We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Growing Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Museum of Art

San Antonio Museum of Art
200 West Jones Ave., San Antonio, TX 78215 (Downtown)
210 978 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 196 attractions in San Antonio
Type: Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The San Antonio Museum of Art is housed in a historic brewery along the banks of the Museum Reach of the Riverwalk. SAMA offers important permanent collections of Egyptian, Greek and Roman antiquities, Asian art, Latin American art, contemporary art and American paintings. The museum offers a variety of programs and a cafe. Our admission prices are: Members - free. Adults - $10 Seniors 65+ - $7 Students and Military (with ID) - $5 Children 12 and under - free. Our free hours every week are: Tuesdays from 4 - 9 p.m. and Sundays from 10 a.m.- noon
Useful Information: Activities for older children
South Bend, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Growing Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Few people journey to San Antonio to visit a museum, but if you are in town and if you are an art lover, the San Antonio Museum of Art is well worth a visit. As museums go it is a young institution, opened in 1981 in the former Lone Star Brewery, and its collections are growing in both breadth and depth. Originally featuring the art of North and South America, I found its collections of ancient art particularly interesting, as well as the new (2005) Asian wing. The museum is located a few miles north of downtown, and it is now accessible directly from the "Museum Reach" of the recently extended Riverwalk.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    77
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Rio, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Lethal Beauty" Exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were in San Antonio, Texas, to celebrate my birthday--actually my birthday month. On the way to our B&B in the King William District, I saw an ad on US Highway I-10 about the "Samurai" exhibit and so we went. It was a wonderful exhibit of Japanese Samurai--it was interactive, too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
264 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“Very nice art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My review is probably influenced by the terrific tour we got from a docent, but I was impressed in any case by the eclectic collection. There is an interesting (and inevitable, for this part of the world) pre-Columbian exhibit, but the museum also has interesting meso-American art by modern artists, as well as one of the more interesting exhibits of Oriental art that I have seen in a museum this size.

One warning, if people tell you it's just off the Riverwalk: That's true, but it's on a branch of the Riverwalk about a mile from the center of town. It's an interesting walk to get there, but if you're not up to a hike, then you may want to explore a water taxi option, or just take a regular taxi or drive your own car.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“low priority”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

They have closed the restaurant that sounded inviting. The artifacts are fair, not worth a special trip unless they have a special exhibit, which is why I went.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Did you know most college ID's get you in for FREE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are in college, check with your school, but you may have free entrance. They do however, take donations. So you might just want to leave the entrance fee. However, stop along with some friends and take a cool glance. You'd be surprised at some of the collections.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Antonio Museum of Art to your Saves list