We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sights and buildings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Missions National Historical Park

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
2202 Roosevelt Ave., San Antonio, TX 78210
210-932-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 135 Attractions in San Antonio
Type: Historic Sites, Missions, National Parks, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical area that stretches nine miles and contains four important 18th-century missions.
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
148 attraction reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Beautiful sights and buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A beautiful park along the mission trail and close to Downtown San Antonio. Rent a bike from one of the b cycle kiosks and make your way down the trail. The oath is pretty easy and the bikes are good for beginers. A very lovely way to explore the history of this beautiful city.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    181
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“History and architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The layout enables you to learn a fair amount of history about the development of the missions and of South Texas while moving around. You can stop and check out something in depth or you can keep strolling to get more of an overview. The rangers working here are very friendly and knowledgeable about the missions and about San Antonio.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went to all of the Missions and it was a very interesting and enlightening trip. The churches were gorgeous. The Priest who we talked to was very nice. We got to take pictures in the churches and also lit a candle for a loved one. The history of the Missions is very powerful, and just walking through everything that is there is a good history lesson. One of the Missions has a small theater with a short film that I would recommend to see. Also there is a nice gift shop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Bit of Catholic History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We drove from mission to mission beginning at the Alamo and continuing through. We were amazed at how different the mission complexes and churches were from one another. All were special, impressive from the outside and beautiful inside. We read the history of each so we had more appreciation of what we were seeing. The day was hot, but I'm glad we still walked the grounds to get a feel of the spirit of the individual missions.

The Park Ranger who led our tour at Mission San Jose was excellent. She explained the importance the mission played in the history of Texas and the San Antonio area and answered questions patiently.

Whether or not you are a Catholic, if you are interesting the history of Texas, this is a part that shouldn't be missed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“History preserved, uncrowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When at Mission San Jose, see that you get a tour with Park Ranger Tatum Weeks. She is a hoot - and tells the mission's history in a lively presentation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Missions National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Missions National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Missions National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.