We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort) (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Resort Transformation
Ranked #47 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Kelowna, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My family of 5 stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last week. The check-in was easy/quick, the staff was excellent and the room was perfect. My kids absolutely loved the Lost Quarry pools even though they were a bit cold. The only issue that I had was that we didnt get a chance to use all of the facilities that are offered due to time constraints! If we ever come back to the San Antonio area we will definitely stay here again. If you are looking for a family friendly hotel/resort away from the hustle and bustle this it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    290
    131
    68
    49
See reviews for
430
253
23
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I booked our stay for one night at the Westin La Cantera without much knowledge, except for the fact that it was rated #2 hotel in San Antonio on Trip Advisor. That was enough for me! It was my niece's 18th birthday, and I wanted to make this as special as possible. I called ahead of time to let them know of the occasion.

While driving to the resort, we passed downtown San Antonio and went towards the hills. What a relief! I don't really care for downtown San Antonio; it can get pretty congested and loud. We wanted an escape, and that's exactly what we got. We passed Fiesta Texas, and went uphill towards the resort. The view from there is breathtaking; all I could see was lush greenery. My niece was speechless! We stood and took in deep breaths of the fresh crisp air before going inside. The valet told us we could park FOR FREE if we'd like on either sides of the resort or we could have them take the car for us. We didn't mind parking and walking around this beautiful hotel, so we did. My niece and younger sister decided to get a drink at the Starbucks located inside the resort (yes!!) while my husband and I checked in.

As we arrived at the front desk we reminded the young lady, Angie Guerrero, working that it was my niece's birthday. She was extremely sweet and told us they would take care of it. My husband went up to the room that was given to us, and although beautiful, he came back. He asked if there were any upgrades; we were hoping for a pool view. Angie gave us another room right away with a pool view. As we were getting ready to leave for the shuttle to take us to Fiesta Texas (which drops you off very close to the park! And you save money on parking again), Angie spotted us and told my husband they had been looking for him. She found another room, even better with a huge balcony that overlooked the pool and the hills altogether. We decided to do it and were so very glad! The room was amazing! Not only did it have 2 double beds, huge bath, and a huge pull out sofa, we were able to walk right out to the balcony and lay around in the lounge seats. Angie was so very sweet for coming all the way look for us. She and the concierge also came through when we walked back into our room and found an amazing chocolate birthday cake and four water bottles with plates, napkins, and utensils.

While we explored the amazing grounds of the hotel, we discovered a kid's play area where they had exotic birds. The children there seemed so interested and excited; I would have been too! We went swimming in the heated pool, and the slide is fabulous! All around the pool area there are little surprises: a volleyball net with a volleyball to play, a running stream that ends inside one of the pools, a kiddy pool, etc. At night the trees are decorated with lights and are beautiful. There's also an adult pool which overlooks the lush green landscape and hills. I could have stayed there all night! And although were next to the pool, there was never a problem with noise. Every night at 6 to 8 pm they light up a fire at the pool area and allow you to roast your own marshmallows for s'mores. It was so much fun! I felt like a kid again. We saw a basketball court on the way to the car and a tennis court as well. But my favorite part? There was a mile long trail! In the morning, my family and I went to enjoy a hike. The Westin has informative signs along the way about animals and plants. You can also go shopping next door and there are plenty of restaurants. So much to do!

The resort is amazing, clean, and beautiful. Most of all, it felt safe. There is a security guard present at the entrance which is a nice plus. Every time I come back to San Antonio, the Westin La Cantera is where I'm staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
We are so glad that your niece's birthday was a success! We would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 3 children thoroughly enjoyed the Looney Tunes Breakfast. The characters made frequent trips around the tables, but not too frequent to distract the kids from eating. The best part of the breakfast was our server, Danielle (Dani). She was incredibly friendly, great with the kids, and enthusiastic about the characters. She is the best server with kids!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We are so glad your family enjoyed the breakfast! We have a huge variety of complimentary family-friendly activities, so please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Westin La Cantera so we thought it would be special to go spend our 1st anniversary weekend there to celebrate. From the time we arrived everyone knew we were celebrating our 1st anniversary and treated us so special. Even on an overcast day the pool staff was so friendly, we played a trivia game and won free drink vouchers and later in the evening they were making smores poolside for everyone. The hotel also sent us champagne and strawberries up to our room to celebrate. The rooms are spectacular, comfortable beds, luxurious bathrooms and balconies. The grounds are fun to walk around as it seems there is always somewhere new to explore. From the peaceful views of Texas Hill Country to the peaceful atmosphere, you feel like you are far away and are guaranteed to have a relaxing weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your review of our hotel. We look forward to hosting you two on many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laredo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Had the most amazing couples massage at the Westin La Cantera with Tina and Karsten!!! They were professional and soothing. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your next stay with us at The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This resort is very nice... the rooms are spacious and comfortable. I loved the vanity area outside the bathroom, it was luxurious! We had a double balcony (corner room) on the 7th floor and the views were really nice. I liked the classical music that was playing when we got there. We left it on while we got ready for our night out. It made for lovely ambience.

We didn't get a chance to take advantage of the golf course or spa. However, the pools were gorgeous. If you stay on the 7th floor, apparently you get access to a cocktail hour with free food and drinks. We took advantage of it and it was a fun way to start the evening.

The restaurant inside the hotel (Francesca's) was ok. It was a little too empty to have a good atmosphere, but there was nothing to complain (or rave) about food-wise. The service was friendly.

The bar (I think it was Steinheimer's Bar) was fun because they had a shuffleboard table. The bartenders were nice/attentive also.

Lastly, we asked for a late check-out so we could enjoy the pool and they were very flexible with that which was great!

The only thing we thought was not up to the same par as everything else was the desk clerk who first checked us in. She looked down at her computer most of the time during our interaction and she had an accent that made it quite difficult to understand her (no, we don't mind accents... but we probably couldn't understand her because she was talking down to her computer). She also did not seem as friendly/professional as the other staff we encountered during our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 7th Floor are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very nice Westin property (redundant!) featuring a wide range of things to do. With Six Flags literally down the road it would be possible to attend a conference while the family is having fun at the amusement park.

Only went to one of the restaurants for breakfast (Brannons) and while it is not cheap, it is reasonable for a resort. Food was great but do not miss Perry's Steak House at the outdoor mall just off the property. Accessible by shuttle as well, it offers something for everyone, save for good BBQ. Heard from a few locals that Grady's was very good but didn't check it out.

but you MAY want to drag along your clubs instead!

The resort has two courses but if you are up for the challenge, check out the Palmer course. Tough track with some unbelievable views of the surrounding area. In the off-season it was an absolute bargain at $60 for 18 holes which included cart fee and all the range balls you wanted to hit.

Definitely a good place to do an end of Winter getaway!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, Management Team at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
We love hearing from happy guests! Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Formerly Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#48 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.