We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for day or two but not much more ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   91 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #109 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
US
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“OK for day or two but not much more ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (Fri & Sat) and the hotel was very busy. Check in was a breeze (we prepaid our stay), staff was nice. The rest was not that great. Standing water in elevators from people leaving the pool, carpet far from clean, and even though the place did not smell bad, the air was not fresh, either. The room (2 double beds) is average size with small bath. The flat screen TV has several HD channels, but most channels, including HBO are SD. There is a small fridge that was very quiet and cooled our drinks quickly. Nice. Beds + 4 pillows were fine. The chair in our room needed cleaning, but otherwise the room was clean. The thermostat in our room was on the 'optimistic' side as we had to set it to 68F to get maybe 75F.

Our room faced 410 and you could hear the traffic easily. There are heavier curtains in the room but not the heavy duty, noise dampening ones. Another strange thing was we could hear the elevators at night in the room (and even more clearly in the bath) even though our room was on the opposite side of the hall three rooms away.

The breakfast bar was average with egg omelets (scrambled eggs the following day), bacon (sausage next day), biscuits & gravy, sweet cinnamon rolls and pancakes. Except for bananas there was no fruit, fresh or canned. No choice of teas either. OK for a day, two max as it gets bland quickly.
Plus the eating / sitting area is very small for hotel of this size and by 8:15 there was a line up all the way to the elevator with people standing and eating everywhere including the lobby.

One positive thing about this place is plenty of parking including access controlled garage shared with Drury Inn next door. Very handy in inclement weather like we experienced on Friday.

IMO, this place is not what one should expect from HIE brand, but we received a good price ($67/night) via Hotwire bid (2.5* with, at the time of our bid, 100% recommendation). For that price it was OK for a place to sleep & shower, but not much more. If that's your plan it will do, but if you want more space in your room, newer, cleaner property, I would stay somewhere else as we plan to next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
17
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at baggage claim, we called for a ride. The free shuttle arrived within 7 minutes as promised. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. the room is standard H I Express...clean, serviceable and updated. The next morning I enjoyed their terrific free breakfast...really a great hot and cold breakfast buffet worth at least $15.the breakfast nook is roomy and bright with a nice tv for news junkies like me.

There is a small exercise room. There is an applebees close by.

The only disappointment...the outdoor pool is closed from 10 pm to 10 am...why bother having one? It should be open until midnight...and then again at 8 am.it is not in a spot that would disturb sleeping guests. Normally, it wouldn't be a big deal..on this trip, we arrived with 5 dusty teens that were ready to swim at 1030 pm.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

A very good stay. Booking, checking in, breakfast and the rooms was just great. This will be our 2nd time to stay at this location. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Most HI expresses are near new - this one does not give as good a first impression as it is not new. But, our room was probably redone and was "brand new" in appearance. The breakfast area was well kept. Check in was smooth with very pleasant people behind the desk (7:00 pm, 3/30). Our room, next to the elevators, was very quiet. Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

First we were put on the 9th floor - it REAKED of SMOKE, like an ancient bar. Then we were moved to the 2nd floor which is a basement level, but with a window. No smoke smell, but a little musty. Quiet, UNTIL 5:45 AM an incredibly LOUD noise from a laundry facility next to the room woke us up. It sounded like a dozen washers staring at once.

Breakfast was disgusting. The eating area was dirty and everything was sticky. The eggs were inedible. It is hard to make the convenient breakfast bad, but this hotel did!

The staff was rude and did not want to interact with guests. (our only contact was check in and asking to be moved to a non-smoking room). We will never stay at a Holiday Inn Express again, unless it is the only hotel available and we are desperate.

Room Tip: AVOID THIS HOTEL! The Sheraton Four Seasons that was a half block away looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
kidztrvl2,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, WY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

You get what you pay for staying here---decent breakfast, clean room, but sleazy and low-life people are at breakfast with you, riding the elevator with you, etc. Toilets are very explosive and loud.

Room Tip: Stay here if you're a sleazy, low-lifer.....you'll fit right in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear rhp6906,

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Checked in at 8am - No Problem
Great Business Center
Great Breakfast

Hotel was excellent for the price paid, room was very clean, staff was friendly & helpful.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport

Address: 91 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Antonio Airport (SAT) Just one mile from the San Antonio International Airport. The hotel offers complimentary airport shuttle service. (4:00 AM - 11:30 PM) The hotel also offers shuttle service to and from North Star Mall.Whether you're here for business or pleasure this hotel is designed to ensure a comfortable stay. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Polish that presentation with our 24-hour business center or our free wireless Internet access. Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear outdoor pool.We welcome you to relax in the comfortable ambiance of our hotel lobby or enjoy our free Express Start breakfast buffet that features our famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, omelets, biscuits with gravy and Smart Roast coffee.Our meeting space and hospitality spirit will make your next meeting standout above the rest.Enjoy the kind of sleep you only dream about with our Simply Smart bedding collection featuring triple sheeting so everything you touch is always clean and fresh.Find everything you would expect, and much more at the Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.