We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous RESORT! A one stop shop for an amazing family getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Hill Country Resort to your Saves list
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Resort Transformation
Ranked #43 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous RESORT! A one stop shop for an amazing family getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

We chose this resort based on trip advisor reviews. We wanted a nice hotel, with a pool, outside of the riverwalk madness, but still close enough to visit all the San Antonio attractions. First of all, I can't say enough good things about the Westin hotels. They are consistently great quality, but this was quality on a whole new level!

I'll keep it simple. I'll list the pro's
and con's. Please be patient, there

ALOT of pro's!

*Hotel property is outside the
madness of the city, yet close enough to visit all the high points!
*The property has everything you need. There's seriously no need to leave the resort. It's all here!! Huge family pool (which is open 24/7!), adults pool, poolside bar, poolside restraunt, buffet breakfast, poolside grill, all-day activity schedule (which is concluded every evening with a kid friendly movie on the lawn), kids playcare, a pre-teen/teen facility for evenings,
sports club/lounge, 4star restaurant, spa. I'm a little out of breath, but you get the point.
*Starbucks!! That's right! Located just inside the main entrance.
*incredibly helpful concierge.
*BEAUTIFUL scenery!
*3 golf courses (2 of which are located onthe property.)
*Upscale mall about 5 minutes away.
*Fiesta Texas is about 2minutes away.
*Sea World is about 15-20minutes away.
*Riverwalk is about 15minutes away.

The Con's
*There aren't a ton of restaurant options off property, if you'd like a change.
*If you go during the winter the resort may not have as much to offer, since the pool and lawn activity is the major draw.
*The food and drinks can be expensive at times.
*Our check-in experience was not the greatest, even with us being Starwood Preferred guests. (We were charged twice for our room, and we had to stop in at the counter 3 times to straighten it out.)

As you can see the pros far out weigh the cons. It was an overall fantastic resort! We've already recommended it to several friends, and we intend to go back. I wish there were more of these type resorts in Texas!


  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear PIKTRIPPERS,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! As you stated, there are many excellent reasons to be our guest at La Cantera! Also, there are several additional dining options available at The Shops at La Cantera, and we offer free shuttle service there and back for your next visit! Our pools are heated and open year-round for our valued guests as well. You may have to come back this winter just to experience our fantastic holiday program- a huge draw for all of our guests! We certainly hope to see you and your family again soon, and if you need any additional information please do contact the hotel directly. We look forward to welcoming you home again! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    296
    132
    68
    49
See reviews for
434
255
23
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a business conference and it was very difficult to concentrate during the meeting because this property is gorgeous! It's minutes away from 6 flags, the Alamo and shopping. It's on a hill and has amazing views of San Antonio. Excellent customer service and now the property is going green. Make a Green Choice allows you to earn Starwoods points or money ($5) to use at hotel cafe/Starbucks. Oh, and did I mention the pools are open 24hrs...big plus for me

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear foxyfit4,

Thank you for telling us about your stay! Our associates are very proud of our beautiful property, and the Texas Hospitality that you experience here is second to none! We certainly hope that you get an opportunity to visit us again soon, perhaps for leisure next time! If you would like information about the various fun FREE activities here at the resort (including Zumba classes, water aerobics, yoga on the El Fortin Lawn, etc.), please contact us; we would love to hear from you! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We loved staying at this resort. It is absolutely beautiful and has outstanding views from all the rooms. It has everything you could ask for from spas, restaurants, gift shops, Helth club, Starbucks and a beautiful, huge lobby with natural lighting. It has lots of activities for kids and adults. There is Smore making by the pool, movies on the lawn and a wild animal show among so many other things to do. The entrance to the resort is located near the entrance to Six Flags. The pools are fabulous and we really loved the adult pool with all its natural settings and how it overlooks the countryside. The hospitality is outstanding and we really appreciated the personal touch that Paulina Ramirez Castanon gave us. She made us feel like we were the only guests there. You'll love this resort!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear TravelTime31,

