We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Resort Transformation
Ranked #43 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Playa Del Carmen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My girlfriends from college and I were looking for a great weekend getaway. One of the girls suggested La Cantera and this turned out to be a weekend that I will never forget. Front desk manager,Sarah, set up our entire trip for us. She was professional, helpful and it was very clear that she was respected by her employees. Andrew who delivered room service and Maria,the housekeeper at the casitas also stuck out as fantastic employees. Their customer service was excellent. My friends and I loved the private patio and the golf cart provided to us. We felt special all weekend long and it was the perfect getaway. The resort is beautiful but the above average customer service by Sarah, Andew and Maria was what truly made this resort stand out. We will definitely work with Sarah in the future and look forward to bringing our entire family back soon. Thank you, Westin La Cantera!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    296
    132
    68
    49
See reviews for
434
255
23
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent a few days at La Cantera with my husband and five year old daughter on a business trip. We took our daughter to Kids Club and she absolutely loved it! The did arts/crafts, smores, fed her dinner and had a movie too. Carami, Patricia and Tito were great!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and our stay there was absolutely wonderful!!! The staff is relentlessly accomodating and always with a smile on their face. I would like to say that Cody, Christina, Austin and Joe, Who were the bar and wait staff at the pool area, were amazing and extremely friendly and helpful. As were Danielle & Gabby at the upstairs bar, Steinheimer's, which was always a wonderful time and the view of the pools, golf course and hill country from the balcony there has imprinted a memory with me that i will not soon forget. The spa is great as well, very relaxing! Tina, who is one of the massage therapists, was great!! I can not say enought wonderful things about her, her skills & techniques as a massage therapists as well as her professionalism. The Golf course was beautiful & the staff there went above and beyond also. The view from the seventh hole at the resort course is definitely worth checking out! The room that we stayed in was very spacious and clean, and the views that we had were fantastic. We did not take our kids with us, but I did see the game room that they had for the kids there and it was any kids dream, and most men's too probably. There also had activities going on for the kids in a big activity room by the pool, with staff in the room. The pools were great too, and I heard people of all ages raving about how much fun the slide was, although I didnt try it. I just can not say enough good things about this place. All I could think about when we left is going back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It is wonderful to know that your stay exceeded your expectations. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

my wife and i decided to try La Cantera again after a not so good visit the last time. The trip this time was much better. The resort is a beautiful resort and the staff was very friendly as they were the last time. The room was clean this time when we arrived and the front desk even called to wish my wife a happy birthday when we arrived which i thought was a nice touch. We ate breakfast at the resort one morning which was very good but expensive as is everything else at the resort which in my opinion is the only drawback. For the rest of our meals we left the resort to eat. The amenities for kids are very good and we will probably go back and bring them next time. Hopefully next time i will get to try the golf course because it is also beautiful and been wanting to play it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Happy birthday! We are so glad to know that your stay was a success and look forward to your return for golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the past weekend as a getaway with my wife. We stayed in one of the casitas. It was a nice stay but a few things were missing. First of all there are no on-demand movies. It is impossible to order them. There is also no DVD player in the room. They did offer to bring a portable one with a selection of some of their DVDs. We decided against this as this would take a lot of time. These are small issues but I think that you should expect these things at a hotel of the caliber of the Westin. We had an "ambassador" who assigns golf carts to the casita guest (the casitas are a little way away from the resort). Our ambassador assigned us the cart and seemed to be in a hurry. He was never seen again. Dont get me wrong. This is a good resort. I would however have to rank it third behind the JWMarriott and Hyatt Hill country. It could be much better especially given its location which is better than the other two hotels that I listed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We are glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable for the most part and apologize that on-demand movies aren't available. We hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Close location to Fiesta Texas and shopping. The shuttle will take you to nearby places. We stayed over the Fourth of July holiday, and the resort had many activites planned. A place to watch fireworks with face painting, balloon animals, etc... The hotel also had Dive-In movies everynight. My kids also loved the water slide also. I would highly reccommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for the nice review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was amazing.

Upon arrival and during our entire stay we had the pleasure of being helped by Terrick in the Valet. He made us feel like royalty every time we saw him.

The property is gorgeous. We had a lovely corner room with two balconies. The weather was so mild and pleasant that we had a chance to enjoy the fresh hillside air the whole time.

We ate at Brannon's and the Steinheimer's lounge. Both were great.

The staff is awesome! We came in one night to surprise anniversary gift of a Texas Shaped Chocolate box filled with truffles and fruit displayed on a plate that said "Happy Anniversary" and a lovely card thanks to Sarah. That was such a nice touch.

There are so many activities everyday. We enjoyed making smore's, live music, and wine tasting and that doesn't include half of what was going on.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an exceptional place to stay.
Everyone really made us feel special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Happy anniversary! We are delighted that your stay exceed your expectations and hope you will celebrate with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.