fan to be sent to my room, never show up. Had to go request it twice. No service at the pool. They never replaced the soap or shampoo in the room. First night there the fitted sheet keep poping off. It was the wrong size. Had to request them to be changed. I think that the Hotel staff and the golf staff don't work well together. It was like the Hatfeilds and McCoys's. For the money there at better places to stay that will give you the service that should come with the title Resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so disappointed that your stay was less than a restful, relaxing experience. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered with your golf clubs and guestroom requests, and know that we will be following up with the team to make sure they don't happen again. If you would, please call the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the La Cantera last week for a business team meeting. Overall everyone was very pleased with the property, fitness center, and especially the customer service. Everyone at the hotel from front desk to restaurants to maintenance to cleaning crew --- everyone was very courteous and helpful.

I highly recommend the facial services at the spa. I had the "Timeless" facial and it was the best spa service I ever received anywhere. Ask for Adriana Alanis - she is truly amazing!!!

The shuttle service was great. Excellent shopping facilities nearby.

I would defiantly return and defiantly have another facial from Adriana!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We really appreciate your kind words about the resort and the spa. We hope you will be back soon for another facial!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.