We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip Back in History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Missions National Historical Park

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
2202 Roosevelt Ave., San Antonio, TX 78210
210-932-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 135 Attractions in San Antonio
Type: Historic Sites, Missions, National Parks, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical area that stretches nine miles and contains four important 18th-century missions.
Leesburg, Va
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Trip Back in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The history of the South Texas Indians is more impressive than the battles at the Alamo. There is a great video in the visitors center that tells the story of a proud people enslaved by the Spanish. We are really glad we stopped by for a visit while visiting San Antonio. There is a lot more to see than the Alamo and the River Walk.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    180
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joshua
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Step Back in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Everyone visits The Alamo, which is one of the five remaining missions in the San Antonio area. (There were originally six and five remain in various conditions.) We spent a leisurely day visiting the remaining 4 missions - Concepcion, San Jose, San Juan and Espada, each one is unique and picturesque in its own way. 3 of the missions are active parishes. The National Park Service runs the missions and are eager to assist you and answer any questions you might have. If you are energetic the river walk bike trails go all the way to the last mission. The missions are about 2 - 3 miles apart and parking is free.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for families, couples and history lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The missions are spread out in the southern part of the City. Each is unique with artistic and architectural features to amaze. Mission San Juan also has a nice, peaceful nature trail. The connection of the missions by the Mission Reach Project is a great asset to San Antonio and is a great place to ride a bike (you can rent them nearby). The rangers and interpreters are very knowledgeable about the history of the missions and the area. I recommend taking the tour as it is quite enlightening. The information in the visitor center is also worth the while.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“For the history enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The park is for someone who can appreciate history and architecture. If you can't do that, you will not fully enjoy this site. I like history, so I had a great time. The Park system has done a great job in maintaining the area, the grounds and keeping up the facilities.

You can spend a whole day here or just a quick drive by or short stop on the tour bus. I do appreciate that they have kept up and maintained the sites.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Historical Missions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I love visiting the different Missions. They are wonderful examples of ancient architure, that is still utilized today. In the past I have had the opportunity to attend Christmas Mass in 2 of the Churches. It was an awesome experience. The biggest disappointment was the Alamo, because of the commercialism. I would recommend anyone visiting San Antonio to go to each of the Missions. All of the Missions are free, except the Alamo.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Missions National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Missions National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Missions National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.