We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Loop 410 NE, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #126 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great location and at a very good price. Nora at the front desk was exceptional and very accommodating. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Easy walking to a couple good restaurant's. Great value, I will go back for business or pleasure

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very excited that we were able to help you enjoy your stay in San Antonio. I will definitely be sharing your comments with the team including Nora. We hope that we will get a chance to serve you again the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    32
    15
    6
See reviews for
38
24
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you've read any of the reviews, you've already found out about Mary Helen. She is the main reason why I stay at this hotel each time I'm in San Antonio. She starts your day off right and gets you in a good mood. She is friendly and attentive when it comes to serving the guests. The rest of the staff is very friendly as well. It's hard to find a hotel with a staff as attentive as the staff here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for reviewing our hotel and your kind comments about our staff. We take taking care of our guests very seriously. I am glad that Mary Helen helps you start your day with a smile. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We took a chance and our room was ready early - 1PM check-in really helped us out. The front desk was welcoming and helpful, our room was clean and we had no trouble with parking (Sunday check-in). Yes the shower was a "best-ever" and the beds very comfortable. But the high point of our review would have to be Mary Helen in the breakfast area. Not only did she keep the items stocked and cleared away our used plates, she also cooked the Texas shaped waffles for us and brought them to our table with butter and syrup. This really helped to keep the congestion down in the food area. What a sweetheart! Fairfield give this woman a raise!!! She brings people back to your establishment with her kindness and care.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. I will definitely let Mary Helen know how much you enjoyed her in the breakfast area. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antinio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The service and location was okay, but the elevator was slow as molasses and we had to take stairs everytime during our 3 night stay. I agree with the previous comment regarding the parking. Slim to none. One of the reasons I chose that hotel was the pool and hot tub but the hot tub was filthy and the pool was tiny and not heated. The beds were small and the walls were very thin so you could hear the people next to you. Again, the staff was friendly but the hotel definately needs updated. I will never stay at another Fairfield inn again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I have received the comments from your stay with us, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced of felt during your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know about your experience here as we will use it as feedback to improve our service.

I understand that our hotel is in need of some updating, and we are in the process of scheduling a renovation in the beginning of 2015. Please let me know if there is anything else that I can do to assist you. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I am a huge fan of the Marriott brand and stay with Marriott whenever I can. I booked this hotel because of its location and price. When we arrived, we could not find a place to park our car so that we could check in. Apparently the local Pappadeauxs was hopping and between them and the Courtyard who shares the small parking lot, there were no spaces available. When I pulled up in front of the hotel and went in to check in, I met the most arrogant, non-caring desk clerk I had ever encountered at a Marriott. He told me that "Pappadeauxs isn't open all night, so there will eventually be a place to park." How in the world does that help me when I am tired and want to check in to the room I had purchased? The other really poor marks for this experience was the breakfast. If you think their parking lot is undersized, you should see the breakfast area! What an incredible disappointment. "What do you want me to do about the parking lot?" was the question I was asked by the night clerk. To begin with, I would put up signs in my parking lot designating spaces that belong to the hotel and not to be used by other local businesses. Then I would hire security on days when the restaurants are expected to be busy to ensure that my customers can actually park at the hotel. Then I would reaquaint my desk staff with the concept of customer service and remind them that being snarky with elite reward members, or any other customer for that matter, is not the way to encourage brand loyalty.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I have received the comments from your stay with us, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced or felt during your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know about your experience here as we will use it as feedback to improve our service.

I have contacted Pappadeaux to try to find a solution to the parking problem that you encountered while you were here. I have also talked with our associates, and used your comments as a source of training for our staff.

Marriott strives to be the most courteous and respectful lines of hotels, making each guest feel welcomed and comfortable. I feel like we failed in fulfilling this promise to you. I do hope, however, that you will allow me and my staff to make it up to you. As the General Manager of this hotel, my goal is to inspire my entire staff to go above and beyond your expectations. Please contact me if there is anything that we can do to assist you. I do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.


I would like to make this up to you in some way if possible. Please let me know if there is anything more that I can do to address these issues. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything else that I can assist you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel starting to show its age but overall I was happy with my stay. The staff is very friendly especially the lady who runs the breakfast. I think her name is Maria. Hotel is located close to the airport. Good value overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are looking forward to serving you the next time you are in town! I will be passing your comments along to Mary Helen in the breakfast area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight during a business trip. Convenient to the airport and the 410 highway, on the service road. It as clean and quiet. Hot breakfast was very good. Good eggs along with pork patties, which we tender, not overlooked. Didn't have the pot of oatmeal, maybe it's not popular in San Antonio's sixty degree winter days. Very satisfied. Would return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Address: 88 Loop 410 NE, San Antonio, TX 78216
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport is conveniently located just 0.5 miles from the airport, close to a shopping mall, boutiques, and restaurants in the Alamo Heights/Northeast San Antonio area. Just off Loop 410, it is convenient to the Riverwalk, Alamo, San Antonio Zoo, Trinity University, and AT&T Arena. Guests will enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet Access and continental breakfast, free parking, an indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness room, and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.