We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Missions National Historical Park

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
2202 Roosevelt Ave., San Antonio, TX 78210
210-932-1001
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 190 attractions in San Antonio
Type: Missions, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, National Parks, Trails, Historic Sites
Activities: Hiking, Biking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historical area that stretches nine miles and contains four important 18th-century missions.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The missions are all a but different from one another but give you a real feeling of what they must have been like when they were active as missions. They are still used by the Catholic Church for services for local people.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    132
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“See all four if you have time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Each one is different, and there are vast differences in the amount of restoration and access, but good to see all four

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must see in San Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

While the Alamo is the most famous, and has the right to be, Mission San Jose, the Mission National Historic Park is a must see. Entrance is free. The Mission church is still a functioning Catholic community. The mission has been restored as have the Indian quarters. At this time (2013) restoration is still in process and I have on two occasions had great conversations with the stone masons working on the property. The mission church is gorgeous. Be sure to notice the antique graffiti carved around the front entrance. No one necessarily points this out but it's quite interesting. This was done in the early 1800's when the church was mostly in ruins before the facility was restored. As you face the front door, look to the left of the stone facade and find the excellent horse's head an old graffiti artist carved. While all of this is sad to see happened, it is a very interesting touch of history. Graffiti is not new.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Interesting and Educational all at once.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I toured all the Missions in San Antonio and thoroughly enjoyed the day. The tour guides were interesting and knowledgable of all Missions. The remodeled church is something you must see. All restoration is replicated to it's original structure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Alamo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I visited the Alamo for the first time in 2012. I was excited but in another way disappointed at the same time. I expected the Alamo to be larger than the actual site. It was historical though. I had seen movies in the past about the Alamo, guess that's why I thought the Alamo was bigger that the actual Alamo!!Still a good trip visiting the Alamo where Texas won their independence from Mexico in 1859! The Alamo was free to enter only required a donation.At the front door of the Alamo a lady was standing at the entrance taking pictures of each couple , etc. . At the end of the tour if you wanted to , the pictures were on sale at the Alamo gift shop.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Missions National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Missions National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Missions National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.