We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Loop 410 NE, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #117 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here over 20 times. Staff is a always at its best. The mall is very close by. Including all other department store. Airport shuttle available. Food within walking distance. Will returned again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are very happy to be your hotel of choice in San Antonio. We will see you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    24
    15
    5
See reviews for
34
22
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at other Fairfield Inns in the the past and this hotel has really shown wear. Needs updates. The bed was lumpy, couch uncomfortable and only one can be in bathroom at a time...very small for a suite. Only one elevator for 5 floors which can be a problem when all checking out at same time. Not the quality or comfort i expected for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have felt while at our hotel. We value each and every guest, and try to live the Marriott mission. We are ramping up for a renovation in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything that I can do for you. I do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

on the ceiling and jumping on the bed...these bugs...Not bed bugs but still.... told the management and they said they would return points...have not seen them yet!
parking lot was horrible to get into on Friday night...Leaving for the airport the next morning to return the rental car was easy. No shuttle service on Weekends...be aware...one ad for this hotel offers shuttle upon request and the other ad says only M-F...confusing?!?
Breakfast was good...but the room needs to be fumigated! this is the south and they have bugs...but I don't want to sleep with them.

Room Tip: Parking lot shared with restaurant and other Marriott Courtyard...very busy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the lady bugs in your room. We have had the hotel sprayed since your stay. Unfortunately, they have just hatched, and most of south Texas is overrun with them. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed one night (late flight arrival) on 02-11-2013 and found this location "tired" and needing a renovation. On the other hand, it is functional, close to the airport, and priced right. I arrived late, left early, and probably got what I expected. BTW, the Courtyard next door has an excellent restaurant for light meals and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had a very short stay. We will be getting a renovation in the future and we hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Spring
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My Ford F 250 was stolen from right outside the hotel, my truck was literally stolen while viewable from the front desk. They do have a video monitor of the parking lot but I was told it “froze" while my truck was being stolen. The theft happened after 6: 17 AM. I had locked the truck and set the alarm. My family was extremely shaken by this incident. The folks at Fairfield point out that the parking is at your own risk and they take no responsibility for what happens in the parking lot. Bottom line if you stay at Fairfield Inn you stay at your own risk they are not responsible for you parking in their parking lot. I shudder to think what would have happened if I were to go get my vehicle while it was in the process of being stolen. Needless to say my family will no longer stay at Fairfield Inn

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
At the hotel level, we take statements like this very seriously and are 100% committed to the safety and satisfaction of our guests. However, we do not have insurance coverage for automobile theft or vandalism. We recommend you file a claim with your own personal automobile insurance coverage, but if you’d like to discuss the issue in more detail, please contact the hotel’s general manager at 210-530-9899.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pros:
* Staff does good job of cleaning room, even if you leave late morning
* Free parking, wifi, breakfast w/variety, airport shuttle
* Convenient location near highway, but hard to find bc hidden behind a Courtyard Marriott
* Staff is super nice and helpful - but didn't like how the front desk receptionist was extremely sick and sneezing all over yet still working and handling check-ins

Cons:
* Building & common area visibly worn, hallways are narrow
* Our room had a broken toilet seat that kept falling
* Heat system & refrigerator very noisy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all comments as we use them in an effort to improve our hotel. You spoke about the toilet seat in your bathroom, AC unit and refrigerator in your room. I will address that immediately with our housekeeping and engineering team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any other thoughts about our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights around New Year's Eve. The location is great, close to the airport (like 10min or less) and very close to North Star Mall. There is a Walgreens, Target and other stores around.
Service is good, nothing special. They give you bottled water but you have to ask for it at reception and is a small bottle, maybe like 250ml or something. Since you have to ask for it, it gets annoying. Why not putting it in the room?

Breakfast is included, but ends at 9.30 during weekdays, as if they don't really want you to get it. Selection is the same every single day, sugary cereals, yogurt, 2 types of bagels (regular and cinnamon), some suspicious egg sandwiches that I didn't try, waffles, milk, coffee, juice. To be free is ok I guess but I would have liked some healthier options in cereals and bread selection.

Rooms are clean and good size. There is really not much view so don't worry about that. I had a room on the 5th floor to be a bit away from the noise.

What really sucks in this hotel is the fact that there is only one elevator. It's a small scale hotel, 5 floors but still, every floor has aprox 25 rooms so it can get very busy. During the first 3 nights the elevator was always full, stopping at every floor and taking forever to use it. I don't understand why there is only one. I have never seen that in a hotel.

I stayed here because of the cost, it was one of the cheapest rates in that time of the year. It's an ok hotel, serves its purpose as we went to SA to be with family and shop around. If you are only few nights, you won't have much complains. I wouldn't stay there long term though, I was tired of the same crappy breakfast (although nobody tells you to eat there but since you are there, you take advantage of saving some $)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to take care of each guest every time they stay with us. We are currently getting ready to change our breakfast options, and will have more items available. This will include some additional healthy options. We ask that you give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Hotel
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield Inn San Antonio
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn
San Antonio Fairfield
Address: 88 Loop 410 NE, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#59 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#96 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport is conveniently located just 0.5 miles from the airport, close to a shopping mall, boutiques, and restaurants in the Alamo Heights/Northeast San Antonio area. Just off Loop 410, it is convenient to the Riverwalk, Alamo, San Antonio Zoo, Trinity University, and AT&T Arena. Guests will enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet Access and continental breakfast, free parking, an indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness room, and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.