We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family hotel and 4th party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Save Saved
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort) (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Texas Resident Offer!
Ranked #22 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect family hotel and 4th party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We are still here and we have had nothing but an awesome time. The pool - fantastic. The staff - fantastic. The location - fantastic. I can't complain about anything, this hotel keeps my two boys under 5 busy. I have travelled the US with my family and this hotel has done the best job by far keeping the kids entertained. The 4th party was out of this world, face painting, balloons, snow cones, cotton candy, caricatures, magic......and a front row seat to fireworks. I talked to Marty before we came and she was helpful, it ha s just been a wonderful experience. 5 stars to westin and usaa for such a great family resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We are so glad to have been a part of your 4th of July celebration. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    695
    258
    120
    61
    41
See reviews for
396
235
22
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a getaway within driving distance from the Dallas area. Being 6 months pregnant, I didn't want to fly anywhere and mainly just wanted to relax by a pool. We found the Westin La Cantera resort, read all the good reviews and booked it! We arrived on a Friday, valet was too full to even pull in so we opted for self-parking. It was very difficult to find a spot and there were no directions anywhere to help you get back to the lobby. Luckily, the Westin shuttle was driving through, picked us up and took us to the lobby. Check-in was short & easy. We went to our room and immediately went down to the adult pool. The pool servers are great! They're attentive, friendly and always easy to find. (Actually, we didn't encounter one employee who wasn't friendly.) Food is pricey at the resort so go expecting to pay for the convenience of eating at the resort. We liked the food though, the Seven Layer Farmer Salad was my go-to choice. I also really liked the buffet breakfast. Food options are a bit limited, especially if you're looking to eat a late dinner. Room service or the Steinheimer bar are the only choices. There are lots of restaurants in the area though so there is no lack of places to eat close by. The hotel seemed very full but it wasn't noisy and there was no wait at any restaurants. I can't stand crowds and never felt like crowded or suffocated. And there was always lots of room at the adult pool. The views from there are so pretty, it's just a great place to relax and unwind. All in all, we stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. My only slight complaint would be the self-parking lot but it wasn't enough to damper our stay at all!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We offer tons of kids' activities, so you should bring the family back after your baby arrives! Best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had so many issues with our stay that really disappointed us. We were very excited about this stay but were very happy once we left! When we arrived, we checked in and walked 10 minutes to our room only to find that we did not receive our room keys! My husband had to walk back down to get them! Then in the room, our TV wouldn't work! We then searched for the key to the "mini-bar" and when we called they said, "they should've given it to you on arrival!" All of these issues were fixed pretty quickly though and the staff was very helpful until we checked out. We had an issue with our bill that I tried to fix the previous day just to avoid any issues on checkout. But when we did check out, the woman at the front, Jaye, was very rude and told us that since it happened yesterday there was nothing they could do to fix it! It took too much time for us to get her to finally give us a credit! Other issues include no smoking at all on the property, no vending machines, the food was not good at all at all the restaurants on site, and 21% service charge plus $4 delivery charge for room service and a $24 daily resort fee. The view was amazing and the hotel itself was very clean and nice and the activities were awesome. But we will not stay here again. I do not think this hotel should be rated 4 stars.

Room Tip: Use Priceline to get a great deal because it is not worth the price if you pay in full!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Our goal is to help you get back to your best self so that you leave The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort feeling recharged and well cared for. We clearly fell short in this situation, for which we apologize. We take feedback from our guests very seriously. Please know that your comments are being used to improve the overall guest experience there.

We are so sorry that your visit was less than perfect and that you didn’t receive the value you were looking for. Please contact us directly at 210.558.6500 if we may be of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had an awesome four night stay this past week. The staff is super friendly and the hotel is great. Not one problem to report. Enjoyed the Swedish massage and the gym was pretty big compared to other hotels I've stayed at. We only had to use our car one time during our stay. The hotel shuttle will take you to the nearby mall, Target, Fiesta Texas, etc. We ate at La Fogata and they came and picked us up on their shuttle bus. Also enjoyed the Nature Trail, adult pool, tennis court and shows for the kids. Overall, I rated the hotel as EXCELLENT. Well deserving of a top five hotel rating in S.A. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife, son and I have enjoyed a staycation at this wonderful resort twice and I can guarantee that there will be a third...

My 3 year old son loves the water and other activities and my wife and I love his happiness and our relaxation.

Particularly, at our most recent stay, the pool-side server Austin Gerland was fantastic and deserves special recognition.

Thank you Westin!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I decided to unwind and get away for one day at a really nice place. This is not the place! We were told we could check in an hour early and got in an hour and 30 minutes late. TV wouldn't work and told "working on it". We had to check with desk 3 times to get it fixed. I wanted a cold soda but no machine except for gift shop. I found a note on the door that said "gone to lunch back at 6:40 (25 min later). Really? They can't staff a gift shop? The room is hot and smell of Clorox is so pungent that my eyes are watering. I'll take a Marriott or something where you get a small fridge, etc. This is sadly disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
When you treat yourself to a stay at The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort, you should experience revitalizing comfort and delight in all of our amenities. From our championship golf courses to the spa, from Francesca’s at Sunset to our five swimming pools, as well as our array of complimentary resort activities, every feature of the property has been designed to offer the utmost relaxation and satisfaction for our guests. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t provide the kind of value you were looking for, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please contact the General Manager directly at 210.558.6500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A beautiful resort, tucked away in the hills of San Antonio! Just a 20 min drive to Riverwalk, it is tucked away and has amazing views, especially sunset views. Didn't get to golf, but course looked amazing. I would highly recommend this place, the staff was so eager to help and extremely nice. Couldn't have been a better weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#24 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.