We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Trail

Mission Trail
San Antonio, TX (Far North Central)
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 146 Activities in San Antonio
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Sports
Activities: Biking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A pedestrian route that starts at the Alamo and winds nine miles along the San Antonio River passing four other historical missions.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I toured all of the San Antonio missions (a task even with road closures that takes only a little over half of the day). Remarkably, given that they were all built around the same time period, the missions are all different. We were also surprised by the ornate architectural details on some of the buildings, something expected in European cities but not on the Texas frontier. The Alamo, itself part of the Mission Trail, is by far the most important historically, but is probably the least interesting from an architectural standpoint. So if you've seen the Alamo, don't assume you've seen the typical Spanish mission.

Whatever the reason, the heat (95 plus degrees) may have kept people away, we had most of the missions to ourselves. Each, with the exception of the Alamo, is a working Catholic Church.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    66
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellant experience of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I truly enjoyed the mission trail. My only frustration was that there was construction on the roads and the trail was poorly marked.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you were like me, I never knew the Alamo was one of several missions that are fairly close to each other. You will need a car to visit all of the missions and it is well worth your trip. There are signs labeled "Mission Trail" along the roads making it easy to find the next mission. It is a National Historic Park - just do an Internet search on San Antonio mission trail. Caution: some of the areas between the missions are not the nicest looking areas. As you should in every city I suggest you pay attention to your surroundings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A trail through Texas History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very well done preservation and presentation of the Missions of San Antonio. Each of the four are different and tell a unique story related to Texas history and the Spanish Southwest. A nice collaboration between the Natl Part Service and the Catholic Church.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Due to time constraints, we opted to do this tour by car - in a couple of hours we toured all 4 missions along the trail. Do not miss the free 45 minute tour the national park ranger does at the San Jose Mission. Well worth the time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mission Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.