We love hearing such great comments from our valued guests! With so many things to do and see, you will never be bored at The Westin La Cantera Resort! Our adult pool is truly relaxing and has some of the best Hill Country views in San Antonio! Paulina was very excited to hear that she made your stay so pleasurable. She is one of our guest service superstars! Please come back and see us again soon; another huge dose of Texas Hospitality awaits you! Have a great remainder of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I just wanted to write a little something about a group of people who made my last minute decision to spend a night at a resort a great decision. My wife and I were driving around town with some family and decided to drive to the resort and go have a drink and enjoy the scene of the Westin. We arrived and were immediately helped by Klint Alberthal with our vehicle and direction to the pool. On the way to the pool we ran into Marques Williams and he offered us food and drinks as we enjoyed the outside view. iI expected to just find someone to help once we found a seat, but Marques made the evening that much smoother with his willing to help. While we were there I walked away to check on a room for the night to surprise my wife and the other guest we were with. I ran into Victor Hernandez and explained that I was interested in getting a room for the night to continue our evening and enjoy a night with the family. Victor was also very helpful and quickly found the perfect room so my family would not think anything of me being gone and be surprised. I was able to surprise my family with the room and they were so excited. In the moring when we woke up we found a letter under the door from Ismael Mendoza. It was a invitation to the resort restaurant along with a credit towards breakfast stating he was glad we returned for a stay and he was there if we needed anything. These gentlemen helped me look that much better to my family and they were so thankful for everything they experienced at the Westin. I can't say thanks enough to these guys and I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear javier05gutierrez,

Thank you so much for your glowing comments! Klint, Marques, Victor, and Izzy are all part of our fantastic Service Express team, and you can definitely tell that they enjoy taking care of our guests! They were each very happy to learn that they were such a big part of your awesome experience with us. It sounds like your family enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you as our valued guests! We look forward to your return, and if you would like any arrangements made prior to your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us; we will make sure everything goes off without a hitch! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at La Cantera with another family on a long weekend. With 4 boys under the gae of 5 between us, we need to keep them entertained but we also didn't want to feel like we were trapped in kiddo land. The resort was extremely kid friendly, but maintained an adult feel and there were even areas where ppl who didn't want to deal with our rugrats could be secluded.

I loved the adult only pool, even though I got to spend very little time at it. The kids small wading pool was great for my sons, ages 2 and 4. They had ample pool noodles to play with and kid friendly snack options. The main pool was great for all the families with older kids thru teens. It has a small slide and ample swim space. They had smores making at night and a nice bar for after the kids went to bed.

The resort has taken one of their multiple tennis courts and made it in to a great kid zone, with a bounce house, water slide, basketball hoop, & sidewalk chalk, Kids from toddler age to pre-teen were all enjoying the fun but it was removed enough from the main resort that if you were on an adults only weekend, you never would even know it was there.

Across from the resort, you'll find an overhwhelming shopping center with everything from Neiman Marcus to their Last Call discount store.

The one big issue was our double room had 2 full sized beds rather than 2 queens. This made sleep tough for my husband and I. THe last night we ended up with one adult and 1 child per bed for a better fit.

It was a great family trip where the kids got to be kids but the adults were also allowed to feel like adults!

Room Tip: Great discount rooms rates are available on multiple travel sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Hill Country Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear HoustonYankee,

Thank you for sharing the story of your stay with us! Although we take a great deal of pride in making sure our littlest guests are entertained, we know how important it is for our adult guests to be able to relax as well. As you experienced, it is a delicate balance that we have executed almost perfectly! With so much to do and see, our family guests are never bored at The Westin La Cantera Resort! We look forward to your next visit, and will do our very best to make sure that your next accommodations fit your entire family! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great hotel. Awesome pools. The staff was great with our kids (ages 9 and 11). There was something going on every hour at the hotel. We didn't do everything, but we did do many of the activities.

Plenty of lounge chairs by the pool to relax on. Nice water slide and water volleyball.

Smores in the evening was a huge hit! Nice nature trail to enjoy! If you have kids, they will enjoy this hotel. They won't get bored, unless they are boring.

The hotel is right next to Fiesta Texas and they have a free shuttle that runs there.

Any other questions? Just ask. I will be happy to answer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The first time we stayed at this hotel, we were absolutely amazed by the hotel view from the balcony which overlooked the hills and pool. We had such a fabulous stay, and nothing could be faulted. On our second stay, we decided to bring family, this time requesting 2 double rooms. We requested hillside views, however to our disappointment ended up with rooftop views. I immediately went downstairs to reception, who were ever so willing to change our rooms to a better view. They ended up upgrading one of the rooms with a double balcomy and amazing views of the golf resort and hillside...absolutely breakthtaking. The room was outstanding! When booking, be sure to clearly state which view you want, otherwise could end looking at rooftops. The beds were so comfortable, bathrooms were very clean and modern. I loved the huge flatscreen! Staff were so friendly and helpful. Our complimentary breakfast was fabulous, everything you could want. However try and get there early, tends to get very busy and you may have to wait a little.

Room Tip: Be sure to state clearly, what type of view you want - Poolside view gives you the view of the hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Hill Country Resort

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Hill Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Hill Country Resort is a distinctive retreat for business and leisure travelers alike atop one of the highest points in all of San Antonio. We're the ultimate blend of recreation and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Cantera Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Hill Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